Re: Patois: Are they faking it to sound cool?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: makabush</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Geneva mi gawn bak pon FB... At least di Jcan ovah deh real enuff fi agree n disagree as Real Jcans n. not like dose pon yah dat agree n disagree based on wedda dem like r dislike di opiner, n cloak it unda some terms like real (common letta intentional) Jcan n odda banal excuses mi no even wan cite...mi no wan get cussed out n haffi draw fi mi Real Yaad cussing skills...
Not sure what you are reffering to when you say "wedda dem like r dislike di opiner" cau mi nuh really know nuh bady roun here. If you are refering to the bambam man arguments people are promotting, i don't even remember who said what. Dem usually ongle drop een when lesbian and funny man is mentioned. If you are refering to racist remarks well, sorry to interupt your racist party over here we might want to call JJJ.
But it seems like I have a strong opinion, one Jamaican residing in foreign says foolishness (like that man's patois is perfectly country, something that ANY <span style="text-decoration: line-through">Jamaican</span> human should be able to recognise, no that man speaks perfectly fine English) and i disagree and offer a rebuttal and there is problems. Look, if someone tells me the sky is usually red, I am going to disagree with them.
But let the racism keep running I guess...chinie wid small penis and white and black segregation. hail garvey and dat deh odda dead wan hiffler. mi did have a dream dat one day one of many would become separate peeple. amen. </div></div>
It is ironic that you are constantly calling MY Jamaicaness and the Jamaicaness of other boardites who can trace their roots in Jamaica back to slavery days on ALL sides of their family. This happens every time someone doesn't share the same opinion with you on any given subject. Now that you have shared the fact that 2 of your grandparents moved to Jamaica not speaking English, I understand why you are so defensive about who is a REAL Jamaican. There is absolutely no need for this but how DARE you belittle the fact that I can trace my family in Jamaica back to 1824 and 1826. Facety, bright and out a ordah!
Unlike the British aristocracy, we don't have the mentality "it takes 200 years to be "one of us".
How dare you come try to come across as a country patois expert. Just about everyone in my family can say "Is country we come from", yet I am not calling anybody a liar.
You seriously need to chill and as I have said before, get some therapy to deal with your struggles re: identity. This is all unnecessary.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: makabush</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Geneva mi gawn bak pon FB... At least di Jcan ovah deh real enuff fi agree n disagree as Real Jcans n. not like dose pon yah dat agree n disagree based on wedda dem like r dislike di opiner, n cloak it unda some terms like real (common letta intentional) Jcan n odda banal excuses mi no even wan cite...mi no wan get cussed out n haffi draw fi mi Real Yaad cussing skills...

Not sure what you are reffering to when you say "wedda dem like r dislike di opiner" cau mi nuh really know nuh bady roun here. If you are refering to the bambam man arguments people are promotting, i don't even remember who said what. Dem usually ongle drop een when lesbian and funny man is mentioned. If you are refering to racist remarks well, sorry to interupt your racist party over here we might want to call JJJ.
But it seems like I have a strong opinion, one Jamaican residing in foreign says foolishness (like that man's patois is perfectly country, something that ANY <span style="text-decoration: line-through">Jamaican</span> human should be able to recognise, no that man speaks perfectly fine English) and i disagree and offer a rebuttal and there is problems. Look, if someone tells me the sky is usually red, I am going to disagree with them.
But let the racism keep running I guess...chinie wid small penis and white and black segregation. hail garvey and dat deh odda dead wan hiffler. mi did have a dream dat one day one of many would become separate peeple. amen. </div></div>
It is ironic that you are constantly calling MY Jamaicaness and the Jamaicaness of other boardites who can trace their roots in Jamaica back to slavery days on ALL sides of their family. This happens every time someone doesn't share the same opinion with you on any given subject. Now that you have shared the fact that 2 of your grandparents moved to Jamaica not speaking English, I understand why you are so defensive about who is a REAL Jamaican. There is absolutely no need for this but how DARE you belittle the fact that I can trace my family in Jamaica back to 1824 and 1826. Facety, bright and out a ordah!
Unlike the British aristocracy, we don't have the mentality "it takes 200 years to be "one of us". How dare you come try to come across as a country patois expert. Just about everyone in my family can say "Is country we come from", yet I am not calling anybody a liar.
You seriously need to chill and as I have said before, get some therapy to deal with your struggles re: identity. This is all unnecessary.
smh