Originally posted by CEW:
[QB]But then you would be surprised if I said I learned patois just because my siblings did [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] .
no - that wouldn't surprise me.
Like some normal kids, being told not to do something was all the reason to do it, so they did not use it when they were home, but did so elsewhere. For whatever reasons, I chose not to so perhaps I was not "normal" [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] . I see it simply as a case as from as far back as I can remember, I did not do things simply because others around me were doing it. I am still that way today.
sounds to me you were a very obedient young man. nothing wrong or abnormal about that. i don't necessarily think your siblings spoke patwa because they were contrary, but perhaps because they wanted to communicate easily with others outside their family.
As for how I feel about being a Jamaican, I am very proud of that fact. I am however not one of those dyed-in-the-wool types who would wrap themselves in the national colors at every possible opportunity. I am very proud of the accomplishments of my country men, an ardent Reggae Boyz supporter, love certain aspects of the culture especially the theatre, art, and music, but I do not feel a need to visit there at every possible opportunity. I feel there are a lot more places to see and a lot more cultures to discover, but I do not think that makes me any less Jamaican than someone who does the opposite.
hmmmm...methinks you doth protest a tad much... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] , but cool. thanks for responding. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
CEW, I read in one of your responses that there were a couple special ladies in your life. Assuming none of those ladies is your mom; if one of your special ladies told you she has a couple special men in her live, would that affect your relationship/friendship? Also, what would be your opinion of her?
The assumption is wrong but I see what you are getting at. To answer your question, if it was not a committed relationship I could not take issue with her having "special men" in her life. There are a couple of females who have added immesurably richness to my life with their friendships and these are very special people to me. There may be a male friend or two who have added richness to their lives, and that is OK. In the context of friendships, it really doesn't matter and I would see no reason to think any differently of them than I do now.
aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
hmmmm...methinks you doth protest a tad much... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] , but cool. thanks for responding. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
OK m'am, I'm done now [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] . You would be surpised how many times I have been told I am not a "real" Jamaican - whatever that means - and it bugs me just a tad. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
Hmm..you should have received them HOURS ago...double check your mailbox. (Okay, not hours, in the past half hour. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] )
Mountaingirl, there was a time when patois was not well regarded by all sectors in society. I have some older relatives who can't speak patois because it was forbidden both at school and in the home. These relatives (including one of my grandmothers) are not from well to do backgrounds by any stretch of the imagination. It does not strike me as unusual that CEW does not speak patois.
This is my current submission. I will return in due season. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Not a problem. Bring them on... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]
1. The wife of your brother tells you that she married the 'wrong brother' and that she should have married you instead. What is your response?
"You ARE married to my brother, and out of respect for him, I am going to pretend you did not say that as you and I are NOT going to have this conversation." I would then walk away and I would not tell him about it.
2. A chrisitan couple is having problems having children. The wife suggests artificial insemination using an egg and or a sperm from a relative. The husband is adamant that he will not do any such thing. How do you advise them in your capacity as a friend of over 15 years?
This is a difficult one. My instinct would tell me to stay out of it as this is a very personal issue, and one that neither persons should be influenced into making a decision on either way. Worse case scenario: in my capacity as a friend of 15 years, I would try to get from the husband his reasons for rejecting the idea and share those with the wife, separately, to see if she could get a sense as where he was coming from. I however would lean towards suggesting adoption instead of AI.
3. Your wife and your mother do not get along as well as you would wish. Your mother has suggested living with you. Wife says if mother comes, she goes. What do you do?
In this case, mother coming to live with us is not an option. Marriage requires leaving and cleaving so as a husband I would have to support my wife.
4. The child of your neighbour tells you her father has repeatedly abused her (sexually & physically). She lives with both parents and a small brother but is afraid to speak with her mother about it. How do you respond to her?
Sexual abuse of a child is evil and under no circumstances should a child's report be ignored. IMO, the benefit of the doubt goes to the child. In this situation, my immediate responsibility is to report it to the authorities and that is exactly what I would do.
5. A family member (one very close to you) has a run in with the law - gun charges. He faces life in prison unless you say he was with you on the night in question. What's your move?
When confronted with any given situation, my first question is: "What is the right thing to do here?" As difficult a choice as it would be, he has to face up to the consequences of his actions. I am not going to lie about it.
6. You witness a wife being abused by her husband and make a report to the police. They both vehemently deny it and have since refuse to speak with you. What next?
That is fine. I witnessed an abuse taking place and did the right thing by reporting it to the authorities. God forbid I did nothing and the next time he probably would have killed her, so if the price I pay is them not talking to me, I can live with that.
Thanks you kindly.
Not a problem.
Originally posted by Tropicana:
[qb] Mountaingirl, there was a time when patois was not well regarded by all sectors in society. I have some older relatives who can't speak patois because it was forbidden both at school and in the home. These people are not from well to do backgrounds by any stretch of the imagination. it does not strike me as unusual that CEW does not speak patois. [/qb]
I know, Tropicana. Growing up in rural Jamaica, our family had middle class aspirations. We weren't discouraged from speaking patois, but it was understood that one didn't speak patois in front of company. I also know a number of Jamaicans who don't speak patois - mostly Kingstonians, I have to say. Which is not to say they don't have a strong Jamaican accent. Patwa was seen as poor English, and a sign of illiteracy or ill-education being low-class.
The prejudice against patwa among certain classes (or aspirants to those classes) still exists. E.g., radio talk hosts like Antoinette Haughton and Winston "Babatunde" Witter faced tremendous criticism for talking on-air in the vernacular to people who called in. The fact that the use of patwa endeared the radio hosts to patwa speaking callers didn't matter, because of course, because patwa speakers were seen as the bottom rung of society and not worth any serious thought. Antoinette Haughton, an attorney, when she decided to run for political seat, was dismissed by many because of her preference for talking to people in patwa. Of course, the woman can and does speak standard English.
Originally posted by CEW:
[qb] Originally posted by Compry:
CEW, I read in one of your responses that there were a couple special ladies in your life. Assuming none of those ladies is your mom; if one of your special ladies told you she has a couple special men in her live, would that affect your relationship/friendship? Also, what would be your opinion of her?
The assumption is wrong but I see what you are getting at. To answer your question, if it was not a committed relationship I could not take issue with her having "special men" in her life. There are a couple of females who have added immesurably richness to my life with their friendships and these are very special people to me. There may be a male friend or two who have added richness to their lives, and that is OK. In the context of friendships, it really doesn't matter and I would see no reason to think any differently of them than I do now. [/qb]
Thanks for answering.
This was a very difficult question for me to ask you but I had to.
The Holy Land Experience is a living, biblical history museum that takes you 7,000 miles away and 3,000 years back in time to the land of the Bible. From the moment you pass through the gates of the "walled city," you will be immersed in ancient Jerusalem. The structures and exhibits at The Holy Land Experience characterize the style, the architecture, and the settings that existed in the Holy Land 2,000 years ago. The Garden Tomb, the Qumran Dead Sea Caves, the Plaza of the Nations, the Temple of the Great King, the Jerusalem Model, and the Wilderness Tabernacle are intricately detailed, both inside and out, to provide you with a clearer understanding of their biblical significance.
You can get a lot more information on their website. Board rules prevents me from posting it here but you can simply type the name in any search engine to find it. Frankly, on a scale of 1-10, the place is an 11.
Thanks for the tid bit.
Very good question. I do struggle with this as I have never consciously wanted to be a Pastor. Involved in ministry/teaching, yes, but I have always resisted any talk from others who seem to think I am Pastoral material. Having said that, I am open to God's will for my life, and if being a Pastor is a part of it, I will embrace that, albeit reluctantly.
Now, I am wondering why the reluctance. Is it the responsibility?
Thanks for responding Pastor..er. ummm.. Mr CEW! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
1. CEW's Response ... I would then walk away and I would not tell him about it.
Thanks a lot. I would find it hard not to tell my brother.
2. Very Good!
3. Excellent answer
4. Ditto
5. This was a very tricky question...well thought out response.
6. "I witnessed an abuse taking place and did the right thing by reporting it to the authorities."
Very good of you to have done that. The typical response would be " I'm minding my own business"
At one point I wondered whether to ask the questions or not. In my ministry as well as in my day job I come across situations like these pretty often.
I know that there are others who will benefit from the responses.Thank you for your time.
May the peace of God which passes all understanding fill your heart and mind. You've done very well. May the Lord grant you the strength you need and the wisdom to respond to these questions. Some of they are really very, very tough.
Eight pages and not even half-way throug the month! I will take a break and return when it's time to do so
mi baxide sayka mi nuh deh roun lately all dem tings yah nearly miss mi.
Mi cyaan really think of a question rite yah now sayka mi si quite taken by di beautiful landscape pan CEW chess and mi a tek een mi muscula awms dem,
massa yuh know how mi bex seh computa nuh inta-active else mi woulda........... awoah [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Missa C good fi see yuh very good [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
now tell mi
1. What has been the most precious gift someoen ever gave u?
2. Why did u cherish it?
3. Of all the lessons you learnt in life which one had the most impact
I have Neva seen such perfeck responses!! mygadaheaven man, are u fa real??? Wow. anyhow ahm mek a ask u sum kwestian-- wat u do to have fun? is it allowed- caw u seem to be a very Godfearin man.
Is there a show that make u laugh, like crack up to no ends?
U said supm bout having a sense a huma outta dis world-- prove it!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
btw, if u already seh u had a slippage along the 'path', why u have a hard time fi admit u ney marrid? is that a sore spot?
so being a christian mean u have to be obstinate (sarry, freud ) abstinet-- how u manige dat? Cold showa, 3mile run, bible lesson? oonu prolly talk bout this dung a spirtuality areddy, but mi fraid a dat place like hell fiya. And the special lady u have-- oonu just have dinna an movie and then look rosemantically into each adda yeye an choops goodnite afta dat? She nuh get bex cause a u obstinence? meeda wring u neck caw u not a bad lookin fella enuh
If u get marrid an realize seh oonu just dont dweet for each adda-- in di bedroom (or on the tabletop or stairs )- wat u ooda do?
I must say that I do not get the opportunity to visit the board often but decided to do so this morning and came across this post.
We have never really had a dialogue in any of the posts but hope you do not mind if I ask a few questions... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
<ul type="square">[*]What is your day job/profession? Do you believe that the skills & experience you have acquired/are acquiring in that role have any relevance to the your role in Christendom? If so, what are those skills and experience?[*]Do you agree with the view that the incentive for men to commit to a relationship is significantly lessened and/or challenged when they are in leadership roles in church due to demographic factors (ie women outnumbering men), public exposure (ie being well known) and the fact that the male mentality can glean intimacy from multiple friendships with women? If you agree, please state why. If not, please state why.[*]Do you have a mentor? If so, what attributes do they bring to your relationship? What has been the most challenging thing your mentor has put to you? If you do not have a mentor, would you like one and who would you want to have as one and what personality traits would you like them to have?[*]If you had a friend who was a church leader and publicly successful but privately had struggles which countered their public role in a fundamental way, how would you deal with that situation?[*]Are the concepts of "freedom" and "committed relationship" mutually exclusive?[*]What is the funniest thing you have seen happen in church?[*]What do you believe are the challenges facing the church in the 21st century? In your opinion are those challenges the same in the Caribbean, North America and Europe? If not, what are the differences?[*]Can those who have never made major mistakes in their lives empathize, counsel and teach those who have? If your answer is yes, then why? If your answer is no, then why?[*]When you gave "the talk" to your children, what exactly did you say?[*]What are your views on the recent happenings in the Middle East? Do they correlate to end time prophecies in your view?[*]What is your definition of being backslidden?[*]How would you explain God's love to someone who has never heard about Christianity? How would you explain that same love to someone who has been hurt by Christians?[*]What is your favourite poem? Do you mind sharing your favourite line or verse from it (feel free fi share di whole ting)[*]Do you know the most precious dream(s) of your lady friend? And how far would you go to bring it to pass/to blow her away? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [*]How would you address the charge that Christianity is just for women/sissy men? Do you believe that the approach to witnessing & teaching men and women are diametrically opposed?[*]What is your favourite childhood memory?[*]Did you ever get beating as pickney? If so, what was the worst one and what did you do wrong?[*]How old were you when you had your first crush as well as when you fell in love? Were the ladies older or younger than you?[*]When was the last time you were really angry with someone? What did you do to calm down?[*]Who is your favourite Old Testament character? What do you love most about them? What do you admire least about them?[*]Can you dance?[*]When is the last time you cried? What made you cry?[/list]
DWL..hope yu noh tink mi ask yu too much qwestion! (what a lang sinting) [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] Goes without saying, skip whatever you do not wish to answer. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.