Re: Red Salts Drench...stories from the North Coast
These are some of the last pics we took....I rationalized them by thinkin' they were all sorts of artsy-fartsy..........but, in reality, it was just me hangin' on by my fingertips...
Dave.. I finally caught up....
your recant of nine mile was just as it was on our first visit..reflective, spiritual, deeply moving in all the same ways.. how you describe feeling and touching.. was the same for us.. I can see my then 14 yo laying on Bobs Bed...
I will tell you this.. that my second visit was totally different.. and it would take a lot for me to go there again... My son pleaded to go once again...and since we were headed the north coast we obliged....
what i would do.. is drive all around that area.. love the hills of st annes. and the road you were thinking of taking.. though Brownstown is one of my favorites.. because of the stone walls and the pastures....
leaving is always difficult... I have yet to go without discreetly wiping the tears running down my cheek....... it's best just to say see you later.. than goodbye...
So tell me where you play music in NY.. since you live so close by
There's the airport....
The plan right now is to walk directly to the terminal, check in, clear security, go to the gate, board the plane, fly....
We got off the bus and stopped for a cigarette...exchanged pleasantries with some airport workers....and then to the blasted terminal....check in....and then off to secur....
"Let's have another cigarette..."
a few more precious moments in Jamaica.....
We posed no threat at security, and walked right through...
I saw a sign to my right....
BAR / SMOKING LOUNGE
"Let's get a drink...."
a few more precious moments in Jamaica....
the gate wasn't open yet, but fortunately, a beach-themed bar was directly across from the gate...
"Let's get a drink...."
a few more precious moments in Jamaica....
"Continental flight blah-blah-boom-boom now boarding....."
We settled into our seats and prepared for takeoff....
As the plane roared down the runway, I stared out the window..watchin' Jamaica passing by at a high rate of speed.....
and then, Jamaica slowly sank away beneath us...
The last tear of this adventure rolled away...I turned to mi likkle Poohbear.....
" So when we come back I think we should..............."
those storm and night shots are absolutely stunning...i'm just speechless, DD, at their beauty.
may i ask what camera you use? not that i'm saying the beauty of those shots aren't due to your wonderful eye. but the photo quality still is very nice.
Oh well
At some point in time all trip reports come to this point, but I HATE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I just hate that parting part. Lord it just tears at my heart as if it were me. So with all of you I live that pain over and over again.
DD you are a good one because I CANNOT look out the plane window leaving after I board. I try to get an aisle seat which makes it easier. I can't stand those last glimpses of Jamaica.
I'm all over the windows after CUba coming in, but leaving, I can't take it.
Thank you so much for your trip report. Just thank you. What a sweetheart of a man you are.
you got any brothers???? Uncles????First cousins??????
Originally posted by DiamondDave:
[qb]
We settled into our seats and prepared for takeoff....
As the plane roared down the runway, I stared out the window..watchin' Jamaica passing by at a high rate of speed.....
and then, Jamaica slowly sank away beneath us...
The last tear of this adventure rolled away...
[/qb]
OH, now yu gone an done it ta mi. Mi okay thru yur whole report, but yu cyaan stands di last peak a mi beautiful island jus like mi widout di tears rollin. WHAAAAAA!!! Mi wanna go home!!!!
Darn !!! Dave finishing your report is almost as Bad as August 1, the day I had to say goodbye to my Beloved (Jamaica) this has been a Wonderful Gift you have givin us.
A REAL MAN is one who can share his inner feelings with his Woman and Friends. One who can Laugh when he is Happy and Cry when he is Sad.
Allowing us into your Heart as you did is somthing I have Grown to Admire about You.
You are Truly ONE COOL BROTHER I hope that You and Pooh grace us with your Presence next year at GFT. And Pooh as I said before I am so Happy tat your first Jamaican expeirience was so Enchanting.
I hope you both realize how Special you are.
Remember July 7 thru July 12, 2005.
Please continue to hang around because your POSITIVE [B
VIBE[/b] is TOTALLY APPECIATED by all of the Sisters of GirlFriend Tours. :love:
Originally posted by DiamondDave:
[qb]
"Please tell me the airport's closed......"
[/qb]
Dave, I'm late getting to your report, but wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed it. Fabulous pictures and your words really express your emotions and positive outlook. Thank you so much for sharing everything. I loved the relaxed way you went about seeing what was there to be seen, rather than planning your excursions.
I have only been to Jamaica once & that was to Negril, but I definitely "got it". Since I have not been to Nine Mile or the other places you have been, I can't really relate to the emotions you felt there. But I could really relate to the above thought! On my trip in January, one of the ladies I was with actually asked our bus driver how fast he could drive from Negril to the airport - I asked how slow he could go.
(don't worry, I'm going back with someone who will "get it" like I did - oh, look, it's the 18th, I'll be there in exactly 1 month )
Dave
You see this picture above with the caption "Tell me the airport's closed". Once upon a time, our Angie had closed out job #1 and God gave her great job #2. Now mind you, she hadn't been on it long enough to have much vacation time.....but when it was time for her to leave Jamaica, she e-mailed (coward), her boss and told her that there had been this massive uprising by the people over here and all roads to the airport were closed and they were advising people to stay in their hotels.
I almost died laughing. She extended by about 3 days, then we both went home.
Problem with this lie was, when you are on that same job and eagerly chatting away with your employees about your next upcoming trip to Jamaica, they are wondering why you even want to return to this volatile war-torn county.
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Marilyn
that's so funny [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Angie, ever the humanitarian, returning to Jamaica as a one woman peace-keeping force!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Thank you everyone...I really enjoyed sharing our story...
as far as Negril next July...well....I asked my Magic 8-Ball if I was gonna be able to go.....the 8-Ball said.."cho! get ya backside ovah deh!!!"
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.