<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">"Joan Morgan, a writer born in Jamaica who moved to New York City as a girl, remembers the first time she publicly corrected someone about the term: at a book signing, when she was introduced as African-American and her family members in the front rows were appalled and hurt.
"That act of calling me African-American completely erased their history and the sacrifice and contributions it took to make me an author," said Morgan, a longtime U.S. citizen who calls herself Black-Caribbean American.
She said people struggle with the fact that black people have multiple ethnicities because it challenges America's original black-white classifications. In her view, forcing everyone into a name meant for descendants of American slaves distorts the nature of the contributions of immigrants like her black countrymen Marcus Garvey and Claude McKay.
Morgan acknowledges that her homeland of Jamaica is populated by the descendants of African slaves. <span style="font-weight: bold">"But I am not African</span>, and Africans are not African-American," she said."</div></div>
<span style="color: #CC0000">Source</span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peter Tosh</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
"Nuh matta weh yuh come from
As long as you're a black man
You're an African
Noh mind yuh nationality
You've got the identity, of an African.</div></div>
"That act of calling me African-American completely erased their history and the sacrifice and contributions it took to make me an author," said Morgan, a longtime U.S. citizen who calls herself Black-Caribbean American.
She said people struggle with the fact that black people have multiple ethnicities because it challenges America's original black-white classifications. In her view, forcing everyone into a name meant for descendants of American slaves distorts the nature of the contributions of immigrants like her black countrymen Marcus Garvey and Claude McKay.
Morgan acknowledges that her homeland of Jamaica is populated by the descendants of African slaves. <span style="font-weight: bold">"But I am not African</span>, and Africans are not African-American," she said."</div></div>
<span style="color: #CC0000">Source</span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peter Tosh</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
"Nuh matta weh yuh come from
As long as you're a black man
You're an African
Noh mind yuh nationality
You've got the identity, of an African.</div></div>