I have a Jamaican friend living in Mo Bay. She told me a couple of weeks ago that she went to visit this place, so I called her last night to find out more about it.
It is owned by a Jamaican family, man and woman in their 60s. They live in Jamaica but not on the property.
The cost to get in was $300 J.
Ital food and other things were available to buy.
There were several speakers there, speaking on culture, rastafari, roots medicine and this lifestyle. She told me that many were highly educated men who had come from other places to speak.
Not all the people there wear the burlap clothes. Some do but not all.
The village is very well kept and well organized.
She felt it was well worth the $300 and time.
She also mentioned that people seemed happy and cool about living there. She reasoned at depth with some of the women there and got to know them and have contact phone numbers for them.
Ok, now for me, these are my ideas. Many people come to Jamaica and are intrigued by the Rasta fari culture. I see it everyday that I am in contact with tourists. I remember people asking me years ago when I came to visit and went home and showed them pictures of things I've done and places I've been. They wanted to know how to meet these people. What is a Rasta like, what's the difference between Renta and Rasta and a whole heap more questions. I made mention to my husband that I knew it would work to put together a place where tourists could come, cook some food outside, reason under the stars, burn some challis, the whole thing. People would want to have that experience. The do want to touch that part of this culture. I still take visitors on tours sometimes, and the number one favorite westmoreland place for me to take them is to Roaring River. My Rasta friends there, cook Ital (real Ital) food for them, serve it to them in calabash, they pick and drink jelly coconut and burn spliff or challis with them, walk around to see the rivers and bush and learn bout the medicinal factors and then go swim in the cave. All this is shown to them by Rastas and dem love it bad. Everyone tells me it's the best thing they did in Jamaica.
So if it is a misrepresentation of true Rasta culture (and that is what??? How many different tribes and lifestyles, from Bobo to 12 Tribes??) people are hungry for this experience and many people would not venture into some communities like I would to meet people. This is a very safe way for that to happen.
I don't bash it. Not at all. I wouldn't go there because I have no need, I have plenty of Rasta friends living in bush as well as nice homes. Me alrite. </div></div>
***Sigh***
I wish I had one of those <span style="font-weight: bold">JIT</span> Just-In-Time friends. Always on time with alllllll the information in support of... Reminds me of one of those poems I heard Maya Angelo read long time ago, something about <span style="font-weight: bold">Lies told on the Slave Ships</span>.
Anyhoo, people free to believe what them want to, even if it is blatantly unbeweaveable. </div></div>
Are you for real????
Are you questioning if this person really exists? Or if I am making this up?
This friend is not a JIT friend, rather part of a Jamaican family who I have known very well for close to 20 years now. The woman I am making reference to is 49 years old, educated and has experiences in her culture as a Jamaican and also in the US.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: britisha</div><div class="ubbcode-body">...as mi modda used to seh "is not what is said, but who said it...always considah di source." </div></div>I tend to read the words first; my attitude is to believe everything I see if I have questions I ask till the matter is clarified. </div></div>
ah TG yuh read mi wrong agen...mi read whole heap a things aawn yah wid a grain of salt, and in real life, mi always considah the source, even hiff it is a compliment, for oono know wha?... it simply mean seh smaddie might a look a favour fram mi... hiffis even mi vote..
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Since I know jamaica as much as I do. i still believe that the Jamaicans are fronting. Jamaicans are not Americans. They wil keepo the secret. </div></div>
One gets the impression that to make some of conclusions argued here work you need at least 3 elements:
#1 A kind, peaceful nation with a history of smiling and making nice with foreigners.
#2 The best culture in the world, with people up to beg, borrow, imitate or just wholesale steal it
#3 Foreigners with sticky fingers
Oh did I mention Foreigners, preferably white
Put all in a bowl, toss lightly, garnish with the views of Jamaican in the Diaspora
Lay it out al carte on jamaicans.com.
Step forward and observe the fireworks.
Since a black Jamaican family is destructive to the equation and the cast in stone conclusions, we have to nullify that angle, let make the messenger a lying scoundrel.
Of course if all else fails we can find out the antecedents of the owners, what we are looking for is evidence that they are minority Jamaicans from the privileged ruling class who benefited from slavery or poor black families used as pawns in a shell game by minority in concert with white foreigners.
I wish I had one of those <span style="font-weight: bold">JIT</span> Just-In-Time friends. Always on time with alllllll the information in support of... Reminds me of one of those poems I heard Maya Angelo read long time ago, something about <span style="font-weight: bold">Lies told on the Slave Ships</span>.
Anyhoo, people free to believe what them want to, even if it is blatantly unbeweaveable. </div></div>
But you have, remember your <span style="font-weight: bold">husband</span> came to Britain recently walked out all of London and could only find four black persons?
Or to qualify, does the source have to be a friend and not related in other ways?
You are wrong on many levels but let me cite the common ones. Me never said him walked out <span style="font-weight: bold">All of London</span> you too lie.
Husband? Were you there when me did say "I do"?
Me was only referring to an observation made and never claimed to have proof or defended it. It was only hear-say.
The source need only not to be uhhhm...TRANSPARENT!
Are you questioning if this person really exists? Or if I am making this up?
This friend is not a JIT friend, rather part of a Jamaican family who I have known very well for close to 20 years now. The woman I am making reference to is 49 years old, educated and has experiences in her culture as a Jamaican and also in the US.
Your statement is so full of hatred and ugly. </div></div>
Ohhh come on!!! R U 4 real????
Would you have felt more warm and cuddly if me had given you a hug and said how ABSOLUTELY GREAT it was for you to have friends in "high" places?
Me no care really if this person exists or you made it up. Me just find a few of your "friend's" comments to be questionable, so sue me!!! For example, the emphasis that <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-weight: bold">"many were highly educated men"</span> who had come from other places to speak., The village is very well kept and well organized.
She also mentioned that <span style="font-weight: bold">people seemed happy and cool about living there.</span> She reasoned at depth with some of the women there and got to know them and have contact phone numbers for them. "</div></div>
Me still stand by the poem and if you feel that my words were not up to scratch then so be it! Be careful that you not imagining things though.
Two of me favorite quotes: <span style="font-weight: bold">Words go straight up in a thin line, quick and harmless, but come down hard and heavy, depending on what the recipients mind has done with it.</span> and me friend William Faulkner said <span style="font-weight: bold">The Past is never dead, it is not even Past.</span>
If man have fi eat a food, then come out and say it outright, do not disguise your attempts at capitalism.
Other than this basic fact, they are not hurting anyone and should be allowed to earn a living like everyone else. I will laugh at them if they claim to be anything other than actors or performers but I am not their target audience.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kingston20</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If man have fi eat a food, then come out and say it outright, do not disguise your attempts at capitalism.
Other than this basic fact, they are not hurting anyone and should be allowed to earn a living like everyone else. I will laugh at them if they claim to be anything other than actors or performers but I am not their target audience. </div></div> You don't get the part about <span style="font-weight: bold">indiginous</span>?
What that will misinform manyof the visitors,is teh history and cultyre of Rastafari. Does it say anything baout the Christmas massacar that was carried out against rastas, in the same Montego Bay,in the earlier days of trying to irradicate Rasta??
These rascals mi mean rastas appear to have keen business sense and savy in the ways of "babylon" that is not an amatuer hour web site.
This is Disney land theming applied to livity. The more I think about it, and it sound inflammatory, but I wonder aloud if more Jamaicans turn them hand mek fashion like these charlatans without the "selling out" aspect which make people uncomfortable, Jamaica might turn the corner faster than ever imagined.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
What that will misinform manyof the visitors,is teh history and cultyre of Rastafari. Does it say anything baout the Christmas massacar that was carried out against rastas, in the same Montego Bay,in the earlier days of trying to irradicate Rasta?? </div></div>
Agreed, they are pretending to be something they are not, if they remove the whole "indegenous" aspect and concentrate on the "entertainment" and not try to trick anyone they could be sitting on a gold mine.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kingston20</div><div class="ubbcode-body">These rascals mi mean rastas appear to have keen business sense and savy in the ways of "babylon" that is not an amatuer hour web site.
This is Disney land theming applied to livity. The more I think about it, and it sound inflammatory, but I wonder aloud if more Jamaicans turn them hand mek fashion like these charlatans without the "selling out" aspect which make people uncomfortable, Jamaica might turn the corner faster than ever imagined. </div></div>How much more Jamaicans need to turn their hand as and make fasions?
Did you know that acciording to UNESCO Jamaica has the world's highest rate of entrepenuralship?
did you know that it has the highest percapita of business attempts?
The opeople are always trying. Where were you?? They just get no support. That is all.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> The opeople are always trying. Where were you?? They just get no support. That is all.
Are they not trying? Based on your words should you not be giving them support or the very least some guidance if in a position to do so.
Now that I remember, I did see a "Native Show" when I visited Nassau many years ago. Pretty much singing and dancing with smiles a mile wide and nothing but tourists in the audience. I remember feeling degraded for the performers.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: B_P</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Now that I remember, I did see a "Native Show" when I visited Nassau many years ago. Pretty much singing and dancing with smiles a mile wide and nothing but tourists in the audience. I remember feeling degraded for the performers. </div></div>Yeah Bahamian Girls are kinda tough looking I would feel degarded too!
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.