he used to have stations at Bull savanah and ballards valley i a remember getting to bull savanah at midnite and people still waiting to see him
for being a good doctor... what u aware that in the 70's there was a mass exodus of doctors... and ST E lost alot, there was no doctors for quite a few years to service the Malvern Clinic.. I recall when he started at Ballads Valley Bull sav and they were happy that they got the oppertunity to see a doctor...Malvern tried to get him i recall... (probably the difficulty of the drive!)..He was always rushed though there i can imagine was a lot of pressure on him... My mother saw him once or twice....I recall her arriving back after a long wait....
Having said that given the lack of doctors at the time any quck would have had a reputation !!!!!!!!
he would pick us up from school (late of course) and we would head on the road...downs ..comma pen ...marshalls pen ...ballards valley... bull savanah we would do our homework in the car ..sleep in the car arrive back in mandeville around 2-3 am .
Did not understand di connection between stations and doctor? And no, I hav never heard of dat name, and mi is 100% yaadi. Not everybaddi kno everybaddi ah JA.
he would pick us up from school (late of course) and we would head on the road...downs ..comma pen ...marshalls pen ...ballards valley... bull savanah we would do our homework in the car ..sleep in the car arrive back in mandeville around 2-3 am .
wasnt he sponsored at one point by Alpart....to bring a doctor to the community ????? Suh u did haffi guh up an dung spur tree rather alot!
Did not understand di connection between stations and doctor? And no, I hav nevewr heard of dat name, and mi is 100% yaadi. Not everybaddi kno everybaddi ah JA.
wasnt he sponsored at one point by Alpart....to bring a doctor to the community ????? Suh u did haffi guh up an dung spur tree rather alot!
i not sure about the alpart ting. i will have to ask my mother.
the st elizabeth route was 3 days a week if i remember correctly. sometimes we would go up watsons hill which was much shorter but the road was very bad.
i not sure about the alpart ting. i will have to ask my mother.
the st elizabeth route was 3 days a week if i remember correctly. sometimes we would go up watsons hill which was much shorter but the road was very bad.
u must have realise what a god send he was at the time... Y would he have done it had there been an alternative doctor available ????....and I thought two days late in the evening...u took me back there...for those wonderful times !
Did not understand di connection between stations and doctor?
we used to call them "out stations" .. most times it was just a room in somebodies house they allowed him to use. sometimes an old unused shot or a church building.
i i don't recall any of dem having electricity it was just tilly lamps or later on those fancy gas lamps .
he used to walk wid his own supply of some basic medicines..one mixture for gastro he used to mix up and some aspirin and some penicillin.
u must have realise what a god send he was at the time... Y would he have done it had there been an alternative doctor available ????....and I thought two days late in the evening...u took me back there...for those wonderful times !
he did it out of a sense of service to the community ( i think) ..him was a different kinda cat... it used to drive my mother crazy because sometimes him mek the rounds and nuh charge anybody for the evening
In the last year of his practice (he was 80 years old) he was still making house calls .
we used to call them "out stations" .. most times it was just a room in somebodies house they allowed him to use. sometimes an old unused shot or a church building.
i i don't recall any of dem having electricity it was just tilly lamps or later on those fancy gas lamps .
he used to walk wid his own supply of some basic medicines..one mixture for gastro he used to mix up and some aspirin and some penicillin.
given that there was alot of gonorrhea in St E at the time there was a need for the last! there was an increase in gonnorrhea....
(but this never happened! the 70's was a wonderful time....)
ever wondered y he had that run...given he was from another parish... At one time round then Black River hospital never had a dedicated doctor... And another doctor from Madiville had to come in a few days a week....
he did it out of a sense of service to the community ( i think) ..him was a different kinda cat... it used to drive my mother crazy because sometimes him mek the rounds and nuh charge anybody for the evening
In the last year of his practice (he was 80 years old) he was still making house calls .
Please Tell ur mother thank you for me...we did appreciate his presence and good works.. even the free service! (given ur father treated my mother without payment can u make a bill so I can pay ur mother on my mothers behalf ?)
ever wondered y he had that run...given he was from another parish... At one time round then Black River hospital never had a dedicated doctor... And another doctor from Madiville had to come in a few days a week....
never really thought about it.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.