Re: remember when life used to be nice in Jamaica - part 2
***Clap Clap Clap*** Q you hit the nail right on the head. We weren't so wrapped up into consumerism nor competition. The stress and strain wasn't there to keep up with the Joneses. We simply lived life to the fullest with what we had, and appreciated everything around us no matter how simple....and oh yes, we remembered how to pray, something that held us together especially in times of hardships.
Originally posted by Q3210:
[qb] Nowadays pickney seem more depraved and rude because parents are all out working or hustling.
Days of old, at least one parent would always be at home, hence more supervision.
Emphasis is mostly in consumerism that favourite American dream. Americans do not have morning offerings and prayers that bring us all down back to a common level.
Today we tend to compete by buying things that we don`t really need, but just to show that we are keeping up with the Joneses.
We throw out the children with our bath water and what we reap is what we get in the behaviour patterns of people nowadays. [/qb]
[qb] Nowadays pickney seem more depraved and rude because parents are all out working or hustling.
Days of old, at least one parent would always be at home, hence more supervision.
Emphasis is mostly in consumerism that favourite American dream. Americans do not have morning offerings and prayers that bring us all down back to a common level.
Today we tend to compete by buying things that we don`t really need, but just to show that we are keeping up with the Joneses.
We throw out the children with our bath water and what we reap is what we get in the behaviour patterns of people nowadays. [/qb]
Mi father had it pon vinyl and mi memba hearing di whip cracking when CPM bawl out Mullllllle Traiiiiiin! DWL!