Re: Champagne Toasts in Sweet Negril!

As I neared him he gives me the biggest smile. Made me smile back. His eyes were twinkling. The closer I got, the smile pon his face began to fade. “Morning.” I say with a nod, still smiling.
“You noh….oh my” He pauses then turns to his riding companion. She leans forward to get a good look at my face.
Her small face is hidden under the brim of a medium size straw hat trimmed with tiny, assorted flowers. I can see her eyes.
“Oh, I sorry miss. Me did think you me cousin, Colletta. You Colletta?”
“No sir, my name is not Colletta.”
“You favor her so. Me and wife see you walk pon the road and me say, dat Colletta.”
“But me tell him you not his cousin.”
“Buh she favor her so.”
“Yes…yes.” His wife leans in closer. “dis gyal fat like Colletta, but her face pretty.”
“Thank you.”
“Yes, you fat like me cousin. You bright like her. Dat why me did tink you har. She come from farrin and stay in Negril. We have ah new cell phone and new numba, but she noh get it before she come home. Me juss knoa she stay in Negril.”
“Sorry fe take up you time.”
“No problem at all. I hope you find her soon.”
Oh my, their smiles were grand. Their smiles were warm and loving. Such a sight for me to see on my day before departure. I didn’t want them to leave. Out of reflex, I put both hands on the window edge almost in an attempt to keep them from driving off. I tried to think of something to say, but all I could do is stand there, clutching the car door and smile hoping they would say something else. Talk to me some more.
“De man driving not too good dese days, Miss. Better step way or you lose a foot.”
“Sorry fe boddah you. Enjoy your day.”
“No bother at all. Enjoy your day as well.” I had to let go. I had to let them go.
Sometime during those moments…Negril woke up. Time for me to get off the road side and hit the beach. I’m starving. Already, I miss those two and that little beat up truck.
Dear Heavenly Father, please watch over them closely.

As I neared him he gives me the biggest smile. Made me smile back. His eyes were twinkling. The closer I got, the smile pon his face began to fade. “Morning.” I say with a nod, still smiling.
“You noh….oh my” He pauses then turns to his riding companion. She leans forward to get a good look at my face.
Her small face is hidden under the brim of a medium size straw hat trimmed with tiny, assorted flowers. I can see her eyes.
“Oh, I sorry miss. Me did think you me cousin, Colletta. You Colletta?”
“No sir, my name is not Colletta.”
“You favor her so. Me and wife see you walk pon the road and me say, dat Colletta.”
“But me tell him you not his cousin.”
“Buh she favor her so.”
“Yes…yes.” His wife leans in closer. “dis gyal fat like Colletta, but her face pretty.”
“Thank you.”
“Yes, you fat like me cousin. You bright like her. Dat why me did tink you har. She come from farrin and stay in Negril. We have ah new cell phone and new numba, but she noh get it before she come home. Me juss knoa she stay in Negril.”
“Sorry fe take up you time.”
“No problem at all. I hope you find her soon.”
Oh my, their smiles were grand. Their smiles were warm and loving. Such a sight for me to see on my day before departure. I didn’t want them to leave. Out of reflex, I put both hands on the window edge almost in an attempt to keep them from driving off. I tried to think of something to say, but all I could do is stand there, clutching the car door and smile hoping they would say something else. Talk to me some more.
“De man driving not too good dese days, Miss. Better step way or you lose a foot.”
“Sorry fe boddah you. Enjoy your day.”
“No bother at all. Enjoy your day as well.” I had to let go. I had to let them go.
Sometime during those moments…Negril woke up. Time for me to get off the road side and hit the beach. I’m starving. Already, I miss those two and that little beat up truck.
Dear Heavenly Father, please watch over them closely.

, you know how I get when it comes to the Caribbean…I get all sentimental and stuff.