Originally posted by Tropicana
(Breaking News) chikungunya virus is widely in Jamaica
Don't speak to what you don't know. The investors collect the money earned in the tourism sector and the Jamaican workers for the most part get likkle a nothing is a facade that the average Jamaican benefits. And don't get me wrong I am not anti-tourism but I don't hold it in high regard in terms of benefit to my people and country.
USVI, whose economy is totally dependent on tourism, is not taking any chances. http://www.healthvi.org/
Also the US CDC has warnings to travelers to the Caribbean. http://wwwnc.cdc.gov/travel/notices/...unya-caribbean
You asked who used the word epidemic RichD.....seeit deh:
Baugh: Chikungunya now a full blown epidemic
Friday, September 26, 2014
OPPOSITION Spokes-man on Health Dr Kenneth Baugh says that there is now a "full-blown chikungunya epidemic" in Jamaica, as in the rest of the Caribbean.
However, he said that Jamaica's health sector's capacity to deal with the breakout of the disease has been badly impaired by its current economic policy, as well as the poor response to the crisis from the Ministry of Health.
Speaking at a Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) press conference on health and the economy, at its Belmont Road headquarters in Kingston, yesterday, Dr Baugh said that the social consequences of the severe austerity programme appears to have compromised the Ministry of Health's ability to respond meaningfully to the emergency.
"We always have to make provisions (for this) because, from time to time, especially at this time of the year, there always can be crises," Dr Baugh said.
He said that the resulting immobility of public health staff, uncollected garbage facilitating additional breeding sites for mosquitoes and the lack of surveillance activities have made the epidemic less controllable.
Opposition Spokesman on Finance and Planning Audley Shaw, at the same time, said that the situation has seriously worsened because the $7-billion debt arrears that the Ministry of Health has built up was affecting its ability to stock its drug windows at hospitals with the appropriate drugs.
According to Dr Baugh, all the doubts raised by the Government in response to the Opposition's complaints about the uncontrolled spread of chikungunya in Jamaica have now been erased. He accused the Government of being arrogant and out of touch with reality on the ground.
"The Ministry of Health has been delinquent in its response, and this may be due to the low incidence of fatalities. They have been intransigient and they have not responded very well," Baugh said.
"I have not heard anything to give me the confidence that surveillance is taking place as it should, in terms of the mosquito-breeding sites and the kinds of mosquitoes that are there," Baugh stated.
He lamented that there were no daily or weekly reports, and no response to his queries about the level of the mosquito resistance to fogging and other control measures being used.
He said that the Government should intensify its mosquito-control efforts, and secure its borders, ports and airports against the importation of the disease.
"It should be a regional effort, with a regional surveillance programme to look at the pattern of diseases," the Opposition spokesman suggested.
Don't you even think of telling me what I don't know.Originally posted by twiney View PostDon't speak to what you don't know. The investors collect the money earned in the tourism sector and the Jamaican workers for the most part get likkle a nothing is a facade that the average Jamaican benefits. And don't get me wrong I am not anti-tourism but I don't hold it in high regard in terms of benefit to my people and country.
Renk, outah ordah facety like...
This is a clear case of "Play with puppy, puppy lick you mout'
I am not going to review my credentials for the likes of you but trust me I know about the industry from the POV of the tourist boards, the hotels, and industry suppliers and the impact on the many workers are dependent on it for their livelihood. I have seen firsthand what happens to families when the industry is hit and trust me it noh pretty.
Doesn't mean I don't have concerns and serious philosophical issues with the industry but like it or not, it is one of Jamaica's major revenue earners.
The Jamaican economy is heavily dependent on services, which accounts for nearly 80% of GDP. The country continues to derive most of its foreign exchange from tourism, remittances, and bauxite/alumina. Remittances and tourism each account for 30% of GDP, while bauxite/alumina exports make up roughly 5% of GDP.Tourism-related jobs in the Jamaican economy have increased by 3,000 over the past three years, with another 21,648 potentially on the way through 2013, according to the Ministry of Tourism.
Jobs in the accommodation sector have risen from 33,598 in 2006 to 37,018 in 2010, with overall employment in the sector at around 90,000, Tourism Minister Ed Bartlett said.
“When you really examine it, tourism impacts 10 percent of the population in terms of employment,” Bartlett said. “That represents 30 percent of the workforce.”Last edited by Tropicana; 10-02-2014, 04:36 PM.
You dont know what I understand or dont understand and said as such and then I respond to it you make it about you... funny eh... you think you know everything and everything is about you... this thread is such a testament of the attitude you display around here and then you wonder why ppl dont dialogue with you. But I don't need to pull articles online to support a claim when yes the industry brings in the money but the ppl on the ground not benefiting from it but I dont know anybody working in the industry or ever lived in a tourism town...Originally posted by Tropicana View PostDon't you even think of telling me what I don't know.
Renk, outah ordah facety like...
This is a clear case of "Play with puppy, puppy lick you mout'
I am not going to review my credentials for the likes of you but trust me I know about the industry from the POV of the tourist boards, the hotels, and industry suppliers and the impact on the many workers are dependent on it for their livelihood. I have seen firsthand what happens to families when the industry is hit and trust me it noh pretty.
Doesn't mean I don't have concerns and serious philosophical issues with the industry but like it or not, it is one of Jamaica's major revenue earners.
...and this is the result of self-diagnoses and mass hysteria....
From de Gleanah:
CHIK-V NONSENSE
Many, including highly educated Jamaicans, are swearing on their aching joints that they were not bitten by any mosquitoes yet they have been stricken by the illness."I believe that it is an airborne virus, which is easily contracted. I have long since dismissed the thought that it is caused by mosquitoes. Do these mosquitoes take bus or taxis to other parishes?"
declared Portland resident Annmarie Bennett.

"It's not mosquitoes spreading it because look how long mosquitoes deh round and this is the first case of mosquito giving chik-V.
I don't believe that," an adamant Bobbette Parchment declared in downtown Kingston as she pointed to the rashes which she has developed in the past few days.
"I don't believe that the mosquito caused it. I don't know what cause it,
but I know that even before the outbreak, I keep my doors locked and the place sprayed regularly. I don't see how mosquitoes could bite me," said supermarket employee Derron Johnson.
LINKED TO PLANE CRASH?
Some persons were even adamant that the outbreak is linked to the plane carrying businessman Laurence Glazer and his wife Jane, which crashed off the coast of Port Antonio earlier this month.

With entire communities becoming afflicted with the virus, sporting events being disrupted, and more and more persons rushing for medical treatment, these theories are gaining traction despite the local and international literature which rubbish these claims.
"There is no question that this is a mosquito-borne disease," declared Dr Horace Chang, who has spent several years as a public health specialist.
The opposition member of parliament argued that the panic being displayed by Jamaicans is a direct result of how the Government has handled the outbreak, even as he declared that there was no trickery in the claim about the source. [/QUOTE]"There is some doubt in people's minds because the minister of health never came out immediately and addressed the vector-control issue. What Jamaicans must do is to ensure that they protect themselves and get rid of the areas where the mosquito can breed around the house because there is absolutely no doubt that this is being spread by the mosquitoes," added Chang.
NOT VECTOR-TRANSMITTEDPresident of the Medical Association of Jamaica (MAJ), Dr Shane Alexis, also scoffed at suggestions that chik-V is not vector-transmitted.
"That's completely incorrect. It is transmitted by the infected mosquitoes," Alexis said last Friday.
In a bulletin last week, the MAJ provided basic information on the disease, its transmission, signs and symptoms, and the gestation period.
Alexis was further supported by medical practitioner Dr Dayton Campbell. The government member of parliament noted that the disease has been around since the 1950s and all evidence have pointed to vector transmission.
"Those who share the belief that it is not mosquito-transmitted obviously believe that it is contagious. But you can't catch it from another person, you have to be bitten by the infected mosquito," said Campbell.
According to Campbell, while there is significant under-reporting of the number of persons affected because the disease appears to be widespread in some sections of the country, there is no doubt about the cause.
In the meantime, Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) caretaker in St Thomas Eastern, Delano Seiveright, said with residents of several communities in the constituency stricken with signs of the illness, more than 60 per cent of the people do not believe it is being spread by mosquitoes but is airborne.

chick v.jpg"Of course, I don't believe that, and I go with what our medical personnel say. But when I tell them, they swear they have not been bitten by any mosquitoes," said Seiveright.
The World Health Organization has noted that so far, there is no evidence to indicate a person-to-person transmission of the disease.
Lots more: http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20140928/lead/lead1.htmlLast edited by Tropicana; 10-02-2014, 05:26 PM.
A prominent Jamaican doctor has said that Dengue fever is far more serious than Chickungunya, stating that if he had a choice he would opt to catch Chickungunya.Dr Winston Dawes, a medical doctor, said hysteria is partly responsible for the way in which the virus is perceived.
He said that given the level of panic ,the Ministry of Health should consider a serious national education programme to inform Jamaicans about the virus.
“Because of the hype and panic, for the next few years everybody is going to have Chickungunya. Nobody is going to have Dengue anymore,” Dawes said.
The public health professional said that Dengue is more likely to cause death than Chickungunya, a virus spread by the Adès egepti mosquito, the same mosquito which spread yellow fever.
He said dengue can result in death if the platelets count or the affected individual is low, a condition which may result in haemorrhagic dengue fever.
Fi real.
This is a useless comment:
However, in the latest report by the Pan American Health Organization, at least 113 people have died in the Caribbean region, after becoming infected with the Chikungunya virus. The organisation noted, however, that it was not yet clear if these deaths were directly attributable to the virus.
Why are Jamaicans calling it chick V.
Smart and good looking.
JMDA President challenges political parities to use machinery to fight Chick V
25 am, Tue September 30, 2014
President of the Jamaica Medical Doctors Association, JMDA, Dr. Alfred Dawes, has made a proposal which he believes would be the cheapest and most effective way to comprehensively deal with the outbreak of the Chikungunya virus in Jamaica.
He is recommending that the People's National Party and the Jamaica Labour Party use their machinery to mobilise communities to get rid of mosquito breeding sites. In his opinion, this is the most practical solution based on the Government's limited resources in dealing with the virus. Dr Dawes says the parties have at their disposal individuals who can reach every door in Jamaica.
Meanwhile, Dr Dawes says despite the rapid rise in the number of suspected Chick V cases, Jamaica is not at the alarming level as some of its Caribbean neighbours. He says it's not too late to stem the spread of the mosquito-borne virus.
And Dr Dawes says there is another prevalent illness that could also be presenting symptoms similar to Dengue Fever and Chikungunya. He believes that a strain of the flu virus may be adding to the illnesses that persons are experiencing
And a little over 9,000 new cases of chikungunya have been reported in the region over the past week. According to the Pan American Health Organisation, PAHO, this has pushed the number of cases to 747,721.
Colombia reported the largest increase, with 3, 347 new cases, followed by Martinique with 2,390; Puerto Rico 1,166; and Guadeloupe, 880. The Dominican Republic, which has led in outbreak cases, did not report any new data. The country has accounted for 486,390 chikungunya infections, or almost two thirds of all cases in the outbreak.
so this si the statement yuh was talking bout when yuh was a parse words up so?Originally posted by Tropicana View PostYou asked who used the word epidemic RichD.....seeit deh:
http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...demic_17615883
chick -V short for chickungunya virusOriginally posted by Tropicana View PostWhy are Jamaicans calling it chick V.
Smart and good looking.
so you sey other doctors not supposed to diagnose widout examination yet you happy wid Dr Dawes Diagnosis?When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
is probably some odda illness...maybe the flu Dr Dawes was talking bout......
dem sey the illness not fatal but it might be fatal to at risk groups like this young man.
A 14-year-old St Jago High School student died at the Spanish Town Hospital on Wednesday from what his father said were complications triggered by the chikungunya virus.
The death of Azee Baker plunged the school community into gloom yesterday and raised more concern about the wait period at the hospital, as the Jamaica Observer was told that pleas for help by the boy's father, Abraham Baker, were ignored for some time until the boy collapsed.
"His father was calling out for help but nobody came to help," a hospital employee told the Observer last night. "Is after the boy collapsed that they came to help him. By then it was too late."
Abraham Baker said his son started exhibiting signs of illness on Wednesday, September 24, but managed to go to school up to Friday, September 26.
On Monday, September 29, he took Azee, his only child, to the hospital where he was seen and released with a prescription for Panadol. However, on Wednesday, October 1, the father had to take his son back to the hospital.
"Him say to mi, 'Daddy, mi cyaan breathe', and mi bring him back to the hospital," Baker said. "The last thing he said to me was 'Daddy, mi waah vomit', and him vomit and then he said 'Daddy, mi a run outa breath'."
"Mi deh right behind the screen a hol' him foot and dem pump breath inna him and him nuh come back," the grieving father said, breaking down into tears.
Baker told the Observer that, in addition to the diagnosis of the chikungunya virus, they also found out that young Azee had a heart problem only a day before his passing and that could have been a contributing factor.
Yesterday, St Jago Principal Sandra Swyer-Watson told the Observer that the school was in mourning and that the Ministry of Education sent a counsellor, Sonia Benjamin, to assist students.
Azee's grade nine form teacher, Charmaine Hunter, said she only learnt of the boy's death when she went to class yesterday morning and saw all the students crying.
"The students were devastated; it was as if the whole world crumbled. It was heart-rending," Hunter said.
She described him as a "model student" who was always positive and who constantly encouraged and motivated his peers. She also said he was "a student any teacher would want to teach, and a son any mother would want to have".
"Azee was always eating. He loved chicken and chips, and he was always licking his fingers. And whenever I told him not to lick his fingers he would tell me the gravy is the sweetest part of the chicken," Hunter said.
Azee's death came hours after that of Jason Forbes at the same hospital.
Forbes, who was taken to the facility Tuesday evening after complaining of stomach pains, died on the floor there after awaiting medical attention for more than 13 hours.
Forbes' sister had complained that her brother's pleas for help were ignored by hospital staff.Last edited by RichD; 10-03-2014, 09:25 AM.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
I am sure your Dad would not have made a diagnosis without examining the patient.Originally posted by RichD View Postchick -V short for chickungunya virus
so you sey other doctors not supposed to diagnose widout examination yet you happy wid Dr Dawes Diagnosis?
Where has he diagnosed without examination? Cut and paste it. He has stated a fact that there are 3 diseases "making the rounds at the moment". This is simply a statement of fact.
BTW, Dr. Dawes us
Wondah if he speaks without dropping his h's.
Originally posted by Tropicana View Post
Where has he diagnosed without examination? Cut and paste it. He has stated a fact that there are 3 diseases "making the rounds at the moment". This is simply a statement of fact.
He believes that a strain of the flu virus may be adding to the illnesses that persons are experiencing
what does he base this conclusion on?When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Did you notice the words "believes" and "may be"? Doesn't sound like a diagnosis to me.
Re: his accent:
http://www.jamaicans.com/forums/show...maican-Doctors
Oh gosh.