Wi understood tings pretty qwick in my neighborhood. At times, saw som tings dat kids should not see, but di grown-up still kept wi in check though. As mi tell unnu dem did buss mi arse wid mi own shoo after dem ketch mi inna di old outside kitchen ah play doctor wid di neighbor's very aggressive fast daughter.
Noh yuh di wan dat kept asking whe tings meant culturally, and in patwa?
No no no...mi did understand de slack lyrics before I landed on the board. Also, slackness is not culture....it is SMUT in any language or musical genre.
I am talking about when I was growing up I did not understand them. I remember visiting my grandmother in the country and a song came on de radio and my grandmother said "Mi noh know why _____ people mind so smutty." I said "What's wrong grandma". She said "Never mind darling." I was around 16 or 17 then.
I went to live in Jamaica after university. I got my patois immersion taking a country bus from Kingston to country and by the end of the trip understood every word. The innocence was lost. The trip from Kingston to country on a bus on Christmas Eve almost a year later was an INTERMEDIATE patois class. It took FOREVER. "No, no a noh dat deh one." "Watch de bockle dem." Mi still need de ADVANCED class.
Wi understood tings pretty qwick in my neighborhood. At times, saw som tings dat kids should not see, but di grown-up still kept wi in check though. As mi tell unnu dem did buss mi arse wid mi own shoo after dem ketch mi inna di old outside kitchen ah play doctor wid di neighbor's very aggressive fast daughter.
Sounds like a rough neighbourhood.... Where did you grow up anyway.
Trench Town, 4-Roads (Grants Pen Rd), Rollington Town, Franklin Town, Vineard Town, North and South Winward Rd (near Beckford Rd), Rockforth (near Oliver Rd).
Yes, wi moved ah lot, fi ah vaeiety of reasons, som of which mi explained before.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.