Originally posted by Tropicana
black americans versus immigrants
Yanki hegemony the term Black Americans... Black Jamaicans, Bajan, Brazialians are Black americans,,, as well as black Yanki...
as for the praise poem to Jamaican immigrants..
i think this is the essences ofJamaican ness.... if u fail it is ur fault.... not the system... it is cruel it is direc but the onerous is on the individaul to do well inspite of the system that is how we were socialised.... this is the reason why in two weeks time alot of parents will be blaming their children who dont get placed in traditional schools... yanki rationalise their failure on rascism....“They didn’t want to hear any talk about, ‘because you are black,’ ” Dr. Tara Allen explains from the parents’ kitchen table, Mom and Dad watching warily. “They said that was a cop out. You’re going to have to go beyond the ordinary. You cannot be average.”
Originally posted by franksterr View PostI never said anything about shoving under rug or ignoring issues........educate both parties means to identify core issues and finding commonalities.
To reach an understanding in any situation, it is customary to start on common ground usually something positive...........You on the other hand is doling out blame and casing aspersions which would only inflame the situation.
No I am not about blaming and casting aspersions. I am stating the fact that there are issues and identifying the issues but people are arguing with me and saying that there is no issue so I am having to spend more time PROVING that there are issues.
If people would acknowledge that there has been some historical tensions between the 2 communities that have continued to this day and own our share of the responsibility for it as Jamaicans (and Caribbean people), we could move on to solutions. How can we focus on solutions when people are locked in denial an determined to shove things under the rug?
FYI, even on university campuses in the USA today the Caribbean and African students are STILL keeping themselves apart. This is adding to the tension and resentment.
tropi da report iss flawed cah deer iss less black affrikkan immigrantsOriginally posted by Tropicana View PostI guess this report is totally bogus:
Please take note of the statement about education on page 1 in the executive summary.
Unfortunately I can't copy from it but will re-type this phrase:
http://www.migrationpolicy.org/pubs/...nMigration.pdf
According to you every report is flawed.Originally posted by blugiant View Posttropi da report iss flawed cah deer iss less black affrikkan immigrants
No where does the report state that there are more African immigrants.
Please point me to the page and paragraph where you see that stated as clearly you are just making stuff up. I wonder if I look at this in IE if we can copy and paste.
yuh gittinn da gist aff da argument wat dem chattinn bout iss racism ann immigration discrimination ann oww dem manipulatinn blakk fe defend racist immigration agenda. peeps missinn da political argument bout oww dem racis immigration policies weaken blakk political power by keepinn da blakk population inn certain countrees low ann usinn addar immigrants to furdar marginalies blakks political representation.Originally posted by Emperah View PostCountries like Jamaica and others that have migrant workers come here have signed agreements with the KKKanada government that those who come here can NEVER become citizens.
This country is bringing in ppl from all over the place aside from the black countries. Very few blacks are let in lately. Not like when some of our parents came here in the 60's & 70's. Now dem tiyad fi si wi face.
jamaica ave a histaree aff usinn jamaicans cah dem waan de migrant wukker fe mekk money abroad ann cum bakk ann spent moas aff itt inn ja cah itt increase ja gnp. itt natt dat dem tiyad aff blakk face itt bout politicallee ann economikkallee nuetralizinn blakk political power
yuh seethOriginally posted by franksterr View PostOf course not......I already stated that one should educate then both but it obvious that people like you prefer to further the stupidity
[/COLOR]
Whats important is not who carries the lion share but bridging the gap and creating harmony....one way to achieve that is by show where and how we are working together.
immigration iss a wedge issue use fe create disharmonee ann weaken blakk unitee to prevent blakk fram awl ova da wurld fram recognizing dem common interest inn wukkinn together to end racism ann discrimination dat affect awl blakks.
blugiant. You are missing my point. Before we talk about DEM using immigration as a wedge, let's look at our role in the tension between the 2 communities. If we expect support for immigration from the African American community, member of our Caribbean community need to take their noses out of the air and stop acting like dem tink dem bettah dan African Americans. How can there be unity when such snooty attitudes persist?
willee lynch ting at wukk use diffarances fe create disunitee dem train dem fe blame addar blakks fe blame addar blakks fe da prablem. dat y blakks cyaan unite fe common interests like fiteinn racism ann policies dat raciallee discriminateOriginally posted by Tropicana View Postblugiant. You are missing my point. Before we talk about DEM using immigration as a wedge, let's look at our role in the tension between the 2 communities. If we expect support for immigration from the African American community, member of our Caribbean community need to take their noses out of the air and stop acting like dem tink dem bettah dan African Americans. How can there be unity when such snooty attitudes persist?
yuh doan tink farrenn oyinbo awlso tink dem bettar dan oyinbo amerikkans butt oww cum dat natt a wedge issue inn dem goal fe increase oyinbo politrixxkkal powa
I will say it again....how can there be unity when members of our own community persist in acting like dem tink dem bettah dan African Americans?
You have not addressed this point blugiant or even acknowledged that this is part of the problem.
You well know that some members of our community don't even want to admit they are Black.
Of course you are blaming here is your own words lest you have already forgotten "On this one the lion's share of the blame belongs with the Jamaicans and other Caribbean people"Originally posted by Tropicana View PostNo I am not about blaming and casting aspersions. I am stating the fact that there are issues and identifying the issues but people are arguing with me and saying that there is no issue so I am having to spend more time PROVING that there are issues.
I have not denied there are issues between locals and immigrants....hence the necessity for education of both groups not a rehashing of insults but a search for understanding.
You will not find time to focus on solution when you are using languages that inflames.If people would acknowledge that there has been some historical tensions between the 2 communities that have continued to this day and own our share of the responsibility for it as Jamaicans (and Caribbean people), we could move on to solutions. How can we focus on solutions when people are locked in denial an determined to shove things under the rug?
That's a generalization which maybe at the root of your problems.....that is obviously not true in all cases and I dare say in most cases.FYI, even on university campuses in the USA today the Caribbean and African students are STILL keeping themselves apart. This is adding to the tension and resentment.
That is NOT a generalization. I have gotten this straight from the horses' mouth...students on campuses all over the US as well as Black Student Offices'. I think they know a little bit more than you what is going on.
Language is not intended to inflame, it is intended to communicate the truth when people would prefer to ignore it.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostI will say it again....how can there be unity when members of our own community persist in acting like dem tink dem bettah dan African Americans?
You have not addressed this point blugiant or even acknowledged that this is part of the problem.
You well know that some members of our community don't even want to admit they are Black.
you're being untruthful here...
there is no great issue of "black" "west-indians" denying they are black;
you are obviously ignorant of afro-american history or you would know that black west-indians were intimately involved in all aspects of the american struggle for black justice; malcolm x's mother was grenadian...stokely carmichael/kwame toure was trinidadian...claude mcckay...marcus garvey...ja rogers...
and the regular common people living & working side by side...
you probably are searching for the negative why that's all you see
Can you name one black organization or immigrant organization on campus where in the local or immigrants do not cohabit, co exist, work and or play together?Originally posted by Tropicana View PostThat is NOT a generalization. I have gotten this straight from the horses' mouth...students on campuses all over the US as well as Black Student Offices'. I think they know a little bit more than you what is going on.
Lets not make a mountain out of a mole hill.
Of Course it is, what reaction do you think comments like the following would have.......Language is not intended to inflame, it is intended to communicate the truth when people would prefer to ignore it.
their noses out of join, did look down on Black Americans. Flippin snooty and stuck up, are not educated, can barely express themselves in standard English, snooty Jamaicans don't even consider themselves to be Black, snooty attitudes, Toronto murders drop after Jamaica-based gang crackdown
You not communicating the truth, you propagating the very things that have led to the present situation.......your perspective is jaundiced
From the looks of it you do not seem to know what the issues are?