<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: xKs</div><div class="ubbcode-body">... when iya observer a bonehead like KD knight coming out against an idea, this sends a signal that this may be an excellent idea afterall... </div></div>
Yeah, a dat mi a seh tuh! This is the former Minister of National <span style="font-weight: bold"><span style="font-size: 14pt">In</span></span>security.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Arite, di invasion ting is outside di realm of posiibility, yes, </div></div>
lol;
aye sah;
jamaicans gonna keep thinking invasion is impossible until it actually happens...
but knowing us we will welcome the invading forces in
"but knowing us we will welcome the invading forces in"
"will". ...thought our present state show a longgg history of dat not to mention mekking polices dat legitimize di illegal acts day accompany di invasion ..u see di current debate as to who muss come to who re policy...di Spanish amb r di elected Jcan official?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Sinco01</div><div class="ubbcode-body">this is all apples and oranges ..
to compare Kingston/Caymanas and Maryland/Washington surely does not compute .. </div></div>
That would be to miss the point I was making. Those areas were mentioned <span style="font-weight: bold">ONLY</span> to show the distance between the nearest military base and the nation's capital should an emergency arise.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: barosa</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <span style="font-weight: bold">what would happen if Jamaica is invaded via Kingston?</span></div></div>
Who on earth would want to invade Jamaica? For what benefit? To control the country's oil reserves? To dictate policy on the price of Reggae CDs? </div></div>
wasn't grenada invaded? haiti? cuba? DR? puerto rico?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: barosa</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <span style="font-weight: bold">what would happen if Jamaica is invaded via Kingston?</span></div></div>
Who on earth would want to invade Jamaica? For what benefit? To control the country's oil reserves? To dictate policy on the price of Reggae CDs? </div></div>
at various times in history?
<span style="font-weight: bold">doesn't a sovereign nation have need for defense?</span> </div></div>
Of course Jah Boot, but threats to Jamaica's national security are more likely to be internal.
Further more, if US Southern Command decided to march into Jamaica, I doubt the JDF could/would offer much resistance.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: barosa</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Humano, I noticed your preference for dealing with "civil unrest" instead of an "insurrection". I can well understand why, because you have made your reasons clear... By so doing, you are attempting to diminish the importance of the military, and would love to see it re-located.. `What you are overlooking or fail to see, is that an <span style="font-weight: bold">insurrection</span> can be as or more devastating to a country than an actual invasion. It can even be more damaging if not quelled, managed and controlled quickly. I will ensure you, that in such circumstances, the JDF would never be called in as <span style="font-weight: bold">a last resort</span> and makes their location in Kingston, even the more neccessary... </div></div>
Depends on the nature of that insurrection. In the case of a mass revolt against civil authority, the Riot Police, would be the first responders, with the military called in if that need arises. Bear in mind that if there is a base in Caymanas, a military response would be relatively quick. Personnel from Newcastle could be dispatched within an hour.
Now if you're talking about a coup, do you realize that a coup will most likely be backed (99% likelihood based on historical precedent, including in Honduras recently) by the military?
<span style="font-weight: bold">what would happen if Jamaica is invaded via Kingston?</span></div></div>
at various times in history?
<span style="font-weight: bold">doesn't a sovereign nation have need for defense?</span> </div></div>
Of course Jah Boot, but threats to Jamaica's national security are more likely to be internal.
Further more, if US Southern Command decided to march into Jamaica, I doubt the JDF could/would offer much resistance.
dat's why mi haffi rate castro;
if it was jamaica during bay of pigs invasion, j-a's leader would have been served up on a silver platter by 'jamaicans' too afraid to defend the homeland in the face of american might;
i see it all the time...
but they have no problem fighting or killing their fellow poor black jamaican;
but i digress
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: barosa</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <span style="font-weight: bold">what would happen if Jamaica is invaded via Kingston?</span></div></div>
Who on earth would want to invade Jamaica? For what benefit? To control the country's oil reserves? To dictate policy on the price of Reggae CDs? </div></div>LOL!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: barosa</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <span style="font-weight: bold">what would happen if Jamaica is invaded via Kingston?</span></div></div>
Who on earth would want to invade Jamaica? For what benefit? To control the country's oil reserves? To dictate policy on the price of Reggae CDs? </div></div>LOL! </div></div>
A wanda if the puppet masta them ready fi collect pon dem investment??? "<span style="font-weight: bold">He who pays the piper call the tune</span>" nuff food can eat off dat peice a land.
if it was jamaica during bay of pigs invasion, j-a's leader would have been served up on a silver platter by 'jamaicans' too afraid to defend the homeland in the face of american might......</div></div>You have a very low view of your fellow Jamaicans no wonder you are so quick to accuse others.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Panajar</div><div class="ubbcode-body">A wanda if the puppet masta them ready fi collect pon dem investment??? "<span style="font-weight: bold">He who pays the piper call the tune</span>" nuff food can eat off dat peice a land. </div></div>Wasn't this a proposal under the PNP Government as well or am i missing something?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Panajar</div><div class="ubbcode-body">A wanda if the puppet masta them ready fi collect pon dem investment??? "<span style="font-weight: bold">He who pays the piper call the tune</span>" nuff food can eat off dat peice a land. </div></div>Wasn't this a proposal under the PNP Government as well or am i missing something? </div></div> Yes you missing something.
What you are missingis that this is a new govrnment. Thehhave the power to change anything that was not executed under the previous adminustration even if it was conceved by them.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.