Yes and "I could have freed thousands of slaves if they only knew they were slaves" </div></div>
The problem is that even today the majority do not realize that they (we) are still slaves.
as long as Africa is not free no decendant of Africa can guarantee their freedoms.
Re: ..Ontario Black "Focused" (only) Schools..
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: sagal</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I know many Jamaicans who think they are second or third class citizens.
Sorry I don't buy that!!! </div></div>
re-inforced by the fact that the queen of england is our official head of state
Yes and "I could have freed thousands of slaves if they only knew they were slaves" </div></div>
The problem is that even today the majority do not realize that they (we) are still slaves.
as long as Africa is not free no decendant of Africa can guarantee their freedoms. </div></div>
I don't see anything in here that could tek it that way.
The only thing i see (and this is not the first time when this subject has come up) is that "we" don't trust each other.
This is just what I'm seeing, maybe I'm seeing wrong, mi nuh kno, but I have never seen a post around here questioning the skkkool system out yutes are in roun here.
X seh him active inna him yute dem skkkool an him a de only blk one een deh. But now dat dis ting come across now Toronto have a whole heap a upset blk ppl. Some even tekkin at as far as calling it segregation
I notice that X also believes this as Black Only school, when nuttin nuh guh suh. Choo seh yt ppl most likely won't send their yutes deh cah dem nuh waan nuttin fi duh wid dat.
All I have seen is what they did in Detroit. It was called the Malcolm X academy. It was very successful, the majority of the yutes were very successful in all their studies. But from what mi hear the state never want to fund it anymore so it close down. Most likely choo seh dem neh like de great success of the blk yutes coming outta deh cah it nuh fit inna fi dem program.
When we finally figure out that yes as parent we need fi get involved in every sector a fi dem life and that this system will provide nothing "good" for us or our children and that we need to do for self, then we will move better in this society. Until we believe in our own we will never get anywhere. This could be a stepping stone to supm even bigger. If it fails we will all kno bout it and hear bout, but it need fi be given a chance. Not like anyone roun here goin fi send dem pickney deh seh was wi gwaan suh fah?
xKs, you know very well that this conversation would degenerate into a p*issing contest as to who is "blacker" than who
aie sah....forest thru the trees people. You all argue at cross purposes and miss the bigger picture. </div></div> The bigger picture is we have a tendency to under estimate the trials and difficulties that people that have to fold 2 and three lowp[ayung jibs,go through why they can't volunteer at PTA's.
It actually takes a lot of bill paying before one can volunteer, even for their kids welfare.
Mny of thise oeiole have to forgo lunch and some can't even afford one good meal,th eamoint of sacrufuce they hare doing to send theior childrn ro school.
'
xKs, you know very well that this conversation would degenerate into a p*issing contest as to who is "blacker" than who
aie sah....forest thru the trees people. You all argue at cross purposes and miss the bigger picture. </div></div> The bigger picture is we have a tendency to under estimate the trials and difficulties that people that have to fold 2 and three lowp[ayung jibs,go through why they can't volunteer at PTA's.
It actually takes a lot of bill paying before one can volunteer, even for their kids welfare.
Mny of thise oeiole have to forgo lunch and some can't even afford one good meal,th eamoint of sacrufuce they hare doing to send theior childrn ro school.
' </div></div>
Dudd.. Mi did a ignore this post till yuh meck this comment.
Yuh statement assume that mi is, or has always been in a financial position to "volunteer" or be aart of pta or play a role inna mi pickney den school life.
Yuh wrong.
Mi move to Canada , no job, no family.
Mi took $10/hr jobs sweeping warehouse and as bouncer as clubs inna Toronto as all mi did a get is "no Canadian experience" or "too qualified for this job"
(the only way i could get the few $10 jobs was not let the employer know i education background)
Mi would sweep a warehouse across di road from Microsoft, change inna a decent dress suit and walk cross to microsoft fi try network a dem tech-ed sessions.. then chnage off again, and ride mi $100 Walart bicycle guh, pickup mi wife, and toe har guh a mi daughter school and teck part inna pta or what ever schooling activities dem have.
Dis wasnt something new.
Mi deh a yard and just as a likkle computa tech a start out, mi would engage inna mi sons' schooling same way.
Mi never better off than anybody else, and to even suggest that is a joke.
Ironically di main reason mi duh di things mi duh IS because of proverty, or the hope to steer dem away from it. Mi grow up poor, and poor nuh nice. Suh how mi see it is, my job is to break the cycle of proverty fi dem. Mi naah look to DEM fi bust and meck mi nice.. Instead my job if fi meck sure dem dont hafi worka day inna dem life if dem dont wish tuh.
Unlike me whey hafi guh out each day and tek on people stress fi meck a living, dem fi find something creative them enjoy doing, and if dem get paid doing so great.
Using finacial situation as a reason not to participate is a cop out. Mi know poor, probably more than most people here on this board. Suh dont even try dat.
I totally agree with you xKS
I grew up in a single parent home. I lived in Metro Housing for 18 years. My mother was never on welfare when we were living in Metro Housing. She worked. However, she was the working poor. Matter of fact she worked for the Government of Canada as a clerk. That job didn't pay her enough. She was entitled to baby bonus because according to Government she made too much She had it hard. She had two children one disabled. So life wasn't a bed of roses. My mom quit her lowing paying civil servant job and returned to school. She enrolled herself into University. She has been a teacher for twenty years. While going to University of Toronto she worked three jobs. I will never forget. However, my mom never missed a Parent Teachers night, sat on the parent teacher board for years, sat on the Parent and Child advisory committee for the old City of York. She ensured and made sure she had a say in the way City of York ran their programs for children and youth and Parks and Recreation. She made time and she didn't have the help for family or our father.
So if my mom could do it then anyone can. I'm sorry I just don't buy the excuses. Invest in your children. They are your biggest investment
' </div></div>
Dudd.. Mi did a ignore this post till yuh meck this comment.
Yuh statement assume that mi is, or has always been in a financial position to "volunteer" or be aart of pta or play a role inna mi pickney den school life.
Yuh wrong.
Mi move to Canada , no job, no family.
Mi took $10/hr jobs sweeping warehouse and as bouncer as clubs inna Toronto as all mi did a get is "no Canadian experience" or "too qualified for this job"
(the only way i could get the few $10 jobs was not let the employer know i education background)
Mi would sweep a warehouse across di road from Microsoft, change inna a decent dress suit and walk cross to microsoft fi try network a dem tech-ed sessions.. then chnage off again, and ride mi $100 Walart bicycle guh, pickup mi wife, and toe har guh a mi daughter school and teck part inna pta or what ever schooling activities dem have.
Dis wasnt something new.
Mi deh a yard and just as a likkle computa tech a start out, mi would engage inna mi sons' schooling same way.
Mi never better off than anybody else, and to even suggest that is a joke.
Ironically di main reason mi duh di things mi duh IS because of proverty, or the hope to steer dem away from it. Mi grow up poor, and poor nuh nice. Suh how mi see it is, my job is to break the cycle of proverty fi dem. Mi naah look to DEM fi bust and meck mi nice.. Instead my job if fi meck sure dem dont hafi worka day inna dem life if dem dont wish tuh.
Unlike me whey hafi guh out each day and tek on people stress fi meck a living, dem fi find something creative them enjoy doing, and if dem get paid doing so great.
Using finacial situation as a reason not to participate is a cop out. Mi know poor, probably more than most people here on this board. Suh dont even try dat.
Anyhow mi waste enuff time wid unno and dis. </div></div>
I totally agree with you xKS
I grew up in a single parent home. I lived in Metro Housing for 18 years. My mother was never on welfare when we were living in Metro Housing. She worked. However, she was the working poor. Matter of fact she worked for the Government of Canada as a clerk. That job didn't pay her enough. She was entitled to baby bonus because according to Government she made too much She had it hard. She had two children one disabled. So life wasn't a bed of roses. My mom quit her lowing paying civil servant job and returned to school. She enrolled herself into University. She has been a teacher for twenty years. While going to University of Toronto she worked three jobs. I will never forget. However, my mom never missed a Parent Teachers night, sat on the parent teacher board for years, sat on the Parent and Child advisory committee for the old City of York. She ensured and made sure she had a say in the way City of York ran their programs for children and youth and Parks and Recreation. She made time and she didn't have the help for family or our father.
So if my mom could do it then anyone can. I'm sorry I just don't buy the excuses. Invest in your children. They are your biggest investment
why would black people have a problem with schools geared to educate their minds as to who they are...the muslims & jews do it...
blacks are happy to send their kids to catholic school; what's the big deal? it's not as simple as going to pta meetings or checking your yutes homework every night...school is a whole acculturation and i speak from experience as one who went from a majority black school in jamaica to a majority white school inna merca...
is only the almighty & good people alone why i didn't get lost to brainwash...many of my peers did & i did too for a time;
school is a constant bombardment of the mind with information and many of the things most beneficial to blacks as a people were never taught in their schools...i doubt every black parent has the time or means to counteract the school system- as far as cultural education...
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.