<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">true but milo what makes this one more attractive dan say the sony one is the wireless capabilities.
with the sony you have to upload and all sorts of things
<span style="font-weight: bold">with this one you can be sitting in a cafe on the beach and bam the book weh yuh ordered is delivered.</span>
and yes they are working on a slimmer version of the kindle and moving around some of the keys.
This is true as long as you are in an area covered by the EVDO network. In the city, no problem, if you are going camping then yo may want to make sure you download your book before you get too far out in the woods. Plus, I don't know about you but if I go to a beach, I'm not one to take an electronic device. If I do take a camera etc... I usually store it in a zip lock bag until I need to take a picture. Maybe it's just me but I have had bad luck with electronics and the beach unless they are specially designed to withstand the effects of a day of blowing sand.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i need the price to go down some more
how is this different than downloading a book to a mini laptop or u to iphone? </div></div>
It is because the kindle feels more like a book. It's screen is designed to be easy on the eyes and look like ink on paper and it is designed to make turning pages very user friendly.
But you are onto something. I think people will want one single portable device to access email and surf the web, use as a phone, text, access music, have camera capabilities, provide GPS, connect to WiFi, play games on and read their books.
Right now a iPhone can do all that. However, the one area in which it lacks is feeling like a conventional book as it is much smaller than the Kindle.
I'm sure the engineers at Apple are working hard to come up with some way to address this issue. Perhaps some sort of expandable feature can be incorporated.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Bizi_Q</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I wouldn't buy that mess for myself right yah now. maybe inna 2010 </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Bizi_Q</div><div class="ubbcode-body">well mi orda it an dem say it expected to ship between march 3 and march 16 </div></div>
u a year early!
yuh order it fi yuhself ? yuh a gwaan wid things man.
mi too bruk mi haffi wait till the price come dung. mi surprise my bredda nuh have it yet, cause as everyting come out him buy it. kissteet.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Bizi_Q</div><div class="ubbcode-body">well mi orda it an dem say it expected to ship between march 3 and march 16 </div></div>
<span style="font-style: italic">dis mi <span style="text-decoration: underline">really</span> wan knoh </span>
dem smallup di screen (pon dis an everyting else) WHY?
wasn't the attitude just a few short yeears ago "the bigger the better" (tvs, computer screens, etc.)
<span style="font-style: italic">now oonu wan watch movie pon cell an read book pon sinting wah small lakka cup </span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: chitown</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-style: italic">dis mi <span style="text-decoration: underline">really</span> wan knoh </span>
dem smallup di screen (pon dis an everyting else) WHY?
wasn't the attitude just a few short yeears ago "the bigger the better" (tvs, computer screens, etc.)
<span style="font-style: italic">now oonu wan watch movie pon cell an read book pon sinting wah small lakka cup </span> </div></div>
I think the Kindle screen is just a good size but it presents a problem. People want to carry around small but the kindle is a little too big to fit in a pocket.
I have a relative that works for Sony and he says that they are working on technology to solve this issue. It will be a device small enough to fit in a pocket but will be able to expand in order to be easier on the eyes. Apple will be soon to fiollow as well as other companies. There is a huge potential for a device that can do "everything" (book, MP3/MP4 player, phone, still/videocamera, GPS, datebook, voice recorder, alarm clock, web browser etc... .
an den when u lose dat one deggeh deggeh electronic wid all u info on deh, what u gwaan do..
mi memba when mi used to know everybody numba off de top a mi head...now mi can barely imagine what to do when mi lose mi fone wid all de numbaz an ting inna it..or worse if mi hard drive pop dung
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Milo Man*</div><div class="ubbcode-body">It's the future. Not sure I'd buy one just yet. Sooner or later companies will be giving them away to customers who sign a contract with them to download x amount of books.
As someone who works in the publishing business it really stinks when you see a new piece of technology come along which you know will eventually make your job obsolete, but what am I to do except start thinking about a career change?
<span style="font-weight: bold"><span style="text-decoration: underline">CD stores and video stores all had their day in the sun and now bookstores are on the way out too</span>.</span>
Milo, yuh depress mi. Chruss mi, wah yuh mean bookstores on dem way out? And doan ansa dat, mi know seh a true, but I dont want to accept it.
Now tell me now - how am I to snuggle up in my bed or a chaise lounge with a mechanical device?
Better yet, how am I to do this all with my snuggie?
Maybe in 2020 I will consider it. Because when the last bookstore goes out of business I will be the last person in line and the last person at the register.
Today, we introduced Kindle 2, the next generation of our wireless reading device.
Because you already ordered the original Kindle and are awaiting its arrival, we're pleased to inform you that we are upgrading your order so that you will receive the new Kindle 2. You will be in the first group to receive Kindle 2, and you will receive yours as soon as Kindle 2 becomes available later this month. You need not do anything.
With a new sleek design, Kindle 2 has seven times more storage and carries over 1,500 titles. An advanced display provides even crisper images and clear text for an improved book-like reading experience. Page turning is faster, the battery life is 25% longer, and our new 'Text-to-Speech' feature means Kindle can even read to you.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.