This is a sticky topic.
Re: Rental Car?
it is SO ugalee ... I think it turned cute ~
Mr. say's 'No Way!!'
truth be told - I have my heart set pon one of these ~
shoot - I can not insert it ... anyhoo ... it is one of the new Camero Convertibles ... nuff SWEET!!!
~~~
but - I can not see myself ever affording one of those any time soon.
so - I like to rent one on occasion ... and those ugly cruisers are all I have seen to rent in Jamaica ~
when I try to search a convertible to rent from Montego Bay - they say none available ... and the Yaris is the cheapest on offer - so I just go with that ... and it gets us around.
ok here is the best deals ......pay attention......chalis/toyota yaris economy 160 a wk jan to june,....dhana/toyo yaris 175 a wk 30 day advance,....eden/mitsibishi lancer economy 175 a wk......efay/toyo echo 159 a wk......all these are in mobay and you are picked up free and tranported to/from there offices from the airport for the paperwork sign in/out. automatic with air all i think. search the name of the co. example: "eden + car rental" in any search engine to get the sites. it is a great way to bravely see jamaica . p.s. the american credit cards denoted "world card" or "business card" still cover the cdw (collision damage waiver) in jamaica. hope you find this all useful. p.s.s. i like the smaller cars( with trunks for de luggage) driving in jamaica because you can squeeze thru jams and the shorter wheelbase makes it easier in those quasi 4wd situations.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Bandanna</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Those of you who have been brave enough to rent a car in JA... rope in!
Where did you rent it from? <span style="font-weight: bold">Efay</span>
Good experiences? <span style="font-weight: bold">mostly good</span>Bad experiences?<span style="font-weight: bold">stopped in a check stop by the police and didn't have registration. Had to go to police stn and have Efay fax it to them.</span>
Any place you would recommend?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Originally Posted By: Laurel
too right ... be careful whom you pick up ...
we picked up a 'face familiar (to Mr.)' "Police Officer" that called out to my Mr. as we were leaving the airport ~ chatted up Mr. with all sorts of familiar chat ... asked for a ride - got into the back seat and robbed us - $$$$$
One time our guard was down ...
That is terrible.
I have told you our story about the guy in St. Mary and the bathroom bag haven't I?
hey liz, i haven't heard that story, please tell . . .
Jitter...heading up to a private house we were staying at in the Port Maria area several years ago, arrived after dark due to getting a flat earlier and repairing it, looking for the driveway on a very rough road (pavement wise) and not seeing it.
A passerby offered to help and hopped in the back seat, not really what we wanted but there it was, we'd left the back door unlocked. He seemed helpful but kind of pushy, obviously. We found the right gate just a few feet up...guy hopped out, said goodbye, and then ran off down the street with a bag...turned out to be our "bathroom bag" - shampoo, hairbrush, toothpaste, that kind of stuff. As he ran my husband chased him down the street and things were falling out of the bag as he ran, it had been open. The next day most everything was picked up on the road by neighbors and returned to us by Libby who was living in the area at the time. (Except some tampons which wound up being the source of a joke played on someone else...one so funny it kind of made the whole thing worth it but I can't put it here, sorry!).
Also the story had gotten much better overnight, by the time Libby heard about it the next morning there were 4 guys and a machete
PS: I rented an Island Cruiser a couple of trips ago and really liked it. We had a convertible and my only complaint was that the top took a couple of minutes to put on (snaps), so if you didn't time it right you'd get a bit wet. But we took it form Negril to Manchester and off road a bit, even, and it handled well and drove fine.
it is a bit of an attention-getter outside Negril, though....if you're not keen on being stared at, don't rent it. It may be the only Jamaican-made car, but it seemed few people outside negril were aware of it.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ohliz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">PS: I rented an Island Cruiser a couple of trips ago and really liked it. We had a convertible and my only complaint was that the top took a couple of minutes to put on (snaps), so if you didn't time it right you'd get a bit wet. But we took it form Negril to Manchester and off road a bit, even, and it handled well and drove fine.
it is a bit of an attention-getter outside Negril, though....if you're not keen on being stared at, don't rent it. It may be the only Jamaican-made car, but it seemed few people outside negril were aware of it. </div></div>
I rented one of those once as well. I agree, too much attention for me! I drove the heck out of it though. I think I hit every pothole between Negril, TB & Ochi and it kept on going.
Budget Rent a Car
<span style="text-decoration: underline">A word of caution if you're booking with Budget in Jamaica..</span>
I always use Island Car Rental in Jamaica, but because of Champs/Easter Holiday there were fully booked and couldn't get me a vehicle.
I made a reservation with Budget in the morning throught their website, for a pickup in Montego Bay that night, and a drop off in Kingston.
When I arrived at Sangster Airport I was informed that I do not have a reservation. (This has happened to me before with Budget in Sri Lanka) However they did have one last car available and I was able to rent it.
However another couple that walked up a few minutes later, also with a budget.com reservation wasn't as lucky. Despite showing his printed confirmation, the lady at Budget told him that he can't get a vehicle and even went as far as telling him to "take a bus"
I also had a problem extending the rental beyond the original date, and dropping the car before the office opens at 8am. All of this is never a problem at Island Car Rental. Budget also charged me $50 extra for dropping off in Kingston.
Their customer service both in person and on the phone is terrible. I would advise against using Budget in Jamaica, and if you do, call them to confirm your reservation, since their online system is useless.
Re: Budget Rent a Car
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I was informed that I do not have a reservation</div></div>
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/dSZYsyrP3Co"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/dSZYsyrP3Co" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>