Canada: Justin Trudeau's Marijuana Admission Slammed As 'Poor Example'
When have I ever cheered on anybody for boozing it up. Did you miss my comments about Toronto's mayor.Originally posted by jah_yout View Posti bet if he had admitted to drinking a martini you would be skinning up your teeth about how great he is & how sexy he is...babylon tells you herb is bad & alcohol is ok & you run with it---they made alcohol a crime at one time too;
Who am I denigrating? I said Bob Marley was a fabulous musician. Love his music but he was a ganja smoker and a womanizer. He would not have been a good choice for PM of Jamaica.....I did say he would have done no worse than some...so break it down for me, how is that denigrating him.Originally posted by jah_yout View Postif the politician guy gets run out for breaking his country's archaic laws then fine...but don't come denigrate one of the most respected men on the planet based on your brainwashed hatred for marijuana & those who indulge in it
Also, while many love Bob Marley, he is not one of the most respected men on the planet..that is overstating it. There are many all over the world who love his music but many other who don't.
If this guy becomes our next PM and wants to change the laws regarding the decriminalization or legalization of ganja then that is wonderful. I agree with him that the present laws need to be changed. No one deserves to have a criminal record for possessing small amounts of ganja, that is ridiculous!
However, until that happens, while he is sitting as an elected member of parliament, he needs to at least display good judgement BY NOT BREAKING THE LAW due to peer pressure! Especially if he is gunning to become the next Prime Minister!
If he shows he has poor judgement about that, what other poor judgement decisions will he have in store for the people of the country he is looking to lead!
I want to like Justin Trudeau but personally, my feeling is he is riding on the family name. He has no substance of his own.
Yes I definitely feel that he has far more style than substance and he has a lot of growing up to do. Did you see those videos? Unbelievable. Does he think he is a frat boy or a rockstar instead of a sitting MP?
Motivational speaker, rockstar, runway model, talkshow host, bilingual TV host, even boxer since he loves it so much.....
.... yes. Yes he is good looking and charming but it takes a lot more than being a fluently bilingual pretty bwoy fe run a country.
Here is an editorial from today's Toronto Star.
Justin Trudeau should not have broken pot law while in office: Editorial
Liberal Leader Justin Trudeau deserves credit for honest statements about his relatively recent pot use, but he was wrong to break the law he swore to uphold.
When Justin Trudeau unrepentantly admitted this past week that he last smoked pot just three years ago, while already a sitting Member of Parliament, the Liberal leader displayed refreshing honesty and a welcome political boldness. He also revealed a disquieting disregard for both the law and the duty of public office.“We had a few good friends over for a dinner party,” Trudeau told the Huffington Post when asked about the last time he smoked weed. “Our kids were at their grandmother’s for the night, and one of our friends lit a joint and passed it around. I had a puff.” When the interviewer asked if he had made a mistake, he said no.
Trudeau’s frank answer is a nice departure from the cookie-cutter messaging, evasion and general opacity typical of contemporary politics. And on first blush the transgression doesn’t sound so bad. He’s describing just the sort of common recreational marijuana use — probably no more harmful than an alcoholic drink and less so than a cigarette — on which he has built his compelling, if incomplete, case for legalizing the drug.
Trudeau has said the Conservatives’ tough-on-pot approach is not only ineffective, but also out of touch with the attitudes of Canadians. And clearly he’s willing to bet his political future that voters see no tension between casual pot smoking and prime ministerial aspirations.
He may be right. The manner in which politicians talk about their personal history with pot has evolved significantly over the past several decades. During the 1992 U.S. presidential campaign, Bill Clinton sparked controversy when he admitted to smoking weed in college, though he famously claimed not to have inhaled. Fourteen years later, Barack Obama rightly calculated that it wouldn’t hurt to confess that in his youth “he inhaled frequently” because “that was the point.”
These admissions were positive steps — moves toward more honesty in politics and a more realistic view of the changing place of pot in North American culture. They helped pave the way to the increasingly reasonable approach to marijuana policy in many parts of the U.S. — help we could certainly use here.
But Clinton and Obama were more or less kids when they broke the pot laws; by the time they pursued public office, as far as we know, they had sobered up. Trudeau, on the other hand, was already in a position to work toward changing the law when he decided instead to break it. The Liberal leader need not apologize for smoking pot, but he ought to repent for failing to uphold all of Canada’s laws, not just those he agrees with.
Clearly, Trudeau hopes to turn pot policy into a generational wedge to drive between his party and his political opponents. But if he planned to use the tale of his recent toke to that end, he failed to understand what the story is really about. And so far the Conservatives haven’t fallen into his trap. “It’s currently against the law to smoke dope,” said Attorney General Peter MacKay, avoiding any discussion of the merits of the policy. “I think most Canadians expect that their Member of Parliament will obey the law.” Fair enough.
Honesty is good in itself. And Trudeau should be lauded for doing a rare thing in contemporary politics: answering a direct question forthrightly. But, notwithstanding the failings of Canada’s current pot policy, his response reveals a lack of judgment and a disregard for the law and his duty as a parliamentarian to uphold it. As a legislator he’s in an excellent position to change bad laws. Breaking them is hardly prime ministerial.
He had other options...he could have introduced a private member's bill to change the law but he chose not to. In fact, in 2009 he voted for stiffer penalties. Is someone that fickle ready to run the country....I think not.Last edited by Tropicana; 08-25-2013, 07:05 PM.
This leave us with a huge problem, who the heck are we going to vote for come next election. NDP is way of on family values but better on economics. Harper is a disaster and Trudeau is much too inexperienced, immature and lacking in judgement. I want to like him and he is likeable but not ready for PM.
Bush Jnr, Obama, Clinton all smoked pot... Bush Senior would have taken speed as a young pilot... Why does that preclude him from being a poltician ? the study by nixon concluded that pot should be legalised.. Pot is now legal in Portugal and Uraguay... Most Jamaicans dont see the use of weed as evil act...
Personally I dont want the united states to legalize it but that is for purely selfish reasons as it would reduce the amount it imports from Jamaica...
Errors in judgement when they were young. Trudeau is a sitting MP.Bush Jnr, Obama, Clinton all smoked pot...
How do YOU know most Jamaicans would support the legalization of pot? Shows what kind of people you hand out with. No one I know supports it.....except for a couple of cousins but then we don't pick our families do we.
Yes, if Justin Trudeau admitted to smoking ganja as a teen or a young person in college, no one would even be talking about this.
However, he smoked it as a sitting elected MP. That is not the same thing. He knowingly broke the law while serving his term in parliament, and he admitted it was due to peer pressure. That is not the kind of quality I want in my next Prime Minister.
Like I said, I'm not against the ganja laws being changed, but until that happens, if you are a member of parliament, you better respect the laws that are in place at the time until you manage to get yourself elected and change those laws.
He shows he has no respect for the office in government he occupies and that is unfortunate when there are a lot of folks with better judgement who would love to serve in that post.
He has a famous father, so he gets a free pass.
where is the free pass? he is being raked over the coals. it will cost him dearly.Originally posted by My Looh View PostHe has a famous father, so he gets a free pass.
what would happen to you if you told the police you smoked ganja last month or even yesterday?When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
there was a Stone pole that demonstrated 60% I seem to recall. Every time there is a parliamentary discussion litterallly all parlimentarians in committee are for legalization... the danger is that if it happens we would hurt our minuscule trade and leave ourselves outside the US aid..Originally posted by Tropicana View PostErrors in judgement when they were young. Trudeau is a sitting MP.
How do YOU know most Jamaicans would support the legalization of pot? Shows what kind of people you hand out with. No one I know supports it.....except for a couple of cousins but then we don't pick our families do we.
But the list of great and good who call for decriminalization included Trueaduea father, Jimmy Carter, Cesar Gavaria former president of Columbia, Ruth Drefius, President of Switzerland, Robert Du Pont former Drug Czar under Nixon, Bill Clinton, Jorge Castanada former foreign minister of Mexico, Lula De Silva former president of Brazil, Fernando Cardoso former president of brazil, the Uraguan Parliment...Paulo Cohello that authour....
So what if he is a sitting MP ? He has a position that is contarty to the law.Do what ????....In the next 10 years it will be decriminalized in South America at worst....I am anti legalisation in the US as if it is legalised then machete cant compete with tractors....Most people who take recreationals drugs are fully functioning human beings...Weed well
But dont listen to tjhis person...http://www.opensocietyfoundations.or...e-across-globe
21 nations have began the process... if Yankis want to improsion a considerable number of its populus then that is their stupiditity...and it enhances the Jamaican ecopnomy.. I know too many Jamaicans who weed was their only real cash crop...
I dont know a single Jamaican who is not ambivalent at best at the law... Most are like me think that the law criminalizing in Jamaica weed is outdated.. From policemen to parsons... I dotn think I know a single person who hasnt had a draw or three...if an MP has a draw or three it enhances their life experience so good for them... Vote for them early and often... You and yours are against the tide of history....
Rich, I am hearing a lot of people saying things like "all politicians smoke it" just look at some of the previous posts in this thread. A lot of people are saying "it's not a big deal, let him smoke up if he wants". I do not get the sense that he is being "raked over the coals" at all. I am seeing the opposite.Originally posted by RichD View Postwhere is the free pass? he is being raked over the coals. it will cost him dearly.
what would happen to you if you told the police you smoked ganja last month or even yesterday?
You ask me what would happen if I told the police I smoked ganja last month or even yesterday? Nothing! But I am not an MP who's job is to legislate laws that are supposed to be kept.
Rich, can I ask you a question? What would happen to you if you held a position to serve the public, ie. a police officer. Then you let it be known in the media that you smoked ganja while serving as a police officer. What would expect would happen to you? Would that be OK?Last edited by My Looh; 08-26-2013, 11:00 AM.