That's unfortunate. Thank you for taking the time to respond.
Why Can't This Board Attract New Members....
Originally posted by missus_vegas View Postyes jahyout dat have alot to do with it. I think i am one of if not the youngest poster on here and mi soon ketch 30.
i cant imagine many ppl younger than me being bothered with this site. all dat reading and writing and spelling.
not when you can watch a youtube vid and leave a 2-3 line comment. etc etc. it is very rare i read an entire post that is longer than one or two paragraphs.
but mi love di old ppl dem so mi will be here. hell or high wata:jamaice2:
vegas-- forever young fresh and green--what other site could i find you like this
--- one thing i notice with young people (under 30) today is that they have very short attention spans & the message board format just does not appeal...i also find the youngsters have become more close-minded & parochial in their views...you would be shocked to know the amount of youth i know who only listen to hip-hop or only listen to dancehall or only listen to this or that music;
one of the bigger disappointments to me is the lack of jamaicans on the rock who participate in the forum...it seems like mostly ppl inna foreign discussing serious issues going on in jamaica---but i have to say i participated on jamaicans.com longer than any other message board i've ever been on...the 2 or 3 other boards i've used in my life i stopped visiting years now & most of them have died off...it's just the times, but for some reason mi juss cyaan leff di likkle community yah...
we cuss & carry on sometimes but unnu a fambily
thank you, vegas.
what i'm doing now is clicking on "new posts" and that gives me what i'm looking for, albeit only five threads per page.
Originally posted by missus_vegas View Posti think you can change that in ur settings.
Look at this stuff in settings. Sound like u need to chane ur settings to linear.
Thread Display Options
Can I change the order of posts?
You have a choice over how you view threads. When you're in a thread, look at the top bar. On the right hand side you'll see 'Display Mode'. Click on this and it lets you change how posts are ordered.
You have three choices:
Linear Mode - posts are displayed chronologically, usually from oldest to newest. Posts are shown in a flat mode so that many posts can be viewed simultaneously. It is possible to change the ordering by changing your preferences in the User CP
Threaded Mode - a tree is shown along with every post. This shows you the relationship each post has to the others. It's easy to see who responded to whom. Only one post is shown at a time. By clicking on a single post in the post tree, the page will show that post and all posts made in response to it.
Hybrid Mode - This is a mixture of the linear and threaded modes. The post tree is displayed as in the threaded mode, but many posts are shown at the same time as in the linear modes.
Viewing New Posts or Today's Posts
How can I see the latest posts?
There are two ways to quickly view recently created or updated threads.
If you are not logged in, the 'today's posts' link will show a list of all threads that have been created or updated in the last 24 hours.
If you are logged in, the 'Today's Posts' link will change to 'New Posts', which gives you a listing of all threads that have been created or updated since your last visit.
The administrator can also set up the forums so that each thread you read is marked in the database. If this option is set, then new threads (or threads with new posts) will not be marked as read until you have actually read them.
There is a built-in time limit to this, however, that will automatically mark all threads as 'read' after a set number of day, whether you really have read them or not. The default setting is 10 days, but the administrator could make this higher or lower.
Rating Threads
I am looking to modify this. It is a bit challenging.Originally posted by mountaingal View Postthank you, vegas.
what i'm doing now is clicking on "new posts" and that gives me what i'm looking for, albeit only five threads per page.Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
I'm a member of this site http://www.vsplanet.com/ubbthreads/ubbthreads.php
which always had a similar interfave like j.com b4 unno switch to this.
They upgraded and the site "seems" to pretty much de same an dem have de sb as well.
wat a tingOriginally posted by R00TS View PostWhen Ja'holics disappeared I felt like I as a tourist was given my walking papers. sucked
lang thyme mii awlso tell dem dat pon da varandah need fe bee more likkle diss ann likkle dat deal widd ja roots ann kulcha. pon da varandah ann coodeh nuh mixxed cah pan da verandah more intellectual ann coodeh more jokeseefide
wen ole peeps chatt bout da good ole day mii kno dem memoreeees badd. fram mii a yuth inn ja violence,crime ann sexual tourism ting a gawn cah aff xxtreme povertee. dat y wen den chatt bout da good ole days mii remind dem dat bakk dem a latt aff jamaicans were laffinn cah dem neva waan fe bawl. moas jamaica ar humouros. imagine mii cousin woo juss cum to chattinn deep patwah askinn wan latino ladee iff shi nuh chat innglish dat y shi doan ovatand imm.Originally posted by accompong View PostActually, I started to visit Jamaica long before this "Renta" business was so prevalent. You know, in the days when Jamaicans were mostly sincere and humorous. Perhaps you never got the chance to experience it then?
In those days, people traveled all around the island in the old country buses without much of a fear that something bad could happen to you out on the island. I have never been much of a fan of "segregation" either here in the Deep South of the US where I live part of the year or in my little village of Accompong Town where I now reside much of the time. I see a lot of wood and water but not a lot of the wood you are referring to.
Thank you for the smidgen of credit. I will in turn give you some credit as well as you are a man of conviction although I am not really sure what you are or have been convicted of.
Seriously though. Freedom of Speech is not actually free. Xavier gives us all the treasured opportunity to speak our minds and promote our points of view at his expense. It is the Sandals and Beaches and Hedos that pay for your right to speak so freely. I remember when a half a million impressions on this site was a common occurrence (hope I am correct on that or Xavier will point out my error). Those enormous page loads were not inspired by "Paula Dean" or "yt" or ______ fill in the blank. They were from sponsors who saw their places being talked about and wanting to cash in on the free advertising. This gave lots of room to expand out the offerings here from Suss Reports to Ackee and Salt Fish etc. but the people who made this such a special place have gone elsewhere.
I think it would do everyone a whole lot of good to try to recapture some of those "good old days" when Jamaicans.com was consistently winning the top web site in Jamaica award.
Peace and Guidance
realitee iss dat mii auntee husband woo past a way a couple ear ago wass wan aff da direct relative aff wan aff da maroon captains ann mii use fe tell dat dem maroons sold out dem afrikkan brothers inn ja. itt bout ovatandinn da histaree kulcha. dat y mii keep remindinn peeps dat mzungu awlso meen peeps woo doan ovatand de societal locateshan. dat y mii caan chatt bout renta dread cah mii kno sum dat will do aneeting fe da dollars. yuh affii ear sum aff da torees dem tell bout wey dem gitt new pants ann shirts fram.
wandar iff western union ad still deh pon yah cah itt remittance ting, ja welfare, a run ting now. ttroo ting wen yuh sey "free speech" att x-man xxpense mii wandar y bizzness man like x-man nuh profit more from yah? itt like dem hotel peeps inn ja woo gitt bigg tax break ann free land fe build hotel cumplain bout dem natt mekkinn enuff money. so fe sey dem tourism sponors woo ar da benefisharee aff jamaican tax money ann free land sponsorinn mii speech dat a wan aff dem da aalf da stories dat neva told tings.
juss fe sey dat dem good ole day feel good storee ar limited cah itt wass natt da good ole days fe awl jamaicans. itt like jamaica reggae charts dose widd moas payola dollars ave da top spots even iff dat natt da song moas jamaicans a lissen to. still yuh lyrics remind mii aff beres good ole days chune wild mii more prefer imm puttinn upp a resistance
even seyinn dat mii still tink x-man need fe xxploit ow fe capture more aff da jamaicans ann tourists market fe grow da site butt fe xxpect jamaicans fe humourous ann sincere iss fe xxpect criticism aff da part aff tourism da xxploit jamaicans
Well, a lot of stuff to answer.Originally posted by blugiant View Postwen ole peeps chatt bout da good ole day mii kno dem memoreeees badd. fram mii a yuth inn ja violence,crime ann sexual tourism ting a gawn cah aff xxtreme povertee. dat y wen den chatt bout da good ole days mii remind dem dat bakk dem a latt aff jamaicans were laffinn cah dem neva waan fe bawl. moas jamaica ar humouros. imagine mii cousin woo juss cum to chattinn deep patwah askinn wan latino ladee iff shi nuh chat innglish dat y shi doan ovatand imm.
realitee iss dat mii auntee husband woo past a way a couple ear ago wass wan aff da direct relative aff wan aff da maroon captains ann mii use fe tell dat dem maroons sold out dem afrikkan brothers inn ja. itt bout ovatandinn da histaree kulcha. dat y mii keep remindinn peeps dat mzungu awlso meen peeps woo doan ovatand de societal locateshan. dat y mii caan chatt bout renta dread cah mii kno sum dat will do aneeting fe da dollars. yuh affii ear sum aff da torees dem tell bout wey dem gitt new pants ann shirts fram.
wandar iff western union ad still deh pon yah cah itt remittance ting, ja welfare, a run ting now. ttroo ting wen yuh sey "free speech" att x-man xxpense mii wandar y bizzness man like x-man nuh profit more from yah? itt like dem hotel peeps inn ja woo gitt bigg tax break ann free land fe build hotel cumplain bout dem natt mekkinn enuff money. so fe sey dem tourism sponors woo ar da benefisharee aff jamaican tax money ann free land sponsorinn mii speech dat a wan aff dem da aalf da stories dat neva told tings.
juss fe sey dat dem good ole day feel good storee ar limited cah itt wass natt da good ole days fe awl jamaicans. itt like jamaica reggae charts dose widd moas payola dollars ave da top spots even iff dat natt da song moas jamaicans a lissen to. still yuh lyrics remind mii aff beres good ole days chune wild mii more prefer imm puttinn upp a resistance
even seyinn dat mii still tink x-man need fe xxploit ow fe capture more aff da jamaicans ann tourists market fe grow da site butt fe xxpect jamaicans fe humourous ann sincere iss fe xxpect criticism aff da part aff tourism da xxploit jamaicans
I can't speak for Xavier but I know him for a long time and he is like a brother to me. I can only assume that he would like to make more profit while at the same time allow his fellow Jamaicans the space to "speak freely". At one time in the past, that was achievable as there was little cross-pollination of Jamaicans vs Tourists so both could exist in relative harmony. Now, it is kind off like trying to rent an apartment and having your mean talking (not really 'mean' but 'mean talking'wen yuh sey "free speech" att x-man xxpense mii wandar y bizzness man like x-man nuh profit more from yah?
) relatives all sitting on the front stoop which tends to intimidate potential renters. In this example, the "renters" are potential sponsors and tourists who want to post trip reports.
General Discussion is first on the list and always has a lot of people reading and a few people always posting. After all, you can't have 10's of thousands of posts which actually mean anything, can you? Perhaps it has to be last on the list and still be active while letting non-Jamaicans have a likkle elbow room to expand. Something to think about in my opinion.
I can't speak for all Maroons (just like you can't speak for all Jamaicans) but even though there is a clause in the Maroon Treaty of 1739 to have runaways returned to a local parish leader who would return them to their owners, there is not one single record of any being returned by the people of Accompong Town. In fact, just the opposite as the Accompong Maroons protected any runaways that came upon their land.realitee iss dat mii auntee husband woo past a way a couple ear ago wass wan aff da direct relative aff wan aff da maroon captains ann mii use fe tell dat dem maroons sold out dem afrikkan brothers inn ja. itt bout ovatandinn da histaree kulcha.
Again, even though I now live in Jamaica, I am and will always be a 'tourist' but you can't blame the tourists for all the sexploitation, violence, poverty and crime. As Buju said, "Who can afford to run will run but what about those who can't they will have to stay. Oppurtunity a scarce, scarce commodity in dis time I say.." Those that could have helped change the way things run did get a chance to leave and left. Every time someone offers something there is always someone who will buy or sell it.... simple as dat!
Peace and Guidance
that's the reason for me. There are a few ppl - some old original members and some new - who are so unpleasant, so intolerant, and who think they 'know' much more than they really know - who are always twisting and misconstruing other people's input to fit their own narrowminded & intolerant point-of-view, PLUS they are the ones who most loudly attack and judge others, all the while getting actual enjoyment and expressing pure GLEE at downtalking others and putting ppl down. Further, they are some of the least knowledgable or intelligent and some of the MOST loud and belligerent - they make it so unpleasant around here that i just gave up.the same characters snap and bite at each other's heels ad nauseum.
plus, there's the added benefit of being able to 'friend' many of our boardites on fassbook, and that's an easier, bettter way to more personally stay in touch with the boardites with whom i enjoy conversing and chatting. Even though we might be of differing opinions on things, these folks are ones who can discuss, debate, challenge, and converse WITHOUT the venom, vitriol, and judgementalism that has seemed to take over here. It's tiresome and unpleasant. These few who are so miserable here are also the most outspoken, most hateful, and most prolific in their mean, judgemental, and totally ignorant posts. I have no interest in wading through their mess, and i can stay in touch much more personally - and pleasantly - with folks on fassbook. I still come over here once in a while and read and occasionally post, but mostly i see these same few 'snapping and biting', continually posting more of the same-old same-old topics over and over again, continually arguing about the same old stuff - and i never stay long. I find it pretty easy to imagine that new ppl who come here also see that, and don't find it a fun place to be, so they don't become new members either -
having said that, X-man i want you to personally know i still love you and admire your efforts and will always be grateful for your part in giving me some of my BEST in-real-life "forever friends". If it wasn't for jams.com we would never have met. I love you and thank you for that, and that will never change...Last edited by sistacaf; 07-28-2013, 02:16 PM.
X2 ^Originally posted by sistacaf View Postthat's the reason for me. There are a few ppl - some old original members and some new - who are so unpleasant, so intolerant, and who think they 'know' much more than they really know - who are always twisting and misconstruing other people's input to fit their own narrowminded & intolerant point-of-view, PLUS they are the ones who most loudly attack and judge others, all the while getting actual enjoyment and expressing pure GLEE at downtalking others and putting ppl down. Further, they are some of the least knowledgable or intelligent and some of the MOST loud and belligerent - they make it so unpleasant around here that i just gave up.
plus, there's the added benefit of being able to 'friend' many of our boardites on fassbook, and that's an easier, bettter way to more personally stay in touch with the boardites with whom i enjoy conversing and chatting. Even though we might be of differing opinions on things, these folks are ones who can discuss, debate, challenge, and converse WITHOUT the venom, vitriol, and judgementalism that has seemed to take over here. It's tiresome and unpleasant. These few who are so miserable here are also the most outspoken, most hateful, and most prolific in their mean, judgemental, and totally ignorant posts. I have no interest in wading through their mess, and i can stay in touch much more personally - and pleasantly - with folks on fassbook. I still come over here once in a while and read and occasionally post, but mostly i see these same few 'snapping and biting', continually posting more of the same-old same-old topics over and over again, continually arguing about the same old stuff - and i never stay long. I find it pretty easy to imagine that new ppl who come here also see that, and don't find it a fun place to be, so they don't become new members either -
having said that, X-man i want you to personally know i still love you and admire your efforts and will always be grateful for your part in giving me some of my BEST in-real-life "forever friends". If it wasn't for jams.com we would never have met. I love you and thank you for that, and that will never change...
Sistacalf said it all.