Originally posted by Emperah
What is the purpose of a discussion board?
It's a public discussion board. Anyone can register and post . How are we to tell if someone emailed them a link or if they stumbled across the discussion themselves? (and if we do ascertain that someone sent them a link...then what?)
I'm a little iffy on the posting of the person's contact info (even though it was readily available)...i can see with both sides of that argument.
The likelihood that someone is going to stumble across a post on a discussion board that they don't even know about is slim to none.Originally posted by CeaBee View PostIt's a public discussion board. Anyone can register and post . How are we to tell if someone emailed them a link or if they stumbled across the discussion themselves? (and if we do ascertain that someone sent them a link...then what?)
It was not readily available...by his own admission, Lonewolf looked it up.Originally posted by CeaBee View PostI'm a little iffy on the posting of the person's contact info (even though it was readily available)...i can see with both sides of that argument.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostThe likelihood that someone is going to stumble across a post on a discussion board that they don't even know about is slim to none.
It was not readily available...by his own admission, Lonewolf looked it up.
1. So what should the board (ie: Xavier, Admins, Mods ) do if a new person posts in a topic that is about them, their family member or friend?
2. Readily available from Google/Bing
what would have made it more readily available that a public listing on her work website?Originally posted by Tropicana View Post
It was not readily available...by his own admission, Lonewolf looked it up.
do you consider 411 listing readily available?
again i will ask
if there was story about the president of ABC corporation making a comment and somebody looked up his contact information on the company website and suggested we email him about his comment. would you take the same position?When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Again.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostThe issues are:
- 1. contact information was posted without permission
- 2. people should feel free to discuss anything they wish here within the confines of board rules without having to tiptoe around worrying that someone is going to reach out to the subject of the story and that individual is going to turn up any moment.
If people wanted to be cautious about every striking opinion they expressed, they would stick to Facebook, LinkedIn Groups, etc and not post on a discussion board using and avatar and ID.

i don't know.Originally posted by RichD View Postwhat is the issue at hand?
I'm thinking that it's just the contact info being posted then. Since there is no way that the board mods or admins can prevent members from sending links to people who are being discussed or their family members.
so what kind of remedy are you seeking?Originally posted by Tropicana View Postpeople should feel free to discuss anything they wish here within the confines of board rules without having to tiptoe around worrying that someone is going to reach out to the subject of the story and that individual is going to turn up any moment.
If people wanted to be cautious about every striking opinion they expressed, they would stick to Facebook, LinkedIn Groups, etc and not post on a discussion board using and avatar and ID.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
- a clear statement of expectations re: parameters of discussions (e.g. boardites should not be reaching out to subjects of news stories that are under discussion to stir up trouble) Before this is done, they should have to clear it with Board administration.
- immediate deletion of any personal contact information (home or work) that is posted without someone's permission,,,warn the boardite if it is someone who is not a member here, suspend them if it is someone who is a member here..ban them for repeat offenses (i.e. if they post the private information of any other member without permission after a warning.)
Originally posted by Tropicana View Post- a clear statement of expectations re: parameters of discussions (e.g. boardites should not be reaching out to subjects of news stories that are under discussion to stir up trouble) Before this is done, they should have to clear it with Board administration.
- immediate deletion of any personal contact information (home or work) that is posted without someone's permission,,,warn the boardite if it is someone who is not a member here, suspend them if it is someone who is a member here..ban them for repeat offenses (i.e. if they post the private information of any other member without permission after a warning.)
the contact information stuff is easily enforceable the rest is totally unenforceable..because you will have no way of know who if anybody is involved.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Today it was enforceable..and sometimes when people post they do say how they got here.Originally posted by RichD View Postthe contact information stuff is easily enforceable the rest is totally unenforceable..because you will have no way of know who if anybody is involved.
I think members just need a reminder when this happens that it is inappropriate.
so according to lw he contacted the person and if she is ok with it can her repost her contact info?Originally posted by Tropicana View PostToday it was enforceable..and sometimes when people post they do say how they got here.
I think members just need a reminder when this happens that it is inappropriate.
in the scenario i posted about the ceo of a company would you proposed rule apply there if his contact information was posted to lodge a protest?When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
a wah dis lol