Glad to see so many of the old boardites here. All suggestions are game and nothing is too radical. I am considering repositioning, removing forums, adding/subtracting mods, renaming forums, topical discussion by day, the war room and a section/new forum for our travelers/tourist/lovers of Jamaica. It makes no sense to have comprehensive travel information with no place for traveler/lovers of Jamaica to interact.
We have been one of the leaders in Caribbean Jamaican forums but it is clear we cannot continue to do what we are doing if we want people to interact. I am in the process of planning out the most effective changes and plan to start in the mid-August.
Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. - Albert Einstein
And a voice of reason tries to shout above the clatter. Seems a lot like a pragmatic Democrat in a room full of "light your hair on fire" Republicans.
Motion for a war room section. I will even help write the warnings for anybody that request access. Anybody second and third the motion so X-man can consider it?
Dat way people can talk bout yt man, chiney man, black man, yellowman, all kinda man and ooman and other topics to dem heart's content. Any whiney cry cry who easily offended can stay out of dat section.
and a section/new forum for our travelers/tourist/lovers of Jamaica. It makes no sense to have comprehensive travel information with no place for traveler/lovers of Jamaica to interact.
Good!
Evan as a Jamaican Citizen I would like travel and tourism info on Jamaica.
I'm not talking about creating a rule preventing people from inviting others to the board but rather a specific protocol and process to set the parametres for inviting subjects of news stories, particularly once the discussion has taken place. This is being used as a way to cause trouble when someone is losing an argument or not in agreement with views expressed.
Again something you have done before and all but admit to doing?
Okay since Xavier is looking for more feedback, I have some more feedback.
Seems like the "tourist crowd" is objecting to the discussion of racial issues. It is as if they want to treat Jamaica and this board as their personal playground to laugh and have fun without having to concern themselves with the very real issues that Jamaicans at home and abroad face.
i agree... and the world reaction is trying to capture and replicate that Joie du vive....it is not that we are faster tougher smarter .. it is just that we have developed the ulimate balance in our humaitiy and lack of it at times... It is unfortunate that it is not simply genetic....ie if you are not socialised there on the island you miss some of it...u can tell from the board those who have it.. those who were socialised in Jamaica they are assured and self assured without hiding behind the external exigencies...
Jamaicans are beyond what Nietzsche conceived to be the superman..
compare the average Jamaica to any other nation and we are fantastic....our bell curve is so far to the right! But this is a double edge sword creativity brings destructive tendencies...physical attributes bring with it over emphasis...intelligence brings with it intolerance...
So are you saying to me that all of the Jamaicans here must not be disrespected BUT all tourists and all people who aren't 'persons of color' can certainly be disrespected and that's OK? And, btw, it's OK that Xavier himself can also be disrespected, too?
I'm not accusing you, I'm asking for clarification.
aff course yuh miss da pint
da pint wass bout respectinn jamaicans rites cah wi natt tallarate disrespect ann secand class status pon yah. doan yuh see jamaicans.com mismanagement disrectinn jamaicans pon yah cawlinn wear dem waan moas jamaicans fe poas da war room
wen ave yuh eva ear mii chatt bout disrespectinn all tourists and all people who aren't 'persons of color.'
guess yuh doan ovatand wat wii mean bye respect due. awl peeps need fe be respectful but will retain da rite to respond inn kind to disrespect.
wen ave jamaicans pon yah eva disrespected tourists. da disagreement dat sum jamaicans ann tourist iss fundamentallee bout da tourists lack aff ovatandinn ja kulcha. wan tourist gat affend cah shi took picture as art inn jamaica ann got affend wen sum jamaicans pon yah criticized it. guess shi neva ear sum jamaicans criticizinn damien marley welcome to jamrock cah itt show poverty inn jamaica. sum tourists pon yah chatt bout gittinn dem itch scratch inn ja ann got affend wen jamaicans bunn fiyah pon sexual tourism. inn chattinn bout dat peeps got disrepectfull ann itt was returned inn kind. yuh kno mii a equal appartunitee fiyah chower so fi gawn like peeps pon yah onlee bunn fiyah tourists and all people who aren't 'persons of color' iss natt accurate. jamaicans bunn fiyah pon awl ann sum jamaicans pon yah ar natt peeps aff color
do yuh tink x-man iss above criticism? mii bunn fiyah pon x-man too
Blu, i have an honest question and please answer me (nebody weh frequent GD really can answer).
I am not big a GD particicpant. mi only deh yah so much bcus of the recent drama. is only wen contention up yah mi love up yah and generally soon as the drama ova mi go back go chill in the SB.
so, do u think its the topics ie, race, sexual orientation, politics etc that is causing the "problem" or is it really about personal beefs/vendettas. seems like everytime i come up here (during contention) its seems like ppl a cuss bout who a try mash up whofah life, who a suss in pms, who get who fired etc etc.....
it no seem to me dat dem really a discuss the topics as much as each other.
for instance, the post that sparked all this discussion, was due to Tropi's about the smaddy a news etc.
boat da topics ann personal beefs ar interrelated. itt like wen mii bunn fiyah funnee bizz funnee peeps tekk affense ann tri fe dissrespect. a gawn like mii natt entitled fe bunn fiyah pon slackness. tink pon da mzungu cantroversee fore mii tarted usinn mzungu mii poas da multiple meaninns butt dat still affended da mzungu woo neva like mii chattinn bout dem.
yuh rite da personal beef moas aff da thyme gitt inn da way aff discussinn tapics. still da part aff da fun
Why? I'd like to hear what you have to say. You=Jamaican Me=American tourist
I'm always interested in what is going on in Jamaica, but that's me.
Most tourists I know only care about Jamaica before they leave for vacation, and that is to check the weather forecast.
Why? I'd like to hear what you have to say. You=Jamaican Me=American tourist
I'm always interested in what is going on in Jamaica, but that's me.
Most tourists I know only care about Jamaica before they leave for vacation, and that is to check the weather forecast.
Hundreds of example to show that tourists including those from the USA have been attracted to Jamaica for more than mere vacation.
Many tourists/visitors visit yearly to do charitable works. Harmons, Riverton, SOS Children's Homes, Peace Corps, Jamaican & Supportive Organizations, Inc and many more.
Then you have folks like this one, who go to live and work:
Many researchers, mostly on environment visit and live in Jamaica for extended periods.
A sizable number of visitors go for love of culture (Dancehall Queen Competition, Jazz Fest, Sumfest), love (real or imagined).
da pint wass bout respectinn jamaicans rites cah wi natt tallarate disrespect ann secand class status pon yah. doan yuh see jamaicans.com mismanagement disrectinn jamaicans pon yah cawlinn wear dem waan moas jamaicans fe poas da war room
Diss mak me laff. Blu, you disrespect yt people everytime you post derogatory words like mzungu or oyinbo.
And now you talk about how wi Jamaicans natt tallarate disrespect.
Humans don't tolerate disrespect...why you think Jamaicans are the only ones that have a lock on this?
And this area(war room) was set up exclusively for the likes of you,(and me) but you say you no like?
Hmm, maybe it's because your posts won't have the same shock value that they had before in general discussion?
People that don't want to see that kind of stuff don't have to. Sort of puts you out of business?
The only ones that will find your posts now are those that look for such.
Blu, welcome to the war room. Don't like it? Don't let the door hit you in the a$$ on the way out.
Many tourists/visitors visit yearly to do charitable works. Harmons, Riverton, SOS Children's Homes, Peace Corps, Jamaican & Supportive Organizations, Inc and many more.
Ok, I see what you are sayin. I classify tourists differently than those that are there on a mission.
I know Brother Duffy that was part of Catholic charities that has spent a few years in Kingston helping folks, but I don't consider him a tourist.
I'm a tourist when I'm in Jamaica because I'm there for the resorts, beach, redstripe etc.
Diss mak me laff. Blu, you disrespect yt people everytime you post derogatory words like mzungu or oyinbo.
And now you talk about how wi Jamaicans natt tallarate disrespect.
Humans don't tolerate disrespect...why you think Jamaicans are the only ones that have a lock on this?
And this area(war room) was set up exclusively for the likes of you,(and me) but you say you no like?
Hmm, maybe it's because your posts won't have the same shock value that they had before in general discussion?
People that don't want to see that kind of stuff don't have to. Sort of puts you out of business?
The only ones that will find your posts now are those that look for such.
Blu, welcome to the war room. Don't like it? Don't let the door hit you in the a$$ on the way out.
Let the games begin...
wan aff da way dem enslaved ann mekk da afrikkans subservient wass fe tekk wey dem languages. so iff yuh gitt upset dat mii cawl peeps mzungu ann oyinbo good nan affensive wurd, itt mekk mii feel good
yuh figgit dat pon da verendah iss awlso mii playground
do tekk itt funnee butt any man woo tell annada man fe mekk da door hit imm inn da a$$ sund like imm ave anal fixation issues
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.