Originally posted by RichD
Life doesn't always work out the way you want it to.
Canada is no paradise and I will be the first to
pon it but there are opportunities to get an education here if one makes half an effort. Jamaica has far more opportunities now than when my parents left and I do see young cousins taking advantage of the opportunities to get an education and improve themselves. So yes in comparison to many countries in the world, people are a lot better off in Jamaica. We face significant challenges...absolutely but we love whine, belly ache and focusing on the part of the glass that is half empty too much. Those who are doing the most whining aren't the worst off by any stretch of the imagination. Perhaps some of our people need to spend time in Haiti, Afghanistan or Burundi or working in the sugar canes of the Dominican Republic to put things in perspective.....and I am not talking about the people suffering in the ghetto when I say that but some of the Upper St. Andrew housewives who love whine and complain too much. If some of them knew what it takes to produce sugar maybe they would not be complain the next time they have trouble getting the sugar like we have in the USA and Canada... or cornflakes
... never down hill