Re: Negril - A New Year and a new life...in Negril with some pictures!
Queen
I can see your Mom all in Judi. That is amazing. She just screams grace,poise, and class. I told you when I heard you were taking her home that I was so excited for her to touch Ja again. I see it did the trick.
Now when we build this house, I am willing to pay the construction costs for my room and bath. I'm a good cook, you will love having me around.
So the fruit ladies name is Jem huh? Man she got mad at us last trip because we didn't want annna froooooooooot. No worries, we will fix her up next time.
If that girl doesn't look cute with that Red Stripe bottle!!!!
Ok come on with some more, and I have a feeling you and Gramdma 2 are related. Ok if we establish a family connection here, can we have board braggin rights?
Awww Queen...I'm so happy for you and your family. Everyone is glowing in the pictures and your daughter Kim is glowing and looks absolutely blissful with her man.
Thank you for sharing this with us! It's giving much warmth to this cold weather we are having here in Jersey....10F..OUCH!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
(((queenb))) glad i came back to see the added photos.....
thanks for sharing your joy with us... for many of us who know you personally and for those who have only known you here...you know how warmly we feel for you.... and by that extended to your family and loved ones.... so we are so happy for you...wishing you all peace.. and love.. and health...
Originally posted by queenb:
[qb]
Originally posted by grandma2:
[qb] hey queenb, yu sure yu a mi nuh relative DWL mi mada an your's look so much alike, mine born 1917 to (she died) an come from Manchester.
ask yu mom if she memba de Bateman's [/qb]
G2, I swear to you that my grandmother's maiden name was Laura Lillian Bateman!!! Her father's name was John Bateman. He and his wife Alice had a bunch of girls, but only 1 son, Walter. Wouldn't it be something if we were related? [/qb]
that WOULD be something, wouldn't it queenb...hope G2 come back soon wid more details...(me is very fass,yes, but i love when ppl discover family).
I'm wishing your daughter and new hubby all the very best for a happy future. can't wait to read the rest of your report...
December 30—Wedding Day
I’ve decided that we are a strange bunch. We all meet at Coconuts International for breakfast. All of us are ready to go swimming. No one is stressed in the least. Duncan is in love with the sea, just as I knew he would be. He’s a real water baby, like me Kim and me. When I was 25, my ex and I bought a house that had a built-in pool. Kim was 4 and Duncan 19 months old. Kim learned to swim in a week. It helped that she was able to stand in the shallow end and grip the edge of the pool to gain confidence. Duncan had no such luck; the water was over 3 feet deep, way over his head. I had some floats that strapped on his back to keep him afloat, and in he went. His over-abundant testosterone made him brave and brash. Within the first month he refused to wear the floats. This was in the late 60’s, before the swimmer Pampers, so I would strip him naked and throw him in. He always had very large feet that served as flippers, propelling him through the water. He and his sister would dive to the bottom retrieving quarters that I would throw in for them. One by one I taught all of them to swim, including my Mom, who learned to swim when she was in her 50’s.
Jen was the only one out of the loop. She was the baby of the bunch, 5 years younger than Dani; and by the time she was the age to learn, our lives had changed and swimming lessons were fewer and farther between. She can swim, but lacks the confidence that the others share. Even Jen loved the water; even more she loved marinating on the beach. Everywhere she went the guys watched her—she has the body of her father’s family, not an ounce of fat on her. (weh di jellusy icon?)
Judi splits early to go to MoBay with Denzel to pick up Dani and Khaliq, who are due in at 11. They are to go directly to the West End to prepare for the wedding.
Finally the rest of us decide it’s time to head out for the wedding. Kim moves to the cliffs to dress, so Scottie can’t see the gown or her in it. Scottie and I get bathed and dressed at our rooms at Miss Mary’s, and wind up dressed and ready at about the same time. Denzel has returned from MoBay, and he comes to collect us. We go to the house, and NO ONE HAS STARTED TO GET DRESSED!! I start everyone scrambling around, rousting them into the showers and into their clothes. Instead of getting dressed, the whole crew has been chilling out. Jen and Kim were decorating the yard with bell garlands and flowers in the trees. To make things worse, I discover that I had forgotten the flowers. They have been in my fridge since yesterday, and I’d thought that Kim had taken them with her. Denzel and I speed down the road and are back in 10 minutes with the bride’s bouquet and the other flowers. Little by little the others finish getting dressed.
Duncan
My sister, Judi:
Then it was the brides turn. As they began to unbutton the dress, one of the 27 covered buttons comes off, so Dani, ever the fashion professional, went to work fixing it.
Girl if Duncan doesn't look just like you!!!!
Ahhhhhhhhh finally THE DRESS, and what a little aqua sea nymph we were.
Lovely Kim, and so unlike anyone else's wedding!!Personal, just yours, with YOUR touches.
I notice as I read about weddings in Jamaica that they lack the stress and hustle and bustle of weddings here. Person after person talks about going to to beach before, having to practically be reminded of the ceremony time, just kind of "collecting", and doing it.
Marilyn you are right. In my wedding trip report that is EXACTLY what I did before my blessed hour. I layed out on the beach with my best buddy/matron of honor and just refelcted, prayed and calmly went along with the day.
Ooman yu sure know how fi keep us hangin [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] Keep writing please [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
Originally posted by PastLifeJamaican:
[qb] Queen! Mi see dem haf bare feet???...sigh beautiful [/qb]
Only the bride. Defiant thing that she is, when she told her grandmother she planned on being barefoot, her grandmother said that she "wasn't flying all the way to Jamaica to see a barefoot bride." Kim even bought a pair of sandals that matched the aqua of the bodice of her dress, then at the last moment shucked them off.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.