Why Can't This Board Attract New Members....
Originally posted by twiney View PostBut that is fluffy stuff .. how u no add nuttin new to the population causethe pickney need a sibling.
Yuh Eva see a ja-can weh no love dem belly and love sex and good gossip: dwl:
di ppl dem feel like dem cannot post on here bcus of the moderators getting involved. I agree vmy reason is just cus m love see the drama but still.
When blu ready dem fi left him mek him bun dung di place. All the gay ppl need to is just go chill out dung a deark.
Wen tropi ready mek she set fire to all the blond wigs. All u do hold on to urs tight and go have a drink inna gun go bar.
As if the religious forum it's a lost cause but all who dub deh a shout halelluja and raining brim stone and fire, dong so upon themselves so lo dem mek dem gallang. All u do go eat piece apple pie and listen two lovers rock on the way to hell.
Dats y mi miss HO so eino.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostMy Looh yes there have been 2 recent events but the first major attempt to attack me was a long time ago and there have been others since.
Not sure when someone called blugiant's school or threatened to come to his workplace.
The attack on Marilyn was about 2 - 3 years ago if memory serves me correctly.
How could anyone new feel comfortable joining in when they see things like that?
It doesn't explain why NOW, though. Like dahJah says, new folks wouldn't know a thing about what went on over a year ago of further back.
Originally posted by Suesumba View Posti think it's the growth in different social media like twitter/facebook.
Originally posted by blugiant View Postda qwestian dat reallee shood be asked is wat as jam.com done fe attract new member? does itt ave wan aff dem cheap internet advertisinn ting dat email new peeps ann invite dem fe join? y shood new member join wen anti-virus programs warn bout da site?
do jam.com advertise inn ja cah itt seem more fe targitt visitors to jamaica? does jam.com ave da content tourists are lookinn fah? tink pon itt does jam.com find reputable peeps inn ja dat cood serve da tourists need? y yuh doan ear sweet ann cancious reggaemusic pon yah?
itt natt bout fassbook, attitude ann ar agenda itt da lack aff out reach dat jam.com does.
da onlee reason y mii jine jam.com wass wan thyme mii need wan recipe ann mii email g2 ann shii send mii wan email encouraginn mii fe jine fellow yaawd peeps pon yah
One example: I personally tried to steer over two handfuls of (20+) people - all African diaspora ppl - to J'com, encouraging them to join. ALL of these folks are black; About 8 are African-Americans; About 10 are non-Jamaican Caribbeans; And 2 of whom are Jamaican-Americans. All live right here in the Oranges (NJ) or in Newark, NJ - where there is a very large Caribbean population. ALL of these people lurked about J'com for weeks ..... and all not only said "NO!", but a few said "Hell, NO!!" One such woman is the manager of a Golden Krust bakery here; she hated (her words, exactly were "absolutely hated") the atmosphere here, at that time. She - and everyone else - questioned my as to why I - as a white woman - would even BE here, given the "unwelcoming" and "narrow-minded" atmosphere here. (Those quotes are these people's words, not mine.) None of them ever saw any posts by Xavier when they felt he - as the owner of this 'site who is "supposedly Christian" should have stepped in and stopped the ish going on at the time. (again, the quoted phrase isn't mine; I personally do not question Xavier's beliefs although I can't lie - I have questioned how he runs things here, at times) I tried to explain that it wasn't always like this on J'com... and that is isn't always like that now... but I couldn't really say that last part with complete honesty.
I am very, very sorry if this stings anyone. My intent is NOT to hurt anyone. And I am not speaking in anger OR in bitterness. I am speaking up because I love J'com, and I love some of the people here... and I wish no harm to those whom I do not love... or whom I dislike intensely... or even the one J'commer whom I actively hate. And there are a number of regular J'commers (and a number of former J'commers) who are friended to me on FB who can attest to at least parts of what I just said, and/or attest to the fact that I'm not speaking in rancor, and that I have a good number of friends who fit the criteria I outlined above (so unno will know that I am speaking the truth).
I am speaking about the period of time from a few months ago stretching back to about 24 months or so ago.
It saddens me to have had to type these words.
It saddens me even more that the old J'com is truly dead. What a loss!
I speak in the hopes that somebody(ies) will DO SOMETHING USEFUL to resurrect this burned-up phoenix from it's ashes before it's too late. I pray to God that we are successful at this 'remaking' of J'com. IF and/or when I see positive changes, I will assuredly pitch in and help rebuild J'com. smh in sorrow
Originally posted by queenb View PostBecause of the hostility that I saw growing on the board, I usually don't post. Maybe once or twice/week I will read then move on. I have better things to do than get aggravated by a bunch of people that I have no desire to communicate with. I miss the old board and its members.
Originally posted by queenb View PostI've been a member since my first trip to Jamaica in '99. I started reading and all I could do was laugh at Wendy, Jazz, Jahlive, and that crew.
My original profile was lost in a long-ago Board changeover, and I lost the exact date I joined and that number of posts. now, I don't give a rat's tail end about the post count... but I've wished that I could remember when I joined.
I, too, miss - and mourn - the loss of the old cew. sigh
Originally posted by LinSkinny View PostThen the privacy issue. What people fail to realize is that nothing on the web (or technology for dat matta) is private. With the proper tools and time, anything can be found out about anybody. Simply participating, in any manner in any forum, exposes one to people who know how to look. Not to mention the people who monitoring everyting we seh. (Hi!)
(and - Hiyah, all of you lurkers who monitor our board!)
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostThank you to the boardite who sent me this. I will respond in one moment.
Since you block me, I can't possibly PM you at all! The board system doesn't work like that, letting a blocked person PM s/he who blocked you.
I did no such screen capture, and I did not send you a goddamned thing!
Originally posted by WitchyOoman View PostSENT YOU????? THAT'S A DAMN LIE!!!
Since you block me, I can't possibly PM you at all! The board system doesn't work like that, letting a blocked person PM s/he who blocked you.
I did no such screen capture, and I did not send you a goddamned thing!
Seeit deh:
Originally posted by WitchyOoman View PostAnd I am not speaking in anger OR in bitterness. I am speaking up because I love J'com, and I love some of the people here... and I wish no harm to those whom I do not love... or whom I dislike intensely... or even the one J'commer whom I actively hate.
And why would someone in her own words "actively HATE" a person they have never met. Witchy has had it in for me ever since I posted against public nudity and skinny dipping. Yes mi didpon this type of nastiness and decadence. She came in like a bat out of hell and attacked me because SHE is a nudist and she has been following me around ever since and hurling her nasty comments at and about me. She became so aggressive that I blocked her and I have not even seen her posts for man must be at least 2 - 3 years now maybe longer. I haven't seen them and I haven't responded to them yet seeit deh...her attacks continue until this day......2 - 3 years later and no one stops her.
Once again thank you to the person who sent me this one. It needed a response. Let me say it louder.
This is the type of petty and destructive behaviour that keeps people away from here.
Until someone puts a stop to it, why would any new members want to join and participate here?Last edited by Tropicana; 07-26-2013, 02:00 AM.
finger's, not 'ginners'
What a dumb@$$ Tropicana is!
In fact, I DO PERSONALLY KNOW the person I hate actively. and every J'commer friended to me to FB knows who that is... I had to unfriend her! It was a big thing on FB a while back, maybe 10 months ago. A check of my FB friends or my FB Timeline will tell anybody this. ROTFLMAOoooooo @ Trop's ignrance and capacity for stupidity!!
What's the matter, dummy, got a guilty conscience, or something, Tropi?
HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA
I wasn't even thinking of you, tropi. you just don't exist for me whenever I first think of J;com. You aren't relevant enough to me for me to hate you. LOL
Yes, it's on the 'Net (has been for years) that I frequent clothing optional beaches! I've discussed many of them, just not here on J'com so much. (I may have mentioned it here, I can't really remember.)
Waaiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii
No. There is nothing in my original post that fingers you as the hated one, and that's because you aren't the hated one I was referring to!!!!! DWL
Originally posted by tuffstuff View PostU mean same like wat precipitated di rainfall of one nedda thread fra yessideh where di trolling fellow ahm cuttydidi and patydid and cyarry go bring come?? BOADWLI are weakkkkkkk
This occurred the other day, and Tropi was so hot against it, BUT now that the shoe's on the other foot, she's glad she was "told" via Pm or email and invited to respond here!! HA HA HA HA HA
My words stand pat. No one (except for a mod or admin, that is) can change them.
What can't be denied is that there is nothing whatsoever to imply in my owrds that I was referring to any specific person, let alone to Tropi.
But, it IS funny as hell that she chose to take them that way.
Guilty is as guilty does. Guess she feels that she's been hateful towards me, that she earned my hatred somehow. (You gotta try a whole lot harder than you're capable of, Tropi, to make me hate!)