Re: Rastafari indigenous village..wat a hell
that the place is Jamaican-owned lends credence to the notion that this might be a genuine attempt to educate people about (at least one branch of) rasta culture, spirituality, and lifestyle, as well as fill a void that interests visitors - and as was mentioned - which someone else might step in to fill if local people do not.
i think that unless one actually goes there to see, hear, and experience what is being delivered, there's no way to know the motivation of the owners or residents, or understand the vibes of the place. certainly the possibility of exploitation exists, but then again, their motives and intentions might actually be genuinely seeking to educate while at same time provide a creative way to source income for otherwise unemployed people, who incidentally might prefer participating in this type of venture over having to hide ones loxx to work in a hotel, having to bow & scrape to tourists.
whether or not it IS actually exploitive, or- educational and relatively accurate cultural represenatation, wholly depends upon the motivations of the people involved.
we could debate it all day but until we go there and see for self, there's no way to know whether the vibes are genuinly seeking to inform and educate, or whether it's exploitive tourist poppyshow for profit.
that the place is Jamaican-owned lends credence to the notion that this might be a genuine attempt to educate people about (at least one branch of) rasta culture, spirituality, and lifestyle, as well as fill a void that interests visitors - and as was mentioned - which someone else might step in to fill if local people do not.
i think that unless one actually goes there to see, hear, and experience what is being delivered, there's no way to know the motivation of the owners or residents, or understand the vibes of the place. certainly the possibility of exploitation exists, but then again, their motives and intentions might actually be genuinely seeking to educate while at same time provide a creative way to source income for otherwise unemployed people, who incidentally might prefer participating in this type of venture over having to hide ones loxx to work in a hotel, having to bow & scrape to tourists.
whether or not it IS actually exploitive, or- educational and relatively accurate cultural represenatation, wholly depends upon the motivations of the people involved.
we could debate it all day but until we go there and see for self, there's no way to know whether the vibes are genuinly seeking to inform and educate, or whether it's exploitive tourist poppyshow for profit.
Reminds me of one of those poems I heard Maya Angelo read long time ago, something about <span style="font-weight: bold">Lies told on the Slave Ships</span>.
seet deh now.