Its a compilation of short stories - as told through the eyes of children growing up in Africa.
I loved it. Read it maybe a year or so ago.
Really really good stories. Thought provoking and entertaining at the same time.
I read most of it, the story with the guy on the bus was really drawn out and I jumped ahead but the longest one I think "Fattening for Gabon" was the most nerve wracking and that made the book and then the Rwanda story and the child prostitute one, but all dem stories were depressing and people say I love depressing books and it was even depressing for me and that is saying a lot! Since it was the first book I bought on the Kindly it will always hold a special place in my literary heart....
i got the black leather cover with mine. Works perfectly fine and it look jus like mi organizer/notebook i use for work. So when mi bring it come and ptu pon mi desk, mi can sneak a read every now and then w/o it look no way.
Mi done read de Count of Monte Cristo. Took me a dam weak but it was better than the fuss time mi read it
I have not picked mine back up since Jamaica, I actually read two paper books cause mi did too cheap fi buy dem and they were for my book club, one was Precious(Push) it was a better read than I thought it was going to be, but I didn't want to own it forever.
yeh but they won't always stay on the bestseller list
I am rarely interested in the "bestseller" titles anyway and $9.99 is stilla good price considering those books are usually (at least) $21.95
the only thing i wish is that u could sell back a book once u done wid it...same way u can do it with the printed books...or you should be able to share books freely with other kindle users an see what they're reading an ting...
an dem need fi mek one wid a built in light so u can read in the dark...cause lord knows dis man can complain when mi ha de light on an waan done off a chapter inna de bed...
Den how you use to read regular books? regular books come with built in light? Dem say to put a light in will lead to eye strain like looking at a computer screen where this is simulating reading regular paper books.
Oh and bestsellers are way expensive so $9.99 is a good price is how much you get dem fah?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: seemiyah</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-style: italic">Oh and bestsellers are way expensive so $9.99 is a good price is how much you get dem fah?</span> </div></div>I usually get bestseller paperbacks at Waterstone's in the UK when they have special offers like 3 books for the price of 2. It works out to about £5-6 VAT included for each printed book. That's less dear than $9.99 + sales tax per electronic book. Considering that Amazon and the publisher are saving on storage, shipping, printing etc., etc. bestsellers could be cheaper.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.