Re: Heroes and Villains
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If you mean to tell me that anyone in a mosque who came to pray and then found themselves subjected to a political speech by Mr. Farrakhan would get up and walk out, I have to respectfully disagree.
That action would be roundly condemned by the other 99% of the attendees. </div></div>
cakes, the problem with a lot of religious figures nowadays is precisely this;
they don't get involved in the actual issues facing the community- they are content to preach about the supposed afterlife...
the Nation of Islam has always been 'political', especially el hajj malik el shabazz/ malcolm x...
serving the creator means addressing ALL aspects of life-- this life---
not dwelling on ancient historical events & myths or what they imagine to be an afterlife or their concept of what 'god' wants or what is 'god's' true nature;
who said political issues should/can not be discussed in a spiritual setting?
by the way farrakhan is very good at delivering sermons;
something that is respected by africans/afra-descendants </div></div>
jahyout i dont think its the place of a religious leader to tell me how to vote etc. not saying dat politics can never come up but most a wah mi hear Farrakan talk bout is politics politics. i think only once have i ever hear him read a scripture( is dat wah muslim call it?)...i listen to him from time to time bcus him a somebody mr vegas nterested in and listen to, but all dese years of listening to him dont ask me what the muslim faith is all about. i am not even sure who the prophet the "right honorable elijah mohamed" is. he is always mentioning dat name and i assume is somebody form the Koran. nothing wrong with him having and sharing his views but dont do so standing behind "religion". resign from the ministry and just become a political commentator
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If you mean to tell me that anyone in a mosque who came to pray and then found themselves subjected to a political speech by Mr. Farrakhan would get up and walk out, I have to respectfully disagree.
That action would be roundly condemned by the other 99% of the attendees. </div></div>
cakes, the problem with a lot of religious figures nowadays is precisely this;
they don't get involved in the actual issues facing the community- they are content to preach about the supposed afterlife...
the Nation of Islam has always been 'political', especially el hajj malik el shabazz/ malcolm x...
serving the creator means addressing ALL aspects of life-- this life---
not dwelling on ancient historical events & myths or what they imagine to be an afterlife or their concept of what 'god' wants or what is 'god's' true nature;
who said political issues should/can not be discussed in a spiritual setting?
by the way farrakhan is very good at delivering sermons;
something that is respected by africans/afra-descendants </div></div>
jahyout i dont think its the place of a religious leader to tell me how to vote etc. not saying dat politics can never come up but most a wah mi hear Farrakan talk bout is politics politics. i think only once have i ever hear him read a scripture( is dat wah muslim call it?)...i listen to him from time to time bcus him a somebody mr vegas nterested in and listen to, but all dese years of listening to him dont ask me what the muslim faith is all about. i am not even sure who the prophet the "right honorable elijah mohamed" is. he is always mentioning dat name and i assume is somebody form the Koran. nothing wrong with him having and sharing his views but dont do so standing behind "religion". resign from the ministry and just become a political commentator