Politicians Afraid To Tell Poor Not To Have Kids
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostThis is going to sound harsh but no one tell her fe open her crotches, rooks, and breed when she can't even feed herself and de pickney she ave already. There are some things we ALL have control over and whether or not we have sex and whether or not we take birth control are two pretty obvious ones. We are not dogs in heat you know.
Yes we need to have compassion. Yes we need to help those who have fallen on hard times. Yes we need to help those who have been trapped in poverty. However, I have no sympathy for women who can't even take care of the children they have and yet they go out and have more. I have even less sympathy for for the vermin who see her situation, see that she has children already suffering and who lie dung wid her anyway and den dig off de moment dem hear tse she full up. It sick mi stomach y'hear sah!!
Tropi, very well stated. I agree with everything that you have posted.
Originally Posted by Tropicana
This is going to sound harsh but no one tell her fe open her crotches, rooks, and breed when she can't even feed herself and de pickney she ave already. There are some things we ALL have control over and whether or not we have sex and whether or not we take birth control are two pretty obvious ones. We are not dogs in heat you know.
Yes we need to have compassion. Yes we need to help those who have fallen on hard times. Yes we need to help those who have been trapped in poverty. However, I have no sympathy for women who can't even take care of the children they have and yet they go out and have more. I have even less sympathy for for the vermin who see her situation, see that she has children already suffering and who lie dung wid her anyway and den dig off de moment dem hear tse she full up. It sick mi stomach y'hear sah!!
Me in agreement with a backward redneck like you on ANYTHING....that is indeed a terrifying thought.Originally posted by lonewolf View PostTropi, very well stated. I agree with everything that you have posted.
Anyway if I had the means to adopt ALL of these children I would.
Wondering why the word crotches is always plural in patois.
Last edited by Tropicana; 04-24-2013, 09:50 AM.
Well, dang gummit ya sure know how to hurt a poor ole backward redneck's feelings...if he had any.Originally posted by Tropicana View PostMe in agreement with a backward redneck like you on ANYTHING....that is indeed a terrifying thought.
Anyway if I had the means to adopt ALL of these children I would.
Wondering why the word crotches is always plural in patois.
Don't know, but more than one crotch of the female persuassion has always been a plus to this ole redneck.
Originally posted by lonewolf View PostWell, dang gummit ya sure know how to hurt a poor ole backward redneck's feelings...if he had any.
Well you may need to take my sensitivity training class. I believe the next session has been scheduled for June 14th.
Originally posted by lonewolf View PostDon't know, but more than one crotch of the female persuassion has always been a plus to this ole redneck.
When did I EVER say that only the rich should have children. There is a HUGE gap between being rich and battah battahing about not knowing where your next meal is coming from. It is just plain irresponsible to have children if you have no idea how you are going to feed them.Originally posted by jah_yout View PostThoroughly brainwashed by papal philosophy i see...
Why not just have the rich alone reproduce?
Then we'd have a better world...
Aye sah ...critical thinking Tropi ..try it sometime
If the views expressed by some of the men on here who are supposed to be intelligent are common in Jamaica, I am beginning to understand why Jamaica is in such a mess. Our children are the unfortunate ones who end up suffering and this is so unfair..
Some of you think it's okay to rooks like dogs in hear and just pop kids out like rabbits and leave them to fend for themselves. Shame on you.
Teachers, school principals, nurses, doctors, and social workers have their hands full and their work out cut out for them.I don't know if things will ever improve given this mentality.Last edited by Tropicana; 04-24-2013, 10:25 PM.
I should add that I am always reminded of how far in development that India has come and Jamaica's or Gayles impact on it.....And yes I am aware of the poverty of Mumbai and its social issue... India has moved from the periodic starvation till the 60's...
I know thirty years ago there were people touting the concept that Indians should regulate the birth rate of the poor despitye what had happened when the state interfered wioth reproduction of the ...it is not that simple....
Now there is a business that spent 370 million to buy the poorest franchise of the greatest cricket competion in the world at the moment..
Jamaica middle class is like all middle classes, it does not produce enough children. Kanadian and yanki do not either they get population growth and economic growth hence poverty alleviation through immigration.
Thirty years ago Richards, holding, Garner were playing in County Cricket in April for relative low salaries... Today Gayle is hitting for big bucks and all virtually all the west Indians worth a damn are working there, where 30 years ago was viewed as effectively a " sump " country. Not even sump communities but a whole sump country.
Now Cricketers prefer India to England. Not just poor west indians, but Ozzies and Britz... Think on that country that australians and British do gooders were advocading less than half a centuary ago less population.....Gayle and Bravo are a a potent of things to come IMHO...
India in 1980 was being discussed as a failed state, discussed in terms of failed state.... Then India was a moribund economy...now despite having poverty, wealth is being created poverty is being reduced... they have invested in birth control but not in blaming the poor
We praise VCB et al.. Even the blessed St Leo, now bad bwoy Gayle... But how many of our athletes, our artists would have existed if their parents had 60- 25 years ago fitted the middle class planned parent hood ?
What would our culture be if the paradigm of this control breeding be??? Think of the last 60 years ???Bob Marley certainly would not....nor Agustus Pablo, king tubby, Chris Gayle Bunny nor Buju, Capleton, nor Jimmy Cliff would Quarrie, would Ottey... Waht we would be left with a nation today whos culture be decided by Manley, Seaga, Hanna, Coores of this world.. Beverly Manley would not fit into that paragdigm nor would ... Christ Jamaica would be Barbados! (But without Rihana! as she did not fit that middle class concept of being able to Breed!).. our musical hero would be Byron Lee and Mr Sean Henriques ... not even that Opera singer Mr White as he is from the poor....
culture I realise is determined by quater centuaries...
yet each of these produce economic benefit more than they costs. Their return on investment is huge... Stop seeing poor people as a liability, but as an asset..
even in today's Jamaican environment....No one ever looks at the cost- value of the poor people in Jamaica... They get less from the government but pay more as a percentage in taxes... (GCT).. They take less and pay alot more...
think on that thirty years ago the Indian Economy was a disaster... Population was thought as liability, today, population growth is now seen as a asset.
Where does population growth come from ? The middle class who afford private education, horse riding lessons, hockey lessons, dance classes and multiple children activity do not produce replacement population ??? (I will add that all my children have extra curricular investment.. but I produced the replacement children . ...I was from a house hold that had to make the choice of not sending one child to school... me! )
My mate the journalist expressed the sentiment more succiently ... "What should be the bar that one should cross in order to qualify and who should determine this? Many of us would not be here today if our parents had to meet that 'fit and proper' wealth criterion!"
how do we select the Breeders ?
by income ?.. like the right to vote before 1948 in Jamaica
by education? ... like the french did in voting rights in the colonies in Africa
by ethnicity? .... Like the entire colonial experience...
Address ?
By religion ? Examine the history of birth control and there is an aspect .....
by looks: there goes me
This is fundamentally: why I am uncomfortable with the way the crude insensitive language is used to describe sexual activity among the poor in the crude terms of "spreading legs" and "breeding" like producing children like "rabbits".. does not sound like biblical begating!
No sympathy for the poor .. But when the middle class lose their jobs support them and their children ???? But remove the financial security of the middle class is rationalize as due to the expedience of outside agencies... Middle class make love, procreate, produce children in birthing pool... They dont spread legs, let men lie on them, breed or produce children like rabbits...
I learnt that long ago. Poor have one chance if they fail they are discard...the middle class failure is rationalised... they can be rehabilitated.. and investments are made on them....
A working class hero is something to be
they hate u if u are clever
dispise a fool....
Last week there was letters in the Gleaner by good Christians complaining that there were NGO's advocating allowing high school girls who get pregnant contuinue their education... Their reason was a fall in morality and setting bad examples for the younger kids...
Still christian characterize the poor having children as breeding and children compared to rabbits (I listened to the last program by Mutty Perkins when a yanki christian phoned in and told described them as such, Mutty would have destroyed him in the past he was too far gone .)
poor people have emotions, they feel love, they want to better themselves.... demonizing them through language is offensive...
Countries are led by the middle classes even Jamaica look at our poltical class non a poor.... if they don't provide the education and means of birth control.. it is a failure of the middle class.. who then blame the poor.....
poor people dont have pensions, they have children....Last edited by Wahalla; 04-25-2013, 11:00 AM.
I repeat the majority of people in Jamaica are not so poor that they can't afford to feed their children. If I look at my own family, two generations ago, my forebearers had 7 children who survived (there were more). They farmed, fed everyone and what was surplus was taken to Kingston on a donkey and sold by my great grandmother.We praise VCB et al.. Even the blessed St Leo, now bad bwoy Gayle... But how many of our athletes, our artists would have existed if their parents had 60- 25 years ago fitted the middle class planned parent hood ?
What I am referring to is the type of situation we see in Jamaica and yes since we talking Mumbai...let's throw that into the mix. People can't even tek care a dem selves and dem pop out one pickney aftah another. This is just plain criminal.
Children who are malnourished to the point of suffering with kwashiorkor or marasmus suffer developmental delays and, in some cases, brain damage so they are unlikely to grow up to be star athletes, artists or anything much. If some succeed in spite of their adversities that still does not make this a recipe for successful parenting. Starve a child and hope they come out fine in spite of it all.
I'll have to address the rest of this later but in the meantime. See my next post.
Abstract
Background
Severe acute malnutrition in childhood manifests as oedematous (kwashiorkor, marasmic kwashiorkor) and non-oedematous (marasmus) syndromes with very different prognoses. Kwashiorkor differs from marasmus in the patterns of protein, amino acid and lipid metabolism when patients are acutely ill as well as after rehabilitation to ideal weight for height. Metabolic patterns among marasmic patients define them as metabolically thrifty, while kwashiorkor patients function as metabolically profligate. Such differences might underlie syndromic presentation and prognosis. However, no fundamental explanation exists for these differences in metabolism, nor clinical pictures, given similar exposures to undernutrition. We hypothesized that different developmental trajectories underlie these clinical-metabolic phenotypes: if so this would be strong evidence in support of predictive adaptation model of developmental plasticity.
Methodology/Principal Findings
We reviewed the records of all children admitted with severe acute malnutrition to the Tropical Metabolism Research Unit Ward of the University Hospital of the West Indies, Kingston, Jamaica during 1962–1992.
We used Wellcome criteria to establish the diagnoses of kwashiorkor (# = 391), marasmus (# = 383), and marasmic-kwashiorkor (# = 375). We recorded participants' birth weights, as determined from maternal recall at the time of admission. Those who developed kwashiorkor had 333 g (95% confidence interval 217 to 449, p<0.001) higher mean birthweight than those who developed marasmus.
Please note we are talking about Jamaica...not some part of the world where is a famine.
Introduction
Each year nine million children under age five years die: malnutrition contributes to one-third of these deaths [1]. Sustained undernutrition in childhood can lead to distinct clinical syndromes of severe acute malnutrition: oedematous (kwashiorkor, marasmic kwashiorkor) and non-oedematous (marasmus). The mortality rate of kwashiorkor is much higher that for marasmus. There is currently no explanation of why some children waste progressively without developing oedema, while others waste less but develop oedema [2]. Patients with kwashiorkor and marasmus differ also in body composition. Thus, when children die of kwashiorkor, they still have significant tissue reserves of protein and fat, as these stores are mobilized inadequately during the disease process [3]. On the other hand, children with marasmus are better able to sustain drawdown from protein and lipid stores. While they have greater tissue wasting on presentation, they have higher survival rates. No differences in pre-morbid dietary intake are reliably found [2].
Text I tried to post was too long...see the rest here.
http://www.plosone.org/article/info:...l.pone.0035907
Kwashiorkor (pronounced /kwɑːʃiˈɔrkər/) is an acute form of childhoodprotein-energy malnutrition characterized by edema, irritability, anorexia, ulcerating dermatoses, and an enlarged liver with fatty infiltrates. The presence of edema caused by poor nutrition defines kwashiorkor.[1]Kwashiorkor was thought to be caused by insufficient protein consumption but with sufficient calorie intake, distinguishing it from marasmus. More recently, micronutrient and antioxidant deficiencies have come to be recognized as contributory. Cases in the developed world are rare.[2]
Jamaican pediatrician Dr. Cicely D. Williams introduced the name into the medical community in her 1935 Lancet article.[3]
The name is derived from the Ga language of coastal Ghana, translated "the sickness the baby gets when the new baby comes",[4][citation needed] and reflecting the development of the condition in an older child who has been weaned from the breast when a younger sibling comes.[5] Breast milk contains proteins and amino acids vital to a child's growth. In at-risk populations, kwashiorkor may develop after a mother weans her child from breast milk, replacing it with a diet high in carbohydrates, especially starches, but deficient in protein.
Contents
Signs and symptoms
The defining sign of kwashiorkor in a malnourished child is pedal edema (swelling of the feet). Other signs include a distended abdomen, an enlarged liver with fatty infiltrates, thinning hair, loss of teeth, skin depigmentation and dermatitis. Children with kwashiorkor often develop irritability and anorexia.[1]
Victims of kwashiorkor fail to produce antibodies following vaccinationagainst diseases, including diphtheria and typhoid.[6] Generally, the disease can be treated by adding food energy and protein to the diet; however, it can have a long-term impact on a child's physical and mental development, and in severe cases may lead to death.
In dry climates, marasmus is the more frequent disease associated with malnutrition. Another malnutrition syndrome includes cachexia, although it is often caused by underlying illnesses. These are important considerations in the treatment of the patients. Kwashiorkor can lead to death. People can recover from the illness by having a gradual build up of nutrients, but they will not grow properly and will probably be quite small.
http://www.princeton.edu/~achaney/tm...ashiorkor.html