Jamaicans-among-survivors-of-boat-tragedy-off-miami-beach..my people come to dis
Originally posted by RichD View Postthe man dem nah lef dem cellie eh.
wonda if is so the deportees a try get round the fingerprints and more sophisticated recognition methods.
Published: Sunday October 27, 2013 | 11:39 am2 Comments
Prosecutors in Florida have revealed that four of the persons who survived the ordeal were Jamaicans with felony convictions who were deported from the US.
They are 30-year-old Matthew Williams, 40-year-old Everton Jones, also known as ‘Everton Bryce’, and 35-year-old Kenard Hagigal.
And prosecutors say another Jamaican on the ill-fated boat, Sean Gaynor, was also deported from the US.
US authorities say six survivors have been charged with attempted alien smuggling and illegal re-entry into the US, but did not indicate if the Jamaicans were among those facing criminal charges.
This a regular thing not for just Jamaicans but other nationalities. People live here for years and establish roots etc. They get deported and they come back through Bahamas...They return to their regular life.Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
Originally posted by Xavier View PostThis a regular thing not for just Jamaicans but other nationalities. People live here for years and establish roots etc. They get deported and they come back through Bahamas...They return to their regular life.7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
It may not be that they had hard life in Jamaica. Some of these people have no roots on the island, or as Xavier mentioned, they have families that are living in the USA. Lots of deportees were born in Jamaica, migrated at an early age and lived abroad the majority of their lives. They get sent back to place and lifestyle that is foreign to them and everything/one they know and love in another country.
Yeah too bad for them, they shouldn't have broken the law. But that situation drives a burning desire to get back, and they can't enter the country legally.7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostJamaica is not that bad...these people are nuts.
Jamaica is beginning to feel like a great marriage going bad! You can still remember the good times, but the bad times are getting to you and you want to leave, but, keep hoping that the good times will come back or some semblance of the past. - M.H.
Pepper, you hit the nail on the head...we are only hearing about this because the boat got caught. There are so many that are coming here that way.Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
90 ja to 1 US to 104 to 1 US that is a devaluation of 15 % in 1 year.....given that Jamaica is dependedant on imports for basic commodities that is at least 20 % inflation in real terms......things were bad bu this is a spiral of inflation worth of South america in the 70's....Last edited by Wahalla; 10-28-2013, 12:09 PM.
Originally posted by Xavier View PostTropicana...explain what you mean by "Jamaica not that bad"....Based on what I am hearing from friends and family it is not looking good at all. Many of them whom I never thought would migrate are looking to do so. I friend of mine posted this on facebook. It was a profound statement that sums up the sentiment many have shared with me but not as concise...
Jamaica is beginning to feel like a great marriage going bad! You can still remember the good times, but the bad times are getting to you and you want to leave, but, keep hoping that the good times will come back or some semblance of the past. - M.H.
Pepper, you hit the nail on the head...we are only hearing about this because the boat got caught. There are so many that are coming here that way.
Not sure what things are like in Kingston now but when I went to Mexico I was shocked to find whole famlies including babies sleeping in the streets. I had never seen anything like that in Jamaica.
When I went to Mumbai I thought that having visited clients in the slums of West Kingston and some horrible places I was prepared. Hunt's Bay Road, Majesty Pen and other parts of Kingston like Cassava Piece Road and Decante Centre are nothing compared to what I saw in Mumbai. I wanted to be polite so instead of saying can you take me to the nice areas I said "We have been travelling on the (I can't member if it was east or west) side of town. On the way back, can we travel on the other side of town. The response was "Oh no that side of Mumbai is very run down and dirty." I couldn't picture anything worse. I was told that there are parts of India that are MUCH worse than Mumbai.
Compare Jamaica to Haiti where they have very few jobs and 10,000 workers cross the border and cut sugar cane in the Dominican Republic. It takes 10 - 12 men 4 hours to cut 1 ton of sugar cane and they are paid only $10 a ton and this is shared by the 10 - 12 men. They work 10 - 12 hours a day and so they earn $2 - $3 a day US each. They are given 3 pounds of pork or beef per week and I believe a few cups of rice.
It is enough to put one off sugar permanently.
Watch Black Sugar, Michel Régnier's 1988 film about the lives and hardships of Haitian workers cutting cane in the Dominican Republic.
This movie gives a much higher figure of the number of sugar cane workers.
How about Aghanistan or Chad? Jamaica has it good in comparison.Last edited by Tropicana; 10-28-2013, 04:09 PM.
I wanted to post the charts but they exceed the character limit of the board.
Here is a ranking of the world's nations from poorest to richest based on % below the poverty line. Yes we have it hard but we are no where near rock bottom...not even close:
In terms of economy, yes we have significant challenges but many are doing much worse than we are.
Check this too Xavier:
20 Poorest Countries In The World
Check world bank and IMF stats too. Jamaica isn't even in the bottom half.
all those numbers/rankings don't mean a thing on a personal level. if you used to what in your mind is a very comfortable l life and yuh get sent back to jamaica to batta it might seem like hell on earth to you...and how many countries are worse off don't mean a thing .When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
I wonder as we visit various countries and stay in hotels how much the staff gets paid, waiters, waitresses, housekeeping, bellmen. They work their tails off and the service charge that is added to the bill does not go 100% to the workers. Management takes a percentage to line their pockets.