Among the greatest scholars in American history stands Dr. W.E.B. DuBois. A towering figure, a brilliant scholar and a prolific writer, and Pan-Africanist. In 1890 he graduated cum laude from Harvard University and attended the University of Berlin in 1892. In 1896 DuBois became the first African-American to receive a Ph.D. from Harvard University. After teaching at Wilberforce University in Ohio and the University of Pennsylvania, he went on to establish the first department of sociology in the United States at Atlanta University.
sellout ar natt ?
dubois was a complex and great man...
sticking people with these one-word labels is somewhat juvenile...it's way more nuanced than that
well that is not my reason for opposing it...
if your history begins with slavery then it is no wonder why you would still mentally be a slave...
you are posting about all types of "black" people here, but the truth is the media and the public schools never do...they only discuss certain figures, & always post-slavery;
the result of black history month is more ghettoes and slums and unemployment, poverty, violence, ignorance, dysfunctional situations...
until black people see themselves as equal to any other people free to shape their own destinies, they will hang on to slave creations like "black history month"..
originally "negro history week" until the white man gerald ford gave you an official designation which he called "black history month"...
woo sed blakk peeps histaree began widd slaveree?
some say it...but "black history month" implies it
blakk peeps inn afrikka awlso enslaved so fe chatt bout afrikkan origin ann ignore da arab ann oyinbo enslavement aff afrikkan peeps iss flawed.
it's your argument that is flawed when you lump african "slavery" back then to chattel racial slavery...they are not the same thing...you cut and pasted a million things but don't know that??
itt like blakk peeps chattinn bout asian blakks woo doan see demselves as blakks ann ignorinn dat enslaved afrikkans were sold by arabs to asian countrees too. imagine dat sum enslaved afrikkans were sold by arabs to indian peeps durinn slaveree ann a latt aff dem dose desendants aff enslaved afrikkans deny dem blakk ann afrikkan roots cah dem waan fe deny dem histaree inn dose asian countrees began widd enslavement aff da afrikkans
you're all over the place...you are under the popular mental slavery which afflicts many "blacks"...you think that everywhere black people are on earth they got there as slaves...i guess you didn't know that many of the afrikans who went to ancient india went as military personnel as well...even had an afrikan ruler in india in recent antiquity...
iff moas blakk peeps kno dem histaree nuh begin widd slaveree y dem still enslaved?
exactly---they are enslaved because of the stuff they are taught during "black history month"...you don't even seem to have too great a grasp on "black" history based on what you wrote above--- this is the worst kind of propaganda enslaving the minds of our youth---ones like you telling them they only moved around the earth when someone captured them..
itt iss cah dem reallee doan studee dem histaree da way dem shood? da wurd slav wey da wurd slave originated fram nuh wan oyinbo sintinn? so iff da wurd slav iss oyinbo creation oww cum oyinbo nuh still inn mental slaveree or ar dem still inn mental slaveree too?
time to stop reasoning like a skitzo...it was "black" peeps who experienced the colossal holocaust of racial chattel slavery, not "whites"...so throwing in the origin or root of the word "slave" is absolutely meaningless to this point...
da realitee iss dat peeps aff awl races were awlso enslaved ann yess mii kno da diffarances between types aff enslavement
so then you were just being careless when you compared african slavery with trans-atlantic chattel slavery...
yes mii poasinn bout da typa blakk oyinbo media doan bigg upp butt dat blakk peeps responseebilitee ann wii shood natt depend pon oyinbo peeps fe do owa wukk fe uss. da realitee iss mii awlso dealinn widd aspect aff slaveree oyinbo media nuh acknowledge. look pon john horse ann da merikkan maroons woo reesisted slaveree fe more dan 100 ears, wat bout da largest slave revolt inn merikka ann oww iss dat enslaved blakk peeps cantinuallee resisted slaveree ann won. da joke iss dat dem teach blakks dat itt was oyinbo man woo ended slaveree fe developed inferioritee camplexx ann dependencee pon oyinbo.
actually i think "oyinbo" media has spent plenty of time on slavery...they did "django unchained"...now dem have "12 years a slave"...and yes lincoln is credited with "freeing" the enslaved afrikan because who else would get the credit? it is their country and they named you their enemy from the start...now you want to look surprised and beg them for a month to talk about you...and can't see how this is not something befitting a free people;
a free-minded people does not beg their enemy for recognition in their enemy's house...a free-minded people builds their own house and own recognition of things they consider worthy
awl dat fe sey itt oww blakk been taught bout slaveree dat y manee blakk still try fe deny da lingerinn trauma aff slaveree.
so far i have not seen any evidence that gerald ford's "black history month" has started any real-deal discussions on the history of slavey and it's effects on the present...unnu even have a "black" president and "black" caucus..."black" history...and still no real facts...whaapen??
itt like usinn oyinbo bible fe teach blakk dat mythical moses freed da slaves fram pharaoh woo was blakk ann natt ovatandinn
you are a great mis-educator and mis-leader in your own right...calling a work that originated in ancient afrika "oyinbo bible" is another one of your mental-slave tactics that keeps the mind of the youth in confusion...the moses allegory also inspired many blacks to resist the bondage of modern-day egypt/babylon...
da cantradiction aff oww religions iss a instrument use fe enslave inspite aff historikkal evedences dat disprove itt. blakk peeps need fe learn dat slaveree awlso prove dat nuh matter wat dem didd to enslave afrikkans blakk peeps cantinue fe struggle ann ovacum
you become a mental slave when you think you started out in slavery---period, full stop. and rome can not and will not educate your mind for liberation...so what is the sense of begging your enemy gerald ford to educate you?
look att wen sum blakk were freed fram oyinbo enslavement ann oww a latt aff dem former enslaved afrikkans prospered. imagine blakks woo were formerlee enslaved changed dem name to freeman, blackman, etc cah dem no langar wanted oyinbo fe define dem. sum aff dem tarted bizzs, buyinn land, etc fe develop dem own economic base cah dem neva waan fe wukk fe oyinbo. even widd da lingerinn trauma aff slaveree a latt aff dem former slaves were natt mentallee enslaved cah dem knew demselves ann were shapinn dem destiny.
yes you are trapped in the enslavement period...i choose to look at my entire story...i don't limit my story to whatever white media tells me is acceptable to celebrate...
i won't canonize a celebration for my people from something conceived by a white president as a tool of greater mental-enslavement...
just think that blacks 10 years after the civil war owned more than they do now...
and then tell me with a straight face that your enemy can educate you for liberation
yuh graspinn iff yuh blaminn blakk histaree month fe ghetto, slums, unemployment, poverty, violence, ignorance, dysfunctional situations.... yuh kno aftah slaveree oyinbo passed laws fe create dem tings. imagine passinn laws da blakk yuths cood natt inheritt de lands dem parents woo were farmerlee enslaved wukk ann bought even dough wan aspect wealth development iss inherrittance
yes back then they passed laws and sikked their criminal gangs on black ppl to keep them in line...it was in-your-face; they brazenly brutalized and pillaged...
now they don't need to do that so much, as the mental shenanigans has gotten way more sophisticated--- and yes i maintain "black history month" is one of those tools that aid in the mental captivity...gerald ford did a number on you...
da tings blakk peeps need fe relearn iss oww fe redefininn tings like blakk histaree month. blakk need fe use itt inna positive way ann ignore da negativitee.
yea i hear a lot of you guys also saying the same thing about the word n!66&r...bout how we took it and made it a positive-- yes they did; it positively identifies them as hard-core white-worshippers & mental slaves
it like blakks woo develop immunitee to poisons cah nyam likkle aff itt ann learn oww fe use da poison fe dem benefit. mii see sum blakks woo chatt bout afrikkan histaree month. doan figgit carter g woodson use fe bunn fiyah pon sum blakk ann afrikkan historee writers woo pushed diffarant pint aff view aff blakk historee awl de wile ignorinn dat oyinbo backed imm cah dem wanted fe limit da influence aff garvey
the mind of the slave will fight for 1/12th of the master's spoils (a month out of a year) but won't raise a finger at the prospect of 100% of his own (all 12 months)
stapp bout oyinbo gave blakk da affical designation aff blakk histaree month cah yuh knoo itt was sum blakk woo pushed imm fe do da
why would i stop?
some pikkinany begged their white master gerald ford to pleeeze massah give us a month where you let us chillins out in the front yaard massah
\
i don't know if "sellout" is the right term...i would call him more of an apologist and high-class coon
Just curious, but why do you think this? The man saved countless lives with his skills. Raised in poverty and became one of greatest physicians of all times at Johns Hopkins.
He was not peddling his wares. He did not sell himself.
He did not anoint himself a leader. He is/was an healer. He led by example. Others placed him in the limelight, and thought of him as an inspiration.
I did not know socialism had a color.
man wrote a book gifted hands ann yuh chattinn bout natt peddling imm ware
oyinbo placed imm inn da spotlite ann appointed inn a blakk misleader
so lonwolf iss da furst yuh ear bout afrikkan socialism dat predate oyinbo varsain aff socialism. guess yuh doan kno bout da indigenous natives socialism varsian eiddar. yuh even kno dat ben franklin used indigenous native republikkan system inn designinn merikka guv. juss sey addar kulchas ave dem own varsain aff ism dat predate oyinbo ting butt lookinn at ting troo oyinbo lens doan give da complete pitcha
dubois was a complex and great man...
sticking people with these one-word labels is somewhat juvenile...it's way more nuanced than that
garvey ting?
didd natt garvey cawl imm wurst
oww iss itt yuh qwestian carter g woodson motives fe blakk histaree month ann natt dubois motives fe naacp
dubois was da oyinbo man misleader woo putt blakk pon da wrang course. talented tenth= lite skin elitism, naacp = oyinbo created ting fe cantrol ann direct blakks
And i think if garvey was alivetoday he would have a aphorism in the order of::::
Ah Cut an pase man is an automoton......
actuallee mii more an exact man cah mii iss a great writer
deer was diss addar site dat mii use fe poas pon fore jam.com ann mii got fed upp ann neva poas pon itt again butt da addar day mii browse itt ann dem still discussinn tredd mii started. dat to mii show da powere aff automoton tings
no mii tink garvey wood be chattinn bout da blakk woo invented da computer ann oww im ann blakks neva profitt more awf dat
wahalla autimoton yess butt oww yuh nuh cum widd books fe reccommend
some say it...but "black history month" implies it
no itt does natt cah blakk predate slaveree. egyptian system aff color. wat mattar iss natt oyinbo implication butt oww wii define historee fe speak fe owaselves
itt like wen peeps pon yah tri fe sey afrikkan admonitions against homosexual started widd da bible ann mii chatt bout afrikkan kulchas ann book aff comming by day negative confession
For years the U.S. government allowed racist white lynch mobs to murder Black men, women and children for practically nothing. The lynchings were so
For years the U.S. government allowed racist white lynch mobs to murder Black men, women and children for practically nothing. The lynchings were so absurd one could argue that Black people’s lives were little to no value at all. In fact, between 1882 and 1930 in just the 10 southern U.S. states of Florida, Tennessee, Arkansas, Kentucky, North Carolina, Mississippi, Georgia, Louisiana, Alabama, and South Carolina, 2,500 black people were lynched. That is an average of nearly one hanging every week.
Below are 10 unbelievable reasons Black people were lynched in American history, according to Jana Evans Braziel, Assistant Professor at the University of Cincinnati. Some of them are so startling they are similar to the modern-day killings of Black children by white men, like in the recent cases of Trayvon Martin, wearing his hooded sweatshirt, Jordan Davis, playing loud music at a gas station, or Oscar Grant, simply hanging out at the train station on New Year’s Eve.
1. Acting or Looking Suspicious
Some Blacks were killed by mobs because they were accused of acting or looking suspicious around whites.
2. Demanding Respect
In several cases, Blacks were lynched because they demanded to be treated with respect.
3.Disorderly Conduct
Many Blacks were hung for being too loud in public or being deemed as disorderly.
4. Unpopularity
There are cases on record that lynch mobs hung some Blacks because they were unpopular in the community.
5. Vagrancy
Some Black people who were homeless and didn’t hold regular employment or made an income were lynched.
6. Injuring or Killing Livestock
In many cases Blacks were murdered for injuring or killing livestock. One could only assume that the animals’ lives were seen as more valuable.
7. Trying to Vote or Voting for the Wrong Party
Although Black men were allowed to vote in most states after 1870, many were killed when they were caught trying to participate. If they did vote and didn’t vote to others’ liking, mobs of white men would kill them.
8. Voodooism
Voodoo is a form of spirituality that came to America with Blacks from West Africa. Many Black men, women, and children were murdered when they were caught practicing voodoo.
9. Throwing Stones
Some black people were lynched for throwing stones. Skipping a rock across a lake could lead to death.
10. Gambling
Black people that were caught gambling during this time were lynched.
UMass Amherst is the largest public research university in New England distinguished by top-ranked academics, innovative research, and programs. Be Revolutionary.
no itt does natt cah blakk predate slaveree. egyptian system aff color. wat mattar iss natt oyinbo implication butt oww wii define historee fe speak fe owaselves
itt like wen peeps pon yah tri fe sey afrikkan admonitions against homosexual started widd da bible ann mii chatt bout afrikkan kulchas ann book aff comming by day negative confession
well most of anything that i see in the media or in schools about "black history month" usually revolves around slavery & post-slavery figures....
they NEVER talk about ancient egypt (kemet) or nubia; or anywhere else...they never even talk about haiti...what culture are you claiming when someone else controls the parameters of what is allowed to be discussed?
accidental? NO
they don't want you connected to your ancestry---they want you to remain a nee-grow whose history started under the ownership of the "white" man...
Just curious, but why do you think this? The man saved countless lives with his skills. Raised in poverty and became one of greatest physicians of all times at Johns Hopkins.
he is an honorable man...but a coon on certain racial subjects...like his opinion of the trayvon martin verdict ,,,not to mention his idiotic comment that obamacare is worse than the slavery black people suffered under
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.