Re: Portmore Boycott...
Is there an offset between the cost of wear and tear and gasoline vs. the cost of the toll on the causeway? Does it make economic sense to travel the mandela highway vs. the toll road? Just asking [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
[/ QUOTE ]\
No it does not make sense, with all the people on the boycott path, everybody a bun more gas, and wear down dem cyar. But sometimes yuh haffi suffah fi mek a point. Although the contract is already signed, so what can happen?
There is still a Court case.
BTW I don't support a boycott.
I would do as this letter writer suggested.
LETTER OF THE DAY - The real reason for Portmore toll
published: Saturday | July 15, 2006
THE EDITOR, Sir:
THE PORTMORE toll has been set at $60 (minimum) for a very good reason. Fundamentally, the road network which handles Portmore traffic has not changed. Marcus Garvey Drive and Spanish Town Road are still dual carriage ways. Hagley Park Road is still a two-way road above the intersection with Waltham Park Road. In fact, the new toll road is the same two lanes of traffic that the causeway was during rush hour.
What the establishment of the toll road has done is to worsen the existing situation. Two lanes of high speed traffic are now going to merge with an existing road network which has a speed limit of 50 km/hr. It was never going to work.
GRIDLOCK AT THE EXITS
Had the toll been set at a rate that allowed maximum use, including some of those persons who at present use the so-called alternative route, there would be gridlock at the exits during rush hour traffic. The toll is, therefore, meant to discourage maximum use of the road, so that it will appear to work. Those persons who use the toll road will find that their travel time to work has reduced considerably simply because there will be less traffic. They will be interviewed by the media and the JIS and their praises will be used to gauge the success of the project. I suggest that the effect would have been the same if the Government had imposed a toll on the causeway bridge.
What the residents of Portmore need to do is the exact opposite of a boycott. Dig into your pockets and turn up in your numbers at the toll plaza. The resulting crawl could well stretch from Marcus Garvey Drive to the bridge. The amount of time you waste will be the same as if you had used the alternative route via Mandela. The results, however, will be different. By creating gridlock on the toll road, you will demonstrate that the real purpose behind the toll was additional revenue for the Government and had nothing to do with your welfare.
Also, the Government will be forced to widen Marcus Garvey Drive and Hagley Park road or find some other way of improving traffic flow on either end of the toll road just to ease their embarrassment. These improvements can be funded by 'cost overrun' savings. They may even be forced to reduce the toll considerably, for what justification could exist for a toll if your travel times are the same as before?
Understand then, Portmorians, that the Govern-ment is depending on you to boycott the use of the toll road, for this is the only way it can work.
I am, etc.,
Capt. JOHN RICHARDS
Stony Hill
Is there an offset between the cost of wear and tear and gasoline vs. the cost of the toll on the causeway? Does it make economic sense to travel the mandela highway vs. the toll road? Just asking [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
[/ QUOTE ]\
No it does not make sense, with all the people on the boycott path, everybody a bun more gas, and wear down dem cyar. But sometimes yuh haffi suffah fi mek a point. Although the contract is already signed, so what can happen?
There is still a Court case.
BTW I don't support a boycott.
I would do as this letter writer suggested.
published: Saturday | July 15, 2006
THE EDITOR, Sir:
THE PORTMORE toll has been set at $60 (minimum) for a very good reason. Fundamentally, the road network which handles Portmore traffic has not changed. Marcus Garvey Drive and Spanish Town Road are still dual carriage ways. Hagley Park Road is still a two-way road above the intersection with Waltham Park Road. In fact, the new toll road is the same two lanes of traffic that the causeway was during rush hour.
What the establishment of the toll road has done is to worsen the existing situation. Two lanes of high speed traffic are now going to merge with an existing road network which has a speed limit of 50 km/hr. It was never going to work.
GRIDLOCK AT THE EXITS
Had the toll been set at a rate that allowed maximum use, including some of those persons who at present use the so-called alternative route, there would be gridlock at the exits during rush hour traffic. The toll is, therefore, meant to discourage maximum use of the road, so that it will appear to work. Those persons who use the toll road will find that their travel time to work has reduced considerably simply because there will be less traffic. They will be interviewed by the media and the JIS and their praises will be used to gauge the success of the project. I suggest that the effect would have been the same if the Government had imposed a toll on the causeway bridge.
What the residents of Portmore need to do is the exact opposite of a boycott. Dig into your pockets and turn up in your numbers at the toll plaza. The resulting crawl could well stretch from Marcus Garvey Drive to the bridge. The amount of time you waste will be the same as if you had used the alternative route via Mandela. The results, however, will be different. By creating gridlock on the toll road, you will demonstrate that the real purpose behind the toll was additional revenue for the Government and had nothing to do with your welfare.
Also, the Government will be forced to widen Marcus Garvey Drive and Hagley Park road or find some other way of improving traffic flow on either end of the toll road just to ease their embarrassment. These improvements can be funded by 'cost overrun' savings. They may even be forced to reduce the toll considerably, for what justification could exist for a toll if your travel times are the same as before?
Understand then, Portmorians, that the Govern-ment is depending on you to boycott the use of the toll road, for this is the only way it can work.
I am, etc.,
Capt. JOHN RICHARDS
Stony Hill