Originally posted by Tropicana
URGENT - For Toronto People - See Home Again Film This Weekend
Originally posted by Emperah View PostNot it's not there were canadians born in canada of jamaican parents who got deported to jamaica an nuh kno nuttin bout jamaica. A few dem right from toronto.
I have always told him....keep out of trouble. Nobody is going to cut you any slack in this place. We saw the film yesterday and he was. I shared the story of what happened to the Indian boy with him.
Did anyone else on here see the movie?
Originally posted by Wahalla View PostCold as this seems I have little sympathy....Many run wey fi wuk, fi oppertunity ......
Shame on you Wahalla. This is cold even for you. Don't you realize that something like this could happen even to you? It could happen to any of us. Just get caught in the wrong place at the wrong time, circumstantial evidence and boom...you are out of here. Marva's story is a prime example. Born in Jamaica and raised in Canada, she was married with 2 kids. Her husband died. After a while, she met a Jamaican guy who swept her off her feet. They dated. He took her to Jamaica for a romantic vacation at a luxury resort.
He "decided" to stay on for a bit. When she went back to Canada, he asked her to take one of his suitcases back for him. She had no idea he had hidden drugs in it. She was arrested when trying to clear Canada Customs, jailed for 18 months and shipped back to Jamaica at the end of her sentence while her kids were stuck in foster care.
Something like that could happen to anyone. You could be staying with a friend or relative and without you even knowing it, they could tuck something in the corner of your suitcase.....boom you're up the creek.
Originally posted by Wahalla View Postand these guys in the film had the opportunity ????
These countries wanted a source of cheap labour to do the dutty nasty jobs White Canadians, Americans and Brits didn't want to do. They created an environment that has made it really challenging for Black people and Black young people in particular. When some fall through the cracks is, wash their hands of the problem they created.
Originally posted by Wahalla View PostI listened to one of the interviews with the fellow who made the film and was struck by the fact that the main man then said something that I have often said on here... in reference to these deportees.. "these are not Jamaican...they are canandian, american,"... yet time and time again we are force feed that they are Jamaican....
Sudz Sutherland, the Producer whose parents are from Jamaica and whose wife is Jamaican, was emphasizing the fact that some of the deportees left Jamaica as young toddlers and have never been back and without education and marketable skills, they have a heck of a time adjusting when they are suddenly dumped back in Jamaica.Last edited by Tropicana; 03-25-2013, 10:29 AM.
Originally posted by Wahalla View PostI will watch it cause Paul Campbell is in it!
Kadeem Wilson carving his niche
He delivered a chilling and disturbing performance as a young don .... area leadah as RichD put it.
HE was riveting as Gully Rat in Chris Browne's Ghett a Life. Now playing Malcolm in Who A Di Don, Kadeem Wilson shows he can hold his own whether on the stage or on the big screen.
Still there is no competition on which he prefers: Wilson says film wins hands down.
"It's where my passion is at. In a film, the camera can pick up a lot of things that you normally would not see on stage. You can be more subtle and more intense," he said.
The Observer caught up with Wilson on his return from shooting scenes in Trinidad for the upcoming movie Home Again.
"Trinidad was an experience. It tun up!" he said, hardly able to contain his excitement. He says it was fun being on the set with American actress Tatyana Ali and fellow Jamaican actor Paul Campbell.
"When I got there, Paul Campbell had done all his scenes already. But he looked me up and took the time to give me encouragement," said Wilson.
In Trinidad, he also got the chance to check out some of the night life there, although he had to report his every movement to two police men.
"They were assigned to me. Everywhere I went, they had to know my whereabouts, but I had fun," he said.
The movie portrays three adults deported from Canada, the US and England to Jamaica, where they were born. They had to fight for survival in a Jamaica where family support, friends and shelter is elusive, but where ultimately hope and the human spirit emerges.
Wilson says the premiere should be sometime in September.
There is also another love for the young actor and it's his relationship with Jesus. Baptised at age 13, Kadeem said his faith is a great influence in his life.
Lately, it has become somewhat more challenging as since his roles in Ghetta a Life and he had "gotten a bit distracted".
But his solution to that, he said, is "stand for your own morals, even when no one else is standing with you. I use that to guide me daily," he shared.
Born and raised in the inner city of Franklyn Town, Wilson started attending the Franklyn Town Church of God from a tender age.
"Everything I was taught about acting and singing started in church," he said. Later on his fate was sealed when his mother, Carlene Henry-Clarke migrated for a while, him in the care of an aunt and cousins.
"My cousins were in theatre — Keith Shepherd is my uncle, Sheldon Shepherd (lead role in Better Mus' Come) is my cousin — watching them I developed an affinity to it," said Wilson.
In 2006, Wilson got his first taste of the big stage while being a student at Excelsior Community College. He was cast in a theatre production called Through The Fire, the following year he appeared in Caught In The Net. The production went on to win the Actor Boy Award for the Best Comedy of the Year.
He eventually went on to join the LTM Pantomime Company starring in Pirate Jack.
Looking ahead Wilson is anticipating more film work. In fact, he is already cast for another role, but is mum about it for the time being as "production is not yet ready".
He would also love to star in another play with comedy kingpin, Oliver Samuels.Last edited by Tropicana; 03-25-2013, 10:16 AM.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostStated in a cold manner while you sit in the UK where you have gone for opportunity. Run way. Is that when you call it when many Jamaicans have had no choice but to leave our beloved home to earn a decent living or get an education.
Shame on you Wahalla. This is cold even for you. Don't you realize that something like this could happen even to you? It could happen to any of us. Just get caught in the wrong place at the wrong time, circumstantial evidence and boom...you are out of here. Marva's story is a prime example. Born in Jamaica and raised in Canada, she was married with 2 kids. Her husband died. After a while, she met a Jamaican guy who swept her off her feet. They dated. He took her to Jamaica for a romantic vacation at a luxury resort.
He "decided" to stay on for a bit. When she went back to Canada, he asked her to take one of his suitcases back for him. She had no idea he had hidden drugs in it. She was arrested when trying to clear Canada Customs, jailed for 18 months and shipped back to Jamaica at the end of her sentence while her kids were stuck in foster care.
Something like that could happen to anyone. You could be staying with a friend or relative and without you even knowing it, they could tuck something in the corner of your suitcase.....boom you're up the creek.
....but for the grace of God...so go I. It takes one false move to get kicked out of Canada, the UK or the USA. Most of these deportees are not cold blooded, heartless, hardened criminals. See a page back. Even a Blackberry executive got deported recently because he got really drunk on an Air Canada flight and carried on REAL bad. He was Scottish.
These countries wanted a source of cheap labour to do the dutty nasty jobs White Canadians, Americans and Brits didn't want to do. They created an environment that has made it really challenging for Black people and Black young people in particular. When some fall through the cracks is, wash their hands of the problem they created.
Well you are not going to get any agreement from me on this one. I left Jamaica as a toddler. Grew up in Canada and you bet your sweet bippy I am Jamaican. I have lived, worked and even studied a bit in Jamaica. I trace my roots in Jamaica back to before slavery was abolished. I am just as Jamaican as anyone who lives there and I resent your comment.
Sudz Sutherland, the Producer whose parents are from Jamaica and whose wife is Jamaican, was emphasizing the fact that some of the deportees left Jamaica as young toddlers and have never been back and without education and marketable skills, they have a heck of a time adjusting when they are suddenly dumped back in Jamaica.
And for the record.. I have been arrested, imprisoned and deported a few times!
I know a few yardie deportees,overstayers, hustlers druggists, drug smugglers, shottas...all domino playing, beer drinking, horse race gambling, weed smokers. the people u meet round the domino table!.. And curiously their attitude is they saw an opertunity and took it got caught. And if the oppertuntiy arises again they will take it. ( a couple tried to recruit me to swallow flour...couple wanted to rent my passports. pointed out that my ugly taino features were unusual and easily identified!)
Last week a Jamaican firefighter got killed by the police in Shewbury... That i have issues with...... but here from what I gather there is an attempt to garner sympathy by making the deportees not responsible for their action. ???
One caught with a spliff... one carrying drugs. but they were guilty, the law as it said is blind!..that is not my experience of deportees...
There are three types in my experience the real yardie hard case who goes for his oprertunity...Who when deported will having been socialised in Jamaica will fit back in without much of a break in stride...it is a hiccup... Then the wannabe without who is a guppy who is socialised who think he is hard usually has no experience of Jamaica.. and is unable to fit into a network of familal.. The deportee (majority in my experience) who over stays a visa or on bad paper and works saves and send money home works 3 four jobs....though is illegal, they were unlucky as they could not get a desperate middle age person to marry them for the stay! they will have saved and have a stake to start over. Usually I woudl explain not to send money to dem cousin in Jamaica.. ...
So throwing up a number that bears now scrutiny is effective...3400 deported..
Is thst cch pounder in the film ? I like her...Last edited by Wahalla; 03-25-2013, 12:21 PM.
Why would it. If someone left Jamaica at age 2 and didn't return until they were deported in their late teens or early twenties, it would feel like a foreign land.....that doesn't make them any less Jamaican....and stating that is not saying they are less Jamaican. Your citizenship and ethnicity are objective and factual. I could move to the North Pole and live there for 50 years...no way will it make me Inuit any more than going to the garage makes me a car.
Your cold and harsh comment reminded me of just how quickly things can change for people. A White lady at my church was driving along minding her own business. She was driving along in the curb lane, beside her on the left there was a truck and it was just slightly ahead of her. There was a bus at the stop in the space they leave for busses to stop to her right. She had a green light. She wasn't speeding. All of a sudden the truck slammed on it's breaks. Frrom out of no where, this Chinese lady runs out from in front of the truck and slams against the car and bounces and hits and breaks the windshield. Apparently, she was running to try and catch the bus. BOOM! Dead!! Just soh. We were in the same Bible study and she was really shaken up when she told us either later that day or the next day....I can't remember.
I am not sure what happened to the White lady as her husband finished Bible college and they went to another church where she could serve.
You can bet if something like that happened when a Black person was driving the car, it would be vehicular homicide, vehicular manslaughter and whatever other charge they could throw at you. Convicted...you're a criminal. After you serve your sentence, you're on the next plane back to Jamaica....and you better believe if they want to get rid of you they can denaturalize you so fast it would leave your head spinning.
I have no sympathy for the hardened criminals and gang leaders who exploit the system. I also have no sympathy for those who leave their kids in Jamaica till they are pre-teens or in their early teens, bring them up and make no effort to help them adjust to a new society. Some parents are ready to dump them on the Children's Aid and will not cooperate with social workers or take advantage of the help offered.
On the other hand, those who get caught up due to unfortunate circumstances or just one stupid youthful mistake, deserve our compassion.
You are another one who needs to take my sensitivity training class. Mi sorry fi you if anything ever goes wrong. Your life can change in a split second.Last edited by Tropicana; 03-25-2013, 12:04 PM.
I could move to the North Pole and live there for 50 years...no way will it make me Inuit any more than going to the garage makes me a car.
No body lives at the north pole... and u would not fit in as it is as foreign to you as Jamaica was to these guppies...
i have compassion for the 77 families in Tivoli, fi that family in Mobay, fi deh fiyafighter familiy wey get kill last week, ..fi deh man wey get shat on Waltam park road today, Fi deh families of the Crawle four, for the children who will get spanked for not getting placed because of the GSAT.
Here are three individuals who took actions that led to their deportations ? one had a spliff, one carry drugs...Last edited by Wahalla; 03-25-2013, 12:44 PM.
Originally posted by Wahalla View PostI could move to the North Pole and live there for 50 years...no way will it make me Inuit any more than going to the garage makes me a car.
No body lives at the north pole... and u would not fit in as it is as foreign to you as Jamaica was to these guppies...
i have compassion for the 77 families in Tivoli, fi that family in Mobay, fi deh fiyafighter familiy wey get kill last week, ..fi deh man wey get shat on Waltam park road today, Fi deh families of the Crawle four, for the children who will get spanked for not getting placed because of the GSAT.
Here are three individuals who took actions that led to their deportations ? one had a spliff, one carry drugs...
Last edited by Tropicana; 03-25-2013, 10:36 PM.
Here is this week's schedule for Home Again. I would love to see it again:
Toronto/GTA
Morningside
(Cineplex) 785 Milner Ave. (at Morningside Ave.), Scarborough
Today (Mon): 5:10, 7:40
Tue: 5:05, 7:40, 10:15
Wed: 5:10, 7:40
Thu: 5:05, 7:55, 10:25
SilverCity Brampton
(Cineplex)50 Great Lakes Drive (Hwy 410 & Bovaird Drive), Brampton
Today (Mon): 4:40, 7:10, 9:50
Tue: 4:40, 7:10, 9:50
Wed, Thu: 4:40, 7:10, 9:40
Yonge and Dundas
(Cineplex)Toronto Life Square, 10 Dundas St. East, Toronto
Today (Mon): 2:35, 5:05, 7:35, 10:05
Tue, Wed, Thu: 2:35, 5:05, 7:35, 10:05
Last edited by Tropicana; 03-25-2013, 10:50 PM.
Vancouver
International Village
(Cineplex)88 West Pender, Vancouver
Today (Mon): 2:35, 5:05, 7:35, 10:05
Tue: 12:15, 2:35, 5:05, 7:35, 10:05
Wed, Thu: 2:35, 5:05, 7:35, 10:05
Montreal
Cineplex Forum
2313 Ste-Catherine Ouest, Montréal
Today (Mon): 12:35, 3:05, 5:35, 8:05, 10:35
Tue, Wed, Thu: 12:35, 3:05, 5:35, 8:05, 10:35
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostGet it accurate...1 was a high school kid who was caught with 2 joints, one was a gangstar and the 3rd was used by a man she had fallen in love with. She did not know he had hidden drugs in the suitcase. I don't feel the high school kid and the woman should have been deported. The ganster left Jamaica at either 2 or 4. It was the US that made im tun criminal. Now if he had been some guy who went to the US at say 18 or 19 and he was already a gansta or criminal...deport im botty yes. If it is a problem created in Jamaica, ship him back. If is a problem created in the US, Canada or the UK, they should clean up their own mess and not dump it on Jamaica.
So the kid had two spliffs not one...They must have got him for supplying....He was caught with drugs... ( I seem to recall a thread where u lectured us with keeping weed illegal... this is the consequence of keeping drugs illegal)... He broke the law.
the gangster: The US did not tun im in criminal he had a choice... in real life sumadi woulda duss im or im woulda become embedded...still them woulda duss im...
My stance is simple...when I was about 13 or 15 there was two people age under 20 who died on a flight to Kanada.. one fell out the wheel well over Palisadoes... the other fell out frozen to death in wheel well over Toronto... These I have compassion for. But the memory of this was I recall a discussion about how these kids..Would we have taken this risk ???...in our ignorance we were unconcerned about such niceties of pressure and temperatures...
The roumour was that it had been used before as a method to leave. That there was a man who could get u onto the airport through a hole in the fence.. Y did Jamaicans chose to make these risky moves ????. For oppertunties... Here three had oppertunities handed to them and they buggered it up..
again these are cases where they were highlighted for effect....
Originally posted by Wahalla View PostSo wha shi did carry the drugs ? When at the airport they ask u : Did u pack the suitcases your self ? Are you carrying anything for anyone ?.. so she must have lied....Not one but two felonies...
Originally posted by Wahalla View Post
So the kid had two spliffs not one...They must have got him for supplying....
Originally posted by Wahalla View PostHe was caught with drugs... ( I seem to recall a thread where u lectured us with keeping weed illegal... this is the consequence of keeping drugs illegal)... He broke the law.
Originally posted by Wahalla View Postthe gangster: The US did not tun im in criminal he had a choice... in real life sumadi woulda duss im or im woulda become embedded...still them woulda duss im...
Originally posted by Wahalla View Post
My stance is simple...when I was about 13 or 15 there was two people age under 20 who died on a flight to Kanada.. one fell out the wheel well over Palisadoes... the other fell out frozen to death in wheel well over Toronto... These I have compassion for. But the memory of this was I recall a discussion about how these kids..Would we have taken this risk ???...in our ignorance we were unconcerned about such niceties of pressure and temperatures...
The roumour was that it had been used before as a method to leave. That there was a man who could get u onto the airport through a hole in the fence.. Y did Jamaicans chose to make these risky moves ????. For oppertunties... Here three had oppertunities handed to them and they buggered it up..
again these are cases where they were highlighted for effect....