Originally posted by Tropicana
What is the purpose of a discussion board?
Discussion board are places where people can talk about things and express opinions they wouldn't express so freely in real life. Otherwise, why bother with the avatars and the IDs. If people wanted to only discuss what they would be comfortable discussing in real life, they would use their own names and their own photos like they do on places like Facebook or LinkedIn Groups.Originally posted by RichD View Postif your own words are going to make you uncomfortable you might want to rethink what you post.
How would you like it if someone posted your work contact information here without YOUR permission or contacted your employer to say you spend your day skylarking here when you are supposed to be working like they did to poor Marilyn.
Would you be cool with that?
As I said, I look forward to Xavier's take on this when he gets here.Last edited by Tropicana; 07-23-2013, 04:13 PM.
again i say you have no sense of context.Originally posted by Tropicana View PostDiscussion board are places where people can talk about things and express opinions they wouldn't express so freely in real life. Otherwise, why bother with the avatars and the IDs. If people wanted to only discuss what they would be comfortable discussing in real life, they would use their own names and their own photos like they do on places like Facebook or LinkedIn Groups.
How would you like it if someone posted your work contact information or contacted your employer to say you spend your day skylarking here when you are supposed to be working like they did to poor Marilyn.
Would you be cool with that?
As I said, I look forward to Xavier's take on this when he gets here.
Ms cassidy contacted the Newspaper to relate her story. she allowed them to use her name her employers name ..her occupation..age etc. does she have any expectation of anonymity ? do you think other people from other places might have contacted her? was she posting on a discussion board?When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostShe did not post her phone number or give anyone permission to post it on a discussion board.
if there was story about the president of ABC corporation making a comment and somebody looked up his contact information on the company website and suggested we email him about his comment. would you take the same position?When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
The issues are:
- 1. contact information was posted without permission
- 2. people should feel free to discuss anything they wish here within the confines of board rules without having to tiptoe around worrying that someone is going to reach out to the subject of the story and that individual is going to turn up any moment.
If people wanted to be cautious about every striking opinion they expressed, they would stick to Facebook, LinkedIn Groups, etc and not post on a discussion board using and avatar and ID.
Last edited by Tropicana; 07-23-2013, 05:29 PM.
how would permission have been obtained?Originally posted by Tropicana View PostThe issues are:
- 1. contact information was posted without permission
- 2. people should feel free to discuss anything they wish here within the confines of board rules without having to tiptoe around worrying that the subject of the story is going to turn up any moment. If people wanted to be cautious about every striking opinion they expressed, they would stick to Facebook, LinkedIn Groups, etc and not post on a discussion board using and avatar and ID.
the anonymity of posters was still preserved. how can anything be done to mitigate against the subject showing up? and in fact why should anything be done?Originally posted by Tropicana View PostThe issues are:
- 2. people should feel free to discuss anything they wish here within the confines of board rules without having to tiptoe around worrying that the subject of the story is going to turn up any moment. If people wanted to be cautious about every striking opinion they expressed, they would stick to Facebook, LinkedIn Groups, etc and not post on a discussion board using and avatar and ID.
Originally posted by RichD View Postif there was story about the president of ABC corporation making a comment and somebody looked up his contact information on the company website and suggested we email him about his comment. would you take the same position?
dat is exactly what i'm sayingOriginally posted by Emperah View Postif anybody haffi tink twice bout wah dem a poas dem maybe dem shouldn't poas it.
if yuh can't sey it to dem face why yuh want to sey it behind dem back.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
I agree Emperah. In the history of this board, this has never happened until yesterday. If boardites are going face the potential of being confronted because people here are going to reach out to the subjects of news stories every time they disagree with views that are expressed, for sure people will have to think twice about what they post and re-think if and how they participate.Originally posted by Emperah View Postif anybody haffi tink twice bout wah dem a poas dem maybe dem shouldn't poas it.
What is the point of a discussion board if people can't discuss the issues and news of the day freely and comfortably within clearly stated rules?