He might not want to do that......He may be related to a Slave Driver and then you will have shattered his entire life's perception that he had descended directly from Haile Selassie I's Clan
Tuffy there is a great tradition of Drivers... Dessalines, Tacky , Cudjoe, Boukman, Bussa, Three Finger Jack....were all reputed to have taken Slave Driver as part of their career path!! And dont tell any one but there is a suggestion in academia that male slaves aspired to be Drivers.. more rations, more power.. Better economic prospects hence more sex.. But I no doubt be shouted at with the mis education label...
I know I had ancestral relatives on Fullerswood, Hermitage, Newcombe Valley, Holland, Stamorehill, Malvern well, Hermitage pen, Ridgepen. That is part of the story. I know of a specific Cartman who regularly made the journey from Ridgepen to Stanmore Hill..One a cattle farm the other coffee. ..I once walked it up the old bridle path that he took. To prove to myself I was as tough as him.. It is about 15-20 miles.. did it and back in 18 hours.. the return trip was up hill... Not going to say it was spiritual, I just did it.. looking back I wondered y he did not run ??? It was wild country...
I was born on what was part one of these properties that my ancestors laboured, navel string cut and buried there.. So part of me is there forever ...And I lived on part of another of these....(it amuses me when I get told I am telling lies yet I seem to know more of my ancestry than most)
My father told me once he made a decisions to acquire land because he wanted to close the circle...He also told me that the only thing that hurt him was he bought land when he was a teenager with winnings from horse racing on another of these and was cheated out of it by a relative...It is odd to me that I dream of one of these places more than any other.. Guess it is the blood and the land... may
But Mike Smith seems to be saying that Rasta Tradition that evolved in the 70's became a refuge for roots...the analogy would be that the english dont have culture they have the Monarchy....And the US has no culture they have the elections.!!!!!
Tuffy there is a great tradition of Drivers... Dessalines, Tacky , Cudjoe, Boukman, Bussa, Three Finger Jack....were all reputed to have taken Slave Driver as part of their career path!! And dont tell any one but there is a suggestion in academia that male slaves aspired to be Drivers.. more rations, more power.. Better economic prospects hence more sex.. But I no doubt be shouted at with the mis education label...
I know I had ancestral relatives on Fullerswood, Hermitage, Newcombe Valley, Holland, Stamorehill, Malvern well, Hermitage pen, Ridgepen. That is part of the story. I know of a specific Cartman who regularly made the journey from Ridgepen to Stanmore Hill..One a cattle farm the other coffee. ..I once walked it up the old bridle path that he took. To prove to myself I was as tough as him.. It is about 15-20 miles.. did it and back in 18 hours.. the return trip was up hill... Not going to say it was spiritual, I just did it.. looking back I wondered y he did not run ??? It was wild country...
I was born on what was part one of these properties that my ancestors laboured, navel string cut and buried there.. So part of me is there forever ...And I lived on part of another of these....(it amuses me when I get told I am telling lies yet I seem to know more of my ancestry than most)
Well in my books you do because I know nothing but what I saw in and around my Grandparents when i went to the country for holidays.
My father told me once he made a decisions to acquire land because he wanted to close the circle...He also told me that the only thing that hurt him was he bought land when he was a teenager with winnings from horse racing on another of these and was cheated out of it by a relative...It is odd to me that I dream of one of these places more than any other.. Guess it is the blood and the land... may
My dad and his brother fell out over land. So it cut us off permanently from our cousins. He also escaped another Land fight where he was born in Hanover.....Needless to say those cousins are foreign to us too.
But Mike Smith seems to be saying that Rasta Tradition that evolved in the 70's became a refuge for roots...!!!!!
Well he may be right.
I know that Saint Michael was able to convince wayward and even well-to-do folks that being Black is synonymous with Comrade/Socialism/Anti-Imperialism/Anti-Slavery/PNP Cult Of Personality
Also want to add. Coincidentally as we were talking about this. First Day a new book about slavery was launched in Jamaica. The title escaped I now, but the Author was on Nationwide FM90 discussing the book.
mother's father born a cuba...i notice i did not see his name at all...
but for the names found, is it not listing white british slavers?
how does one make the leap of knowing blood relation?
Well, you won't see his name unless he was enslaved after he came back from Cuba and took on the slave owner's name. BTW, you can't be that old, J_Y??
Yes, the names are all those of British slavers - all who received compensation from the £20 million paid by the British taxpayers to slave owners. Here's the context.
So how do you make the leap of slave owner to blood relation? I can only guess. In my case I put in my paternal grandmother's family name. The name showed up in a Jamaican parish where my great-grandfather was from. He was the product of a slave and master union. Looks like mi can claim reparation
Well, you won't see his name unless he was enslaved after he came back from Cuba and took on the slave owner's name. BTW, you can't be that old, J_Y??
Yes, the names are all those of British slavers - all who received compensation from the £20 million paid by the British taxpayers to slave owners. Here's the context.
So how do you make the leap of slave owner to blood relation? I can only guess. In my case I put in my paternal grandmother's family name. The name showed up in a Jamaican parish where my great-grandfather was from. He was the product of a slave and master union. Looks like mi can claim reparation
I meant surname...
My surname from my fathers side seems to back up family oral tradition of st bess roots...i would have to dig deeper...
My mothers maiden name does not appear i guess since the British did not colonize Cuba
I meant surname...
Why did you look up particular ancestors?
My surname from my fathers side seems to back up family oral tradition of st bess roots...
My mothers maiden name does not appear i guess since the British did not colonize Cuba
Nope they captured Havana and gave it forward during the 7 year war.
Seems like you have tek set pon Spain for Repatriation?
I'm not finding much. My people may have been runaways because most of them that I have traced back to the 1820s were way up in the hills. Don't forget too, after slavery was abolished, there was a list from which people could select surnames. I have no idea how they went about registering them but there much be records somewhere.
Nope they captured Havana and gave it forward during the 7 year war.
Seems like you have tek set pon Spain for Repatriation?
funny that I was just reading last week end Jamaica Mosaic by Peter Abrahams... And was reading the passage of this... the old buccaneers took Havana... . Proof that the privitisation of war is not a yanki invention but comes like the human race out of the Carribean
I see 6 awardees with my fathers family name - one was rewarded for 28 slaves... primarily in St. Andrew and St. Ann
Am I interpreting this right? these people were rewarded for losing their "property" in Jamaica?
I was never told anything about the family on my fathers side... My fathers parents were dead by the time I was born and My father never spoke of it. I do know his grandmother was a white lady and his grandfather black (mulatto?)
in contrast on my mothers side the family can trace the history back over 800 years - but that is to be expected and easier to do since there was no slavery involved.
I'm not finding much. My people may have been runaways because most of them that I have traced back to the 1820s were way up in the hills. Don't forget too, after slavery was abolished, there was a list from which people could select surnames. I have no idea how they went about registering them but there much be records somewhere.
So you a fake Jamaican, possibly light skinned Arab?
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.