Originally posted by WitchyOoman
Why Can't This Board Attract New Members....
While the 'new' format is headache inducing, I find that the thing that keeps me away is the vitriolic madness of a few...
Back in the day, 'madness' was celebrated. The threat of jumping of a sidewalk was always met with the threat of belview...
Occasionally, smaddy ooda come awn yah an a chat pere fawt, an when nobady nah agree wid dem, dem hug-up demself an blow demself kisses...
Dem deh kinda madness was more a cause for merriment... was jus jokes...
Jokes dead. Dunno who killed him, but he's greatly missed.
So while I stay away mostly because of the venom of a few who I think are stark staring mad, I think some folks prolly don't join up cause there are no jokes.
Relevant and topical issues are discussed, but honestly there are better boards out there that have these discussions. One thing that Ja.com had over many was the jokes. Our humour defined us and made this place unique. It was a magnet for like minded individuals and those who hadn't the stomach or the skin for it, left in a hurry. Those who 'got' it and could give as good, stayed around and the place was better for it.
Yes, I do recall that Ja.com was no utopia. But it was certainly better than it is now...
Nobody nuh mention the life cycle of a forum yet.Trying to find one particular write up bout it that was written many years ago, but coming up short. I will keep looking and add it when ah find it.
Nunya, venom. I like dat term, because it is true, especially if somebody don't agree with someone else's opinion. It is as if the venom spitting person(s) are so blind, they can't stop for just a second to see the other point of view.
Originally posted by LinSkinny View PostNunya, venom. I like dat term, because it is true, especially if somebody don't agree with someone else's opinion. It is as if the venom spitting person(s) are so blind, they can't stop for just a second to see the other point of view.
Snakes and scorpions inject venom. Snakes bite. Scorpions sting. Venom is delivered via fangs (by the former) and a barb (on it's tail - by the latter).
But venom delivered is still poisonous, no matter the delivery system.
Originally posted by My Looh View Post... who post regularly?
Is it Facebook? Attitudes/agendas? Wi boring as hell? All that can be discussed has been discussed?
This portion of the site seems to be dying a slow death. If three or four of the key members were to stop posting, I think it would probably spell the end to any kind of meaningful discussions and it (the forum) would fade into obscurity.
Soh mi seeit!
When I use the word "controversial" I am defining it as "ethnocentric, sometimes racist towards 'yt', etc.". It just seems like a car stuck in the mud where the tires are whirling feverously and no progress can be discerned.
If even half as much of the "meaningful discussions" of the type I referenced above, were taken away and those posters were heard again no more, the board would benefit by once again attracting new posters with something "meaningful" to say.
Just think how much good this site can do for Jamaica if Jamaicans tried to help instead of chatty mouthing suss and dribble. I guess you have to ask yourself, "What have I done for Jamaica lately?"
Just my honest opinion
accompong, I hear yu. However, I do feel that this site being named "jamaicans.com" should be a place where Jamaicans can come and discuss "their" issues, be that racism, politics, homosexuality etc... . What I will agree with is the lack of respect that is shown here at times does breed negativity which I do believe caused many folks to leave the site.
There are tourist related sites out there for those looking for visitor info on Jamaica, I think those sites are better suited for visitors thinking of visiting the island.
This site found its voice, its vibe, its culture but as things stand from where I sit, it is not sustainable. Perhaps it mirrors Jamaica itself in that respect.
I agree respect should be shown, but I observe the same suss suss happening on the site you are apart of of too
Originally posted by accompong View PostIn the earlier days when I was around more, I noticed that the boards were more "tourist friendly" and the posts by the Jamaicans (who mostly live affaren) were a little more friendly and humorous but now I seems the board his degenerated into a coffee klatch where controversial subjects are dredged up from every corner of the universe and the same characters snap and bite at each other's heels ad nauseum.
When I use the word "controversial" I am defining it as "ethnocentric, sometimes racist towards 'yt', etc.". It just seems like a car stuck in the mud where the tires are whirling feverously and no progress can be discerned.
If even half as much of the "meaningful discussions" of the type I referenced above, were taken away and those posters were heard again no more, the board would benefit by once again attracting new posters with something "meaningful" to say.
Just think how much good this site can do for Jamaica if Jamaicans tried to help instead of chatty mouthing suss and dribble. I guess you have to ask yourself, "What have I done for Jamaica lately?"
Just my honest opinion