Re: Why aren't most Jamaicans and WI peeps for that matter
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: neutral</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlackStar</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Maybe the returnees could turn the country around. </div></div>
Ideally this would be the outcome,however,some returnees has suggester that they have regrets about moving back,my mother being one of them.
Apart from the crime situation,the intermittent electricity cuts,the rip offs,and the expectation that because you are a returnee you are wealthy,not to mention the many inconveniences,... there is also a big boredom factor for people who have lived abroad,...not being able to book a restaurant and have a nice meal out,go to the theatre to watch a play,or opera,...go to the cinema,an efficient public transportation system,.....if you`ve lived abroad for a very long time after a time the little inconveniences can add up and make life miserable. </div></div>
I don't know how much of that is reality, and how much is perception. Crime is a reality yes, but a lot of it is gang-related/localized...it is not trivial but the perception probably magnifies the impact. Electricity cuts are not as frequent as they used to be, is not like seh this is Zimbabwe and the light can be relied on to be unreliable.
Kingston has almost all of those things listed; many good restaurants, some good theater productions, a good movie theater (Carib compares decently with any foreign cinema). I agree the public transport is an issue, you will need your own transport in Jamaica to be truly independent.
Montego Bay, Ocho Rios and Mandeville have similar benefits to Kingston, albeit on a smaller scale...but if you move from the USA to the Jamaican countryside, you will have that boredom effect. On the other hand, life is what you make of it, and you can't move to the country expecting city life.
I came back home from the USA in 2006. It wasn't by choice, but having been back, I am glad I came back. I don't disagree that living here has its challenges, but I remember what JFK said: "Ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country." Keeping that in mind has helped me really deal with the frustrations that living here CAN bring...but then is not as if the USA or Canada or the UK is a bastion of perfectionism either. This is my home.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: neutral</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlackStar</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Maybe the returnees could turn the country around. </div></div>
Ideally this would be the outcome,however,some returnees has suggester that they have regrets about moving back,my mother being one of them.
Apart from the crime situation,the intermittent electricity cuts,the rip offs,and the expectation that because you are a returnee you are wealthy,not to mention the many inconveniences,... there is also a big boredom factor for people who have lived abroad,...not being able to book a restaurant and have a nice meal out,go to the theatre to watch a play,or opera,...go to the cinema,an efficient public transportation system,.....if you`ve lived abroad for a very long time after a time the little inconveniences can add up and make life miserable. </div></div>
I don't know how much of that is reality, and how much is perception. Crime is a reality yes, but a lot of it is gang-related/localized...it is not trivial but the perception probably magnifies the impact. Electricity cuts are not as frequent as they used to be, is not like seh this is Zimbabwe and the light can be relied on to be unreliable.
Kingston has almost all of those things listed; many good restaurants, some good theater productions, a good movie theater (Carib compares decently with any foreign cinema). I agree the public transport is an issue, you will need your own transport in Jamaica to be truly independent.
Montego Bay, Ocho Rios and Mandeville have similar benefits to Kingston, albeit on a smaller scale...but if you move from the USA to the Jamaican countryside, you will have that boredom effect. On the other hand, life is what you make of it, and you can't move to the country expecting city life.
I came back home from the USA in 2006. It wasn't by choice, but having been back, I am glad I came back. I don't disagree that living here has its challenges, but I remember what JFK said: "Ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country." Keeping that in mind has helped me really deal with the frustrations that living here CAN bring...but then is not as if the USA or Canada or the UK is a bastion of perfectionism either. This is my home.

:
anyway me own two house down there
: [joke] but every boddie soun like dem fraid a gunman..and rightfully so.