Re: UPDATE: Tufton Loses His Seat
I had a couple interesting conversations with Jamaicans in Jamaica..
On Tufton...a person in his contigency said: "im campaign managa mussi did cell deh rice wey im get fi gi wey"....
Knowing the person who claims he was campagain manager this has a certain credance.. Also there was a rift between the campaign manager and the candidate...
An interesting comment from another person was: Young people with or at tertiary level of education did not vote....And the middle class voted for the JLP Apparently if they did a unoffical survey of UWI students and more than 60 % did not vote... He was as poor as me but has become a buisness man, though a life long socialist voted the other way for the first time . This surprised me... He also concurred with me that he thought that Holness and Tufton represented a change in generations, while the Comrades represent a retreat back to the past.. But he expressed cautious optimisism.. While I expressed cautious pessimism...
He also made the comment that he did very well out of the out of the exchange rates hikes and out of the high intrest rates in the 90's averaging returns on goverment paper of over 20%.. now it is only 4.75 %.. and he recently rolled over some more and could not get 5%... And this is what he feared that a return to the high interest regime.. (this was a time a car increased in value every 12 months !!!!)
He also opined that it made no sense expaning his buiness under the high interest regime.. It suited buisness men to contract their buisness and invest in goverment paper... this is important as he quoted Golding who stated that the 90's was the greatest redistribution of wealth from the poor to the rich.. And though he voted against his own personal interest, he beleived that despite doing well there will develop a class of harbour sharks....who will make life unlivable..
This is
I had a couple interesting conversations with Jamaicans in Jamaica..
On Tufton...a person in his contigency said: "im campaign managa mussi did cell deh rice wey im get fi gi wey"....
Knowing the person who claims he was campagain manager this has a certain credance.. Also there was a rift between the campaign manager and the candidate...
An interesting comment from another person was: Young people with or at tertiary level of education did not vote....And the middle class voted for the JLP Apparently if they did a unoffical survey of UWI students and more than 60 % did not vote... He was as poor as me but has become a buisness man, though a life long socialist voted the other way for the first time . This surprised me... He also concurred with me that he thought that Holness and Tufton represented a change in generations, while the Comrades represent a retreat back to the past.. But he expressed cautious optimisism.. While I expressed cautious pessimism...
He also made the comment that he did very well out of the out of the exchange rates hikes and out of the high intrest rates in the 90's averaging returns on goverment paper of over 20%.. now it is only 4.75 %.. and he recently rolled over some more and could not get 5%... And this is what he feared that a return to the high interest regime.. (this was a time a car increased in value every 12 months !!!!)
He also opined that it made no sense expaning his buiness under the high interest regime.. It suited buisness men to contract their buisness and invest in goverment paper... this is important as he quoted Golding who stated that the 90's was the greatest redistribution of wealth from the poor to the rich.. And though he voted against his own personal interest, he beleived that despite doing well there will develop a class of harbour sharks....who will make life unlivable..
This is