Re: Negril - A New Year and a new life...in Negril with some pictures!
Oops, I almost forgot this picture of Selina's daughter, Zoe. Kim and I can't figure out what, when, where she got hold of the Stripe! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
December 29, 2003
The next day, we returned to the cliffs to be there when the family arrived. We’d already learned that my oldest niece, Danielle (Dani to the fam) and her son, Khaliq had missed their flight from Laguardia which was supposed to link up with the rest of the family in Philly. She didn’t have a raised-seal birth certificate and had to take a train from NY down to sis’s home in NY to get it. Sis at the same time is en-route to Philly with my younger niece, Jennifer and Mom. Dani made arrangements to take a flight early the next morning, but it was cutting it close, since the wedding was scheduled to be completed before sunset.
Later in the afternoon, my son Duncan and his wife Avis arrived, also from Philly. On the same flight was Kim’s good friend, Kim2. Don’t forget, all of these folks booked last-minute, and got FIRST CLASS SEATS! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img]
Duncan and Avis fell in love with the place immediately. All Duncan wanted to do was sit on the cliff wall and stare at the sea and the surroundings. He had no idea all the activities Kim and I had planned. We were determined to recruit more members for the local Jamaicaholics Anonymous, Negrilaholics Chapter!
That night, we all went to Selina’s for dinner. What a great time we had together!
From the lower left, Mom, Duncan, Scottie, me, Jennifer, Judi, Denzel (partially hidden), and Avis.
Jen and my sister Judi at Selina's (Denzel and Avis at the rear)
In the photos at Selina's I don't feel you have a grasp of my mother. She is 86, born June 5, 1917, a child of the Great Depression, and by my description "can make the buffalo on the nickel scream for mercy". She did not want to return to Jamaica. She did not want to spend the $578 for the ticket. She fretted about how much the villa would cost and the cost of food while she was there. She did not want to spend the money... Then Kim told her, "You mean you're not going to be there for me to see me finally get married?" She booked her ticket the next day. This picture was taken when she was 79 years old.
My mother is a product of Jamaica. Her mother was from Devon in Manchester. She was last there when she was 4 years old. When Judi and I went to Jamaica for the first time in 1997, she drew us a map of where the homes that she remembered, and we found every last one! Sharp of mind and spirit, one day this December she told me "we should pool our money and buy a house here". Ya gotta love her.
Queen B what a beautiful MOM!
Its amazing when the family is together for a happy occasion like that.
I'm loving each and every addition to the story. :love:
Originally posted by grandma2:
[qb] hey queenb, yu sure yu a mi nuh relative DWL mi mada an your's look so much alike, mine born 1917 to (she died) an come from Manchester.
ask yu mom if she memba de Bateman's [/qb]
G2, I swear to you that my grandmother's maiden name was Laura Lillian Bateman!!! Her father's name was John Bateman. He and his wife Alice had a bunch of girls, but only 1 son, Walter. Wouldn't it be something if we were related?
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.