Originally posted by tuffstuff
What is the purpose of a discussion board?
I repeat. I have never dragged someone from off the board into a discussion on the board.Originally posted by Tuff Gong View PostYeah I think we will just let it be at that. I am pretty sure I have jogged some memories and in time others might fill in the blanks.
Certainly, I did blow the whistle on a couple of your posts over 10 years ago that I felt were really going overboard on bashing Jamaica. (At the time, I expected a certain level of professionalism and objectivity from moderators. I did not realize that some moderators had two identities and others were batty and drawers and part of the same clique as the very members who where attacking and intimidating me and others.) If a moderator was unprofessional enough to suss-suss and let you know it, shame on them. So be it. I believe you raised this with me once before and we discussed it. Evidently it is still sticking in your craw. It is the right of every member to blow the whistle on posts that they find offensive and I make no apologies for that.
I have never threatened to sue the board. This is the first I am hearing of rumours to that effect. Thank you for bringing this to light.
Tuff Gong, you of all people should know that there are some vicious and vindictive individuals who post here. Rumours do not make anything true. Some objected to me and others posting about racism on here and others objected to a couple of us who were in their view "airing dirty laundry" about the racial situation in Canada. I did receive PMs begging me to stop because while they acknowledged that what I was saying was true "it was just too embarrassing". I refused. So, the attacks and intimidation began.
At this point, the depths to which some people will go to attack others just because they do not agree with them should not surprise anyone, especially you. So, if rumours were spread, I guess that is more proof of what goes on here. Why does this surprise you? Rumours were also spread about you but that does not make them true.Last edited by Tropicana; 07-27-2013, 02:00 AM.
Yeah it went on for four years and the Mods allow it. Every time I would seek to discuss issues in topic posted then that would come up. This is precisely what I am talking about. How some members were allowed to be hounded off the Board.Originally posted by evanovitch View Postlots of memories to be jogged...memba di washing of di baggy one..dat was neva answered doah...
Words like:
Parro
Brown-Nosing
Stalking
were allowed to be willy-nilly directed at members who were on the do not like list.
..........and don't bother asking a question if you are a foreigner posting from somewhere like the Ukrainian, Belgium, Netherlands, South Korea or China.
I can remember one female member who was hounded of this Board, she took up refuge on the Gleaner's Board and was promptly canned from that (a every subsequent Board that she registered to). the campaign led by a Mod here, who was a Mod there as well and her troop of little devil helpers. Same for I as well.
Even with the natural rate of attrition that is posited as an excuse for non-retention of members. The systematic persecution of members for thoughts expressed and suspected ideas has done this Board more damage than necessary and certainly no favours.
Nothing sticks to my craw. I have a long memory, that is all and when an argument is put forth that I have some knowledge of, obviously I try to avoid the confrontation, but feel constrained to offer some clarification if it is way out of whack.Originally posted by Tropicana View PostEvidently it is still sticking in your craw.
So funny I have been cussed out and maliced because over the years, some have thought that I try to take up for you from the very day you came to this Board....but I defend everyone's right to be heard, no matter how insipid the portion is.
There have been more than one member who have publicly said as soon as they join the Board they were given a list of folks to avoid. I was always on that list.Originally posted by Tropicana View PostRumours were also spread about you but that does not make them true.
It never bothered I one bit.
Seeit deh...first I am hearing about such a list. I guess I was on it too. Couldn't care less but I guess that explains how bad blood spreads around here.Originally posted by Tuff Gong View PostThere have been more than one member who have publicly said as soon as they join the Board they were given a list of folks to avoid. I was always on that list.
since is juss we one a participate, is true wat u say...n nuff who now look awn n look down were part n parcel of that vetting committee...mi still pon it n consider it an honourable mention ..dwl dwl..I really don't give a rat's behind who want to cuss I or seh anyting... I wish they would say it cause I don't fraid to ansa back...is not about cussing...is about the hypocrisy ..is juss a board yes, but is a microcosm of life outside...di ongle ting I regret doing pon yah is liking some to an extent...fi real...but still I have never met anyone from yah in person ....Di ongle reason I shape ovah yah is mi a wait fi a one surface whe a play Adam in di garden hiding...mi ha 24 hrs in everyday fi pass time n I have to fill it somehow...pissing off people on the internet is juss anodda pastime...Originally posted by Tuff Gong View PostThere have been more than one member who have publicly said as soon as they join the Board they were given a list of folks to avoid. I was always on that list.
What you say is true. Tourism does finance second class citizenship just like sending remittances does. It always amazes me that I see and hear Jamaicans shouting from affaren about the plight of their breddren but, except for the likkle vacations home to see family, don't see them in the trenches trying to make things better.Originally posted by blugiant View Postda troublinn ting widd ja tourism industree iss da jamaicans dollars finance secand class citizenship fe jamaicans. sum ting wrang wen yuh tellinn jamaicans to cantinuallee invest more aff dem resources fe mekk visitors feel awlrite wild ignorinn y a latt aff jamaicans natt smiling. realitee iss equalitee ann respect iss natt sintinn dat onlee a few deserved. mutual respect iss wat mii bout ann mii treat peeps widd respekk as lang as dem treat mii widd da same respect.
playinn ruff iss avinn same rites ann defendinn dose rites
wan luv
Face-to-face, man-to-man.... that is how I try to change my surroundings every day while living in Jamaica. I work with the children of my town. I stand in a line passing blocks to build a new library. I treat my neighbors with Respect and receive that in return.
These little ankle bitting passages are fun to engage in but do little to change anyone's circumstances.
I Respect you for your passion and understand some of your anger but you and most of the others here (in my opinion) are wasting their energy pretending to be some kind of victim of a system they now only view from afar.
Peace and Guidance
You are certainly entitled to your opinion. But in my opinion I gave her a reason to respond and defend her honour, and yes I did send her a link to the thread. My only position was to clarify the story and possibly give reason to those that doubted her story to pause, reflect and maybe reconsider. That was it.y natt send ar a link to da tredd ann ask ar fe commit pon da tredd?
sendinn ar onlee sum add da poasinns iss way fe influence ar
Well well Tuff Gong and Evanovitch. I tip my hat to both of you for exposing the extent of the mischief making by bad mind people that has gone on here.
Some of the chief mischief makers clearly have no shame as they have actually had the nerve to show their faces in this discussion. Mek dem gawn. Their evil ways have now come to light as well as their back stabbing of some of the very people dem hug up and 'kin teeth at in public. Boardites beware.Last edited by Tropicana; 07-27-2013, 12:33 PM.
RichD, CB and Pepper, Xavier has responded so please lock this down if you wish when you have a moment.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostI'm not talking about creating a rule preventing people from inviting others to the board but rather a specific protocol and process to set the parametres for inviting subjects of news stories, particularly once the discussion has taken place. This is being used as a way to cause trouble when someone is losing an argument or not in agreement with views expressed. Perhaps these invitations should be cleared through admins and, just like in the past, the discussions should be set up from the outset as a dialogue or opportunity to interview a guest.Originally posted by Xavier View PostWe are always open to interviewing people for articles to post on the site. Occasionally we use to invite guests we interview for articles for discussion on the forums. We interview them for an article first. Currently we don't have the people resources (background prep, coordinate login, time, moderate, generate questions etc) to facilitate that right now plus the participation was not good. A straight interview is better. Again we have guidelines/rules for how people should conduct themselves in discussions. We cannot police people inviting others to the board.Originally posted by Tropicana View PostThat's unfortunate. Thank you for taking the time to respond.