<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Which is why the other day him use a word and then point out that everybody on the board haffi draw fi dem dictionary now
o yea. the zaftig episode. i thank tim gunn for defining that word for me. </div></div>
Yes it's true I used a Yiddish word common in New York but a bit too foreign to jokingly describe Michele Obama.
I'm almost as bad as board favorite BlakkGiant with his use of really obscure Swahili and Yoruba terms for white people after the term honky went out of style.
u still dont get it. its not ur use of the word. it was ur insulting insinuation that folks on here wouldnt know what it meant, and would need to run for a dictionary. why would u make that assumption? for one thing, new yorkers are part of the jacans.com community.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Which is why the other day him use a word and then point out that everybody on the board haffi draw fi dem dictionary now
o yea. the zaftig episode. i thank tim gunn for defining that word for me. </div></div>
Yes it's true I used a Yiddish word common in New York but a bit too foreign to jokingly describe Michele Obama.
I'm almost as bad as board favorite BlakkGiant with his use of really obscure Swahili and Yoruba terms for white people after the term honky went out of style
u still dont get it. its not ur use of the word. it was ur insulting insinuation that folks on here wouldnt know what it meant, and would need to run for a dictionary. why would u make that assumption? for one thing, new yorkers are part of the jacans.com community.
Dont waste your tim MGee...If you grew up with a Racist Father like JC you would have the same mindset.....di apple dont fall far from di tree....wha drap off a head drop pon shoulder.......
[
MGee,
I apologise/ apologize for ASSUMING that boardies with Jamaican backgrounds would be unfamiliar with Yiddish.
You might do this: ask ten Jamaicans you know who have not read these posts what "zaftig" means. I'd be surprised if one knows the meaning of the word but it's a cute/funny sounding word as are many word in Yiddish which is a language very well suited for humor and a good word to know.
IMO I don't think you could ask ten non-Jewish American people what the word means and have more than one or two know .
I am one who happens to love word use and excel at it. There are so many words that have very specific meanings and for which there are no substitutes but which are obscure to most people since as has been pointed out Americans read and write at a ninth grade level ON THE AVERAGE meaning that many will read and write at a higher level but equally as many will read, write and comprehend at a much lower level.
Sometimes I take this fact into account when I post and find more common words or series of words to say the same thing but it makes it far more difficult and time consuming to express my thoughts. Other times I just write exactly as it comes out and I will use the words that are more precise but more obscure to many.
I'm often caught between wanting to be understood and writing more quickly and precisely.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Geezas saviah pilat mi \o/ for the love of thunderstorms
What Gen said
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
"....... drop words under the guise of being cleaver"
I'll try to use smaller, less accurate words if you'd like but wouldn't that be talking down to everyone?.
i wonder if you asked 10 Americans who did not read this post how many would understand what a Jamaican means by "drop words"
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: lonrwolf</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Yep, I know, but some things are even to much for me. That said, No thoughts on my response to your last post? </div></div>
it was a bit err...lengthy so i will have to respond a bit later...
but acknowledged-
stay tuned for response
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
"....... drop words under the guise of being cleaver"
I'll try to use smaller, less accurate words if you'd like but wouldn't that be talking down to everyone?.
i wonder if you asked 10 Americans who did not read this post how many would understand what a Jamaican means by "drop words"
Okay , you got me. I assumed it means much the same as to drop names as in I had lunch with Senator so-and-so.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.