Originally posted by blugiant
haitians remind mi aff jamaicans
Originally posted by Wahalla View Postyuh kno mii ear wan bajan sed blakk peeps fram barbados ar closer to ghanians dan jamaicans
That is interesting....My initial reaction was to be taken aback... But ah moment thought and the time I spent With Ghanians that is worth thinking on...
Jamaicans seem more western than Haitian...I hasten to add that that is an opnion...West Africa felt like Haiti to me.. Nouchott, Port Gentil or PH felt more like Cap Haiten... Hower Lagos is more Kingston....Again that is an opnion....I also thought when I heard my first Senegalese speak english I was speaking to an Haitian...
da haitian mii kno inn nyc ar veree much like jamaicans inn nyc. imagine mii surprised wen wan aff dem asked mii fe tekk a pitcha aff imm tandinn bye wan masserati. reminded mii aff wan aff mii showaff cuz. since mii neva been to haiti, itt intarestinn earinn yu cantrast haiti, jamaica ann western afrikka. still mii wandar given wat yuh xxperience, y jamaica ave more cache inn western afrikka dan haiti
now mii wandarinn iff haitians were extended da dual citizenship affer fram ghani dat was xxtended jamaicans
The Haitians I knew in Montreal were nothing like the Jamaicans....conjecture, because they are in a French milieu, perhaps that is why differences were accentuated. French and English kids really didn't go to the same schools at that time and while there was some overlap, it has pretty much been 2 Solitudes in Montreal. The reason I came in contact with Haitians was that my Mom worked in French and had Haitian co-workers. Interaction with them was in French so again, this likely accentuated differences.Originally posted by blugiant View Postda haitian mii kno inn nyc ar veree much like jamaicans inn nyc. imagine mii surprised wen wan aff dem asked mii fe tekk a pitcha aff imm tandinn bye wan masserati. reminded mii aff wan aff mii showaff cuz. since mii neva been to haiti, itt intarestinn earinn yu cantrast haiti, jamaica ann western afrikka. still mii wandar given wat yuh xxperience, y jamaica ave more cache inn western afrikka dan haiti
now mii wandarinn iff haitians were extended da dual citizenship affer fram ghani dat was xxtended jamaicans
I am pretty sure he is asking about the use of susumba (the fruit/berry) in the use of Obeah not our witty board member Suesumba (please correct me if I am wrong Blue)Originally posted by Tropicana View PostHow Suesumba come into dis?
Listen, I don't mean to be disrespectful but I have met FAR more Haitians in my life than you will ever meet so I think I am in a better position than you are to say whether or not there are similarities.
Also a question...do you know blugiant outside of the board? how do you know how many Haitians he has met?
Tropi there r a lot of haitans in ny.
The article is right tho in that it is jamaica's shame that Haiti is not better studied...and that the summary repatriation of boat landees is morally wrong ..
i do agree that haitan are generally more like west Africans than jamaicans are...and i have lived among both..
I never said there weren't Haitians in New York but I assure you, the Haitian presence is much stronger, more concentrated and undiluted in a French city like Montreal. I assure you, if there were similarities, I would have seen them. Definitely I see similarities between Haitians and Africans from French speaking countries.
Curious, do you speak French? Do you communicate with Haitians in their own language? I do. I find it much easier to understand a Haitian or African person speaking French than I do to understand someone who is Quebecois. The Quebecois speak fast and they have the liaison. I have to concentrate really hard when I speak to them, Haitians and French-speaking Africans speak more slowly and there is a distinct break between each word. You can understand each and every word clearly and easily.
As for your question Tanya, I don't believe in wasting time answering questions for which the answer is obvious. If in doubt, see comment to jahyout in the first sentence of this post.Last edited by Tropicana; 03-13-2013, 03:30 AM.
I think all our politicians agree with you... it is morally wrong, but they have no alternative given the parlous state of the economy and the lack of resource to meet the basic needs of Jamaicans...Originally posted by jah_yout View PostTropi there r a lot of haitans in ny.
The article is right tho in that it is jamaica's shame that Haiti is not better studied...and that the summary repatriation of boat landees is morally wrong ..
i do agree that haitan are generally more like west Africans than jamaicans are...and i have lived among both..
The Haitian Community in Canada
Please note the bolding in large green letters.
A unique community
Canadians of Haitian origin1 make up one of the largest non-European ethnic groups in Canada. In 2001, there were just over 82,000 people of Haitian origin living in Canada making them the 10th largest non-European community in the country, after Chinese, East Indian, Filipino, Jamaican, Vietnamese, Lebanese, Korean, Iranian and Japanese.
Table 1
Selected ethnic groups in Canada, other than English, French and Canadian, 2001
In recent years, there has been little growth in the size of the Haitian community in Canada. Indeed, between 1996 and 2001, the number of people who said they had Haitian origin actually declined by almost 2%. In the same period, the overall population of Canada grew by 4%.
Most Canadians of Haitian origin say they have only Haitian origins. In 2001, 86% of all those who reported Haitian origin said they had only Haitian roots, while 14% said they also had other ethnic origins. In contrast, almost 40% of the overall Canadian population has multiple ethnic roots.
The majority are foreign-born
The majority of the Haitian population in Canada is foreign-born. Of Canadians of Haitian origin living in Canada in 2001, 57% were born outside the country. This compares with 18% of the overall population which is foreign-born.
As well, the majority of immigrants of Haitian origin living in Canada arrived in the country within the past three decades. Of foreign-born Haitians living in Canada in 2001, 33% had arrived in the previous decade, while 30% immigrated in the 1980s, and another 33% arrived in Canada between 1971 and 1981. In contrast, only 5% of Canadians of Haitian origin came to Canada before 1971.
Most live in Quebec
The Haitian community in Canada is concentrated largely in Quebec. In 2001, 90% of people who reported Haitian origins lived in Quebec, while Ontario was home to 8% and 1% lived in each of British Columbia and Alberta. That year, there were almost 75,000 people of Haitian origin living in Quebec, where they made up about 1% of the total provincial population. At the same time, people of Haitian descent represented only a very small fraction of the populations of all other provinces and territories.
Table 2
The Haitian population in Canada, by province and territory, 2001
In fact, the large majority of Canadians of Haitian origin live in Montreal. In 2001, 83% of Canada’s Haitian community made Montreal their home. That year, there were almost 70,000 Canadians of Haitian descent living in Montreal, where they made up 2% of the metropolitan area’s overall population.
Can't copy this page published in November 2012 RichD but 40,000 seem to be invisible.
Headline: Census nearly 40,000 Haitians in the Bahamas.