I don't recall seeing Natives wear them, but why should we, is it just to fit in or do we really believe those soldiers died for or fought for our freedoms?
Should black ppl wear poppies
My grandad left his wife and kids in JA to go fight over in Europe. He came back in one piece but died years later when I was just a small child so I don't remember him. I wear the poppy mostly in his honour. But if people choose not to bother wear one I can understand.Last edited by My Looh; 11-07-2013, 01:15 AM.
My position was always no. In fact, when my son was in grade 5, his teacher told the class off and said those who did not wear poppies should be ashamed of themselves. Without letting my son know, I took her to task for that.
I didn't re-think my position until one of the boardites (don't remember here) posted about all of the Jamaican soldiers from both world wars who were not being remembered or recognized. She has a point. We should remember them. Perhaps we should wear a Jamaican flag on Remembrance Day or remember them as part of National Heroes Day.
I am not a poppy wearer... but as a mark of respect when I see a monument to the dead of the world wars I read the names, ....and I think of the lines of Will McBride...
I hope you died well
I hope you died clean
and young willy mcbride
it wasn't slow and obscene.....
I live in a small village ....in 1919 it would have been less than 100 houses and I counted 95 names on the monument to WWI.... 32 I think on World warII... Every village around has one...men died....
Any one who has fought in a armed engagement knows the horror and the exhilation of survival has repect.... By one of my favourite spots in the world the River on the River Don the church at Dyce Aberdeen... there is a common wealth cemnetry... there are Kiwis, Maltese, Indian, Scotish, Aussie, Canadians interned there as well as members of the Luftwaffe...
This year I went to Barbados for my holiday .. I spent a morning in the Garrision Cemetry looking at the names on the Honour Roll.. the dead in Barbados...142 in world 1, Word war ii... Barbados 187 in world war ii..Munro College had 62 dead in World war i and 24 in II....I had cousins uncles who died and won medals....
What would have happened to Africa if Germany had won the first European civil war.... Do some research...read Tip and Run...????
As for the second one... Jamaica and the rest of the Caribbean would have been taken over by teh yankis to prevent German Hegemony... that was part the protocols of lend lease.... Yanki or British...sorry I like Give me Liberty or Death Patrick Henry 20 slaves would chose the British!
Africans fought and died and should be remembered ... liberated half of France , Bergen Belsen.......Out of a population of 1,700,000 in the Caribbean Colonies of the British Empire, over 1,200 were killed or died, while more than 2,500 were wounded. (not black yanki...africans and West Indians) We Jamaicans had a squadron of RAF...
Marcus Garvey urged Jamaicans and all Negro peoples to Join up to fight..He was in Costa Rica if memory serves me correct at the time of the declaration of war. . , wrote letters to the gleaner, sent telegraph to the King the sectary of the colonies, urging recruitment offering support... Howell as well I beleive s.. Garvey promoted the US to join WWi and urge black yankis to join up to prove themselves worthy.....
Look up the names of West Indian independence... Norman Manley, Prime Minister Burrows, Micheal Manley, Shearers Father...all had a military experience...
Last edited by Wahalla; 11-07-2013, 09:58 AM.
Originally posted by Emperah View PostI don't recall seeing Natives wear them, but why should we, is it just to fit in or do we really believe those soldiers died for or fought for our freedoms?
I think the intent of the Poppies is to raise funds for the survivors upkeep.....At least that was how it was pitched to us in Jamaica.
Marcus Garvey and most blk ppl believed if we fought and proved ourselves worthy, when the war done blk ppl would be treated equal. Same with every blk country that participated, they thought they would be seen as equal on the world stage as well. Not one of these things happened.
The media has pushed that if the Germans won the war this would have happened or that would have happened, none of it is truth but pure belief and propaganda.
I think we do the blk participants more respect by not "showing a respect dem fix fi wi", by speaking up on the realities that they shove down our throats bout how dem supposedly fight fi wi freedoms etc.
But mi wired likkle different still
Originally posted by Tuff Gong View PostThose soldiers were a lot of Blacks too.
I think the intent of the Poppies is to raise funds for the survivors upkeep.....At least that was how it was pitched to us in Jamaica.
Yesterday dem had a story how the soldiers are pist now because odda ppl are pushing a yt poppy to represent peace and not war.