There is a Jamaican comedy, "Fire Inna Yuh Wire" and also Sugar Belly has a tune call "Fire In A Me Wire". Can someone please explain to me what this expression means?
Fire In A Me Wire/Fire Inn Yuh Wire
wow it like pulling teeth to get an answer.Originally posted by Tropicana View PostIt's kinda rude you know...I don't think a Jamaican4Jesus needs to know this...TMI
unless it is to share with your spouse in privacy. 
The deal is if I play an instrumental tune "Fire In A Me Wire" by Sugar Belly on my radio programme (and IF I should play it) I would like to explain to listeners what the title means. And of course, as a Christian, if it is a crude/slackness term I will not play it at all. Does that help you understand why I ask?
like history as that expression has come out of common usage feel free to interprete it as u see fit...
One time I did hear it used in a horse race commentry on the radio a malopropism... when the commentator made a mistake and mixed his metaphors or corrupted his cliches...as the horse came close to the finish line ie wire and the jockey was making aggressive use of his whip.....
Thanks wahalla and j-kid. I guess since the meaning is questionable at best and crass at worse, I will avoid playing the tune on my show even though there are no lyrics. Kinda disappointed that Sugar Belly would have such a title, but then he was a mento artist and as we know some mento artistes used lots of sexual references in their music. Like his homemade sax sounds though!
The expression likely came from the experience of seeing sparks from a live electrical wire hence "fire in di wire"
The application to someone having "fiyah in dem wiyah" could run the gamut of meanings ... from someone being sexually charged to someone having a charismatic personality.
best ansaOriginally posted by Peasie View PostThe expression likely came from the experience of seeing sparks from a live electrical wire hence "fire in di wire"
The application to someone having "fiyah in dem wiyah" could run the gamut of meanings ... from someone being sexually charged to someone having a charismatic personality.
As a Christian definitely don't play it. It is a rude, slack and vulgar song and playing it would do nothing for your reputation. Don't listen to Peasie....that expression is never used to refer to someon with a charismatic personality.Originally posted by jamaican4jesus View Postwow it like pulling teeth to get an answer.
The deal is if I play an instrumental tune "Fire In A Me Wire" by Sugar Belly on my radio programme (and IF I should play it) I would like to explain to listeners what the title means. And of course, as a Christian, if it is a crude/slackness term I will not play it at all. Does that help you understand why I ask?
i think that is an over statement.Originally posted by Tropicana View PostIt is a rude, slack and vulgar song
it might be suggestive but "rude slack and vulgar"??
Innuendo been around in Caribbean music for along time.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....