Re: Bad Mind & Crabs in a Barrel: 2 Reasons we can't Prosper
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
I was watching a programme about an Indian film producer and he used the analogy of when one crab tries to climb out of the pot, the other crabs (Indians) drag it back down.
It's not only black people who are red eye amongst each other. </div></div>
Fair enough Derek, but don't you think that although it might plague other groups of people, it is a topic that should and could be discussed among CONSCIOUS black people?
How could we expect to do better as a people, and rise above the average, if we can't even discuss our issues as a people, without accepting that they are the same as other people's, therefore, we should be contented? I think that as long as we have the ability and the opportunity we should strive to be the best that we can - with the goal to improve at all cost.
Why stop at trying to be like others when we can be better?
My 2nd grade teacher in Jamaica taught me this and I taught it to my children:
<span style="font-weight: bold">Good, Better, Best
Never let it rest,
Until you've made the good, better
And the better, best</span>.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
I was watching a programme about an Indian film producer and he used the analogy of when one crab tries to climb out of the pot, the other crabs (Indians) drag it back down.
It's not only black people who are red eye amongst each other. </div></div>
Fair enough Derek, but don't you think that although it might plague other groups of people, it is a topic that should and could be discussed among CONSCIOUS black people?
How could we expect to do better as a people, and rise above the average, if we can't even discuss our issues as a people, without accepting that they are the same as other people's, therefore, we should be contented? I think that as long as we have the ability and the opportunity we should strive to be the best that we can - with the goal to improve at all cost.
Why stop at trying to be like others when we can be better?
My 2nd grade teacher in Jamaica taught me this and I taught it to my children:
<span style="font-weight: bold">Good, Better, Best
Never let it rest,
Until you've made the good, better
And the better, best</span>.
wait deh... dat explain why some boardites ...

do not go and PM your POSSE Defenders to log in and curse me out.</span>
</div></div> <span style="font-size: 11pt"> You know about the posse too eh?/