Originally posted by Xavier
Why Can't This Board Attract New Members....
there are worse discussions in cyberspace, really mean and vicious commentary that seem only to be controlled by the rising up of more sensible members of that community to get things back under control. jcans.com no better and no worse than others. what would help is the presentation of other options for people who want to bypass the kass kass, but as i mentioned, it's hard to keep track of other options because they get flooded by the individual comments in the big arguments. i suppose we could just keep searching each individual forum for alternate discussions, but who have time for that?
was dat da renta dred days wen ja use bigg upp sexual tourismOriginally posted by accompong View PostI think this is a viable option. Somehow you have to allow the Tourist and Jamaicans room to express themselves without contamination. By that I mean, if a Jamaican wants to help a tourist then they can post information and leave the "expression their emotions" to a spot where others of the same ilk reside (i.e. Tourist, Jamaicans). Then the third would be a hybrid of sorts where some sort of moderation could be in place to keep it from degrading to the Jamaican Board. Perhaps threads could be transferred to and from these boards when the need arises to maintain civility.
In the "old days", j.com was noted for the best trip reports and advice for travelers. That, in my opinion, is what any modification of the present board system should strive to attain.
Peace and Guidance
jamaica famous fe segregatinn moas aff dem tourists fran cantact widd da native jamaicans
still sum tourists wood natt enjoy dem vacateshan widd out native "contamination" cah dem luv da wood ann water
accompong mii will give yuh a likkle credit cah yuh use fe awlso push da kultural tourism
My views.
Howdy y'all. Ensome here.
About 12 years ago I joined this site. I looked forward to getting on the computer so I could interact with people who were just as insane as I was. I never took anything seriously. As a matter of fact, I took great pains to avoid discussions that would annoy me.
I have since changed careers and do not have the time to sit on Jamaicans.com all day. That does not mean that I have not lurked. Heck! I've even looked for threads that I'd like to 'chat fawt inna'. I gotta tell ya, they were few and far apart. Di nowadays people dem too uptite man. Every lickle ting dem a trace bout. Den yuh ave di holier than thou ones. Di wans dem weh a awtarritti pon every blastid subjeck. Mi raw. Suh mi jus quick time shet di door an tep out. Cawz, yuh si crowd a people, mi a get ole an crotchitty. Mi ave all kinda a stress inna my life areddi. An mi a suffa fram ADD suh mi cyaan really pay attention to di people weh love poas di long drawn out fawt dem weh dem like poas. Mi shawt tempad an wi nuh hesitate fi tell people two *****. An mi know an ave respeck fi Xayvia suh mi naw guh disgrace im board dem way deh. All a di miserable people fi chill di hell out man. Unoo life nuh full a enuff tarment? Why di baxside unoo love trace out people weh unoo nat even know? A suh dem important? SMH
Mi long fi come up ya an si nuff fawt a tawk. A dem deh sitten mi like. Entime unoo start duh dat again mi wi poas regila.
Hello! Is why di time seh mi poas 9:32 a nite? Is 5:36 PM. Lickle moas mi tink mi lost di ress a mi senses.Originally posted by Ensomgirl View PostHowdy y'all. Ensome here.
About 12 years ago I joined this site. I looked forward to getting on the computer so I could interact with people who were just as insane as I was. I never took anything seriously. As a matter of fact, I took great pains to avoid discussions that would annoy me.
I have since changed careers and do not have the time to sit on Jamaicans.com all day. That does not mean that I have not lurked. Heck! I've even looked for threads that I'd like to 'chat fawt inna'. I gotta tell ya, they were few and far apart. Di nowadays people dem too uptite man. Every lickle ting dem a trace bout. Den yuh ave di holier than thou ones. Di wans dem weh a awtarritti pon every blastid subjeck. Mi raw. Suh mi jus quick time shet di door an tep out. Cawz, yuh si crowd a people, mi a get ole an crotchitty. Mi ave all kinda a stress inna my life areddi. An mi a suffa fram ADD suh mi cyaan really pay attention to di people weh love poas di long drawn out fawt dem weh dem like poas. Mi shawt tempad an wi nuh hesitate fi tell people two *****. An mi know an ave respeck fi Xayvia suh mi naw guh disgrace im board dem way deh. All a di miserable people fi chill di hell out man. Unoo life nuh full a enuff tarment? Why di baxside unoo love trace out people weh unoo nat even know? A suh dem important? SMH
Mi long fi come up ya an si nuff fawt a tawk. A dem deh sitten mi like. Entime unoo start duh dat again mi wi poas regila.
Actually, I started to visit Jamaica long before this "Renta" business was so prevalent. You know, in the days when Jamaicans were mostly sincere and humorous. Perhaps you never got the chance to experience it then?Originally posted by blugiant View Postwas dat da renta dred days wen ja use bigg upp sexual tourism
jamaica famous fe segregatinn moas aff dem tourists fran cantact widd da native jamaicans
still sum tourists wood natt enjoy dem vacateshan widd out native "contamination" cah dem luv da wood ann water
accompong mii will give yuh a likkle credit cah yuh use fe awlso push da kultural tourism
In those days, people traveled all around the island in the old country buses without much of a fear that something bad could happen to you out on the island. I have never been much of a fan of "segregation" either here in the Deep South of the US where I live part of the year or in my little village of Accompong Town where I now reside much of the time. I see a lot of wood and water but not a lot of the wood you are referring to.
Thank you for the smidgen of credit. I will in turn give you some credit as well as you are a man of conviction although I am not really sure what you are or have been convicted of.
Seriously though. Freedom of Speech is not actually free. Xavier gives us all the treasured opportunity to speak our minds and promote our points of view at his expense. It is the Sandals and Beaches and Hedos that pay for your right to speak so freely. I remember when a half a million impressions on this site was a common occurrence (hope I am correct on that or Xavier will point out my error). Those enormous page loads were not inspired by "Paula Dean" or "yt" or ______ fill in the blank. They were from sponsors who saw their places being talked about and wanting to cash in on the free advertising. This gave lots of room to expand out the offerings here from Suss Reports to Ackee and Salt Fish etc. but the people who made this such a special place have gone elsewhere.
I think it would do everyone a whole lot of good to try to recapture some of those "good old days" when Jamaicans.com was consistently winning the top web site in Jamaica award.
Peace and Guidance
i think you can change that in ur settings.Originally posted by mountaingal View Postpersonally for me, it's the ****ty redesign. more time mi cyaan badda scross through the whole heapa individual post to find a new topic. and god forbid you post something, go away for a bit, and admin spam bot upload 50 topics in your absence. you scroll fi DAYS fi find you post.
too much work to interact on here.
Look at this stuff in settings. Sound like u need to chane ur settings to linear.
Thread Display Options
Can I change the order of posts?
You have a choice over how you view threads. When you're in a thread, look at the top bar. On the right hand side you'll see 'Display Mode'. Click on this and it lets you change how posts are ordered.
You have three choices:
Linear Mode - posts are displayed chronologically, usually from oldest to newest. Posts are shown in a flat mode so that many posts can be viewed simultaneously. It is possible to change the ordering by changing your preferences in the User CP
Threaded Mode - a tree is shown along with every post. This shows you the relationship each post has to the others. It's easy to see who responded to whom. Only one post is shown at a time. By clicking on a single post in the post tree, the page will show that post and all posts made in response to it.
Hybrid Mode - This is a mixture of the linear and threaded modes. The post tree is displayed as in the threaded mode, but many posts are shown at the same time as in the linear modes.
Viewing New Posts or Today's Posts
How can I see the latest posts?
There are two ways to quickly view recently created or updated threads.
If you are not logged in, the 'today's posts' link will show a list of all threads that have been created or updated in the last 24 hours.
If you are logged in, the 'Today's Posts' link will change to 'New Posts', which gives you a listing of all threads that have been created or updated since your last visit.
The administrator can also set up the forums so that each thread you read is marked in the database. If this option is set, then new threads (or threads with new posts) will not be marked as read until you have actually read them.
There is a built-in time limit to this, however, that will automatically mark all threads as 'read' after a set number of day, whether you really have read them or not. The default setting is 10 days, but the administrator could make this higher or lower.
Rating Threads
Jamaicans. com won the top spots in all polls because di people who saw the island as dem personsl spot fi all dat satisfy dem however nasty it was, were the ones voting fi it...if people tink dem so in di right, stand u ground...y run if wat u a do is not wrong...feh...di good ole days not good fi all...I don't miss the depicting of poor Jcans as anybody bedroom playting.... I certainly don't miss seeing yet anodda black, buffed young man being ogled by grandmoddas whose time has passed howeva much dem feel dat 80 is di new 20....not everything u do need to be known by all n dat is wat di internet does..put it out dere fi all an sundry...n I don't miss di grandfadda white men who feel dat dem doing dem own brand of redistribution of wealth wen dem at 90 a feel up a 19 yr ole n ha har younger siblings a tink dis is a proper way fi see wat serve a hotel....nasty is nasty n nuff of wat went awn as juss fun was downright nasty....bet none a oono want fi oono young pickney weh come outta fi oono womb/balls haffi put up wid dat...kin up dem teet like dem a latta day slave pon massa touriss marketplace.....I don't care who tink di I mek any no post yah...cockroach always run wen light tun awn
When you are not part of a solution, you are part of the problem but..... In your case your nastiness is the problem. xxxxxxxxxxxxOriginally posted by evanovitch View PostJamaicans. com won the top spots in all polls because di people who saw the island as dem personsl spot fi all dat satisfy dem however nasty it was, were the ones voting fi it...if people tink dem so in di right, stand u ground...y run if wat u a do is not wrong...feh...di good ole days not good fi all...I don't miss the depicting of poor Jcans as anybody bedroom playting.... I certainly don't miss seeing yet anodda black, buffed young man being ogled by grandmoddas whose time has passed howeva much dem feel dat 80 is di new 20....not everything u do need to be known by all n dat is wat di internet does..put it out dere fi all an sundry...n I don't miss di grandfadda white men who feel dat dem doing dem own brand of redistribution of wealth wen dem at 90 a feel up a 19 yr ole n ha har younger siblings a tink dis is a proper way fi see wat serve a hotel....nasty is nasty n nuff of wat went awn as juss fun was downright nasty....bet none a oono want fi oono young pickney weh come outta fi oono womb/balls haffi put up wid dat...kin up dem teet like dem a latta day slave pon massa touriss marketplace.....I don't care who tink di I mek any no post yah...cockroach always run wen light tun awn
Peace and Guidance
**** u too....we cant all carry ur big stick n try wipe out ur conscience or prove u relevant...xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxOriginally posted by accompong View PostWhen you are not part of a solution, you are part of the problem but..... In your case your nastiness is the problem. xxxxxxxxx
Peace and Guidance
I used to hang out in FR&P until the Christians made it abundantly clear that my kind wasn't welcome, and there was a heathen exodus. I must confess, I'm tickled by the state of the exorcised FR&P.Originally posted by Tuff Gong View PostNo it was not so here.
The Mods and their gangs systematically. weeded out members, even following them to other boards, their workplaces, their homes and other places.
I can cite many specific examples, but I will just keep it broad.
There were three themes + crazy, running through this board.
The Brand Jamaica Police
The Religion Police
The Race Police
Then there were the crazy, unstable mods that clearly needed help.
Social Media Forums such a Facebook and Twitter actually made it easier to by pass this Board that has developed a reputation for ruining the lives of members
Some boards I'm on have a 'war room' where just about anything goes. Some even have a password where a member has to specifically request access. That way the member knows where they are going. I recall one section called the Colosseum. It didn't even show up in the forum listing unless the member was registered, and was granted access. Any whiners were simply asked if they wanted to have their access removed. It was no different than buying a house at the end of an airport runway, then complaining about the noise of the planes.Originally posted by Xavier View PostThere is a time we actually considering doing that. In fact I have felt like putting a warning "Enter at your own risk" disclaimer on GD on many occasions so as not to scare people off when they see the "heated discussions" by the different users. Then I think if I do that it will draw attention to GD and people will only want to look. But when you see how many lurkers are watching the "heated" discussions ...
Not I. And don't even try to make a claim that I was one of those kind of Christians you're describing, either! I have never ever shoved religion down anybody's throat.Originally posted by heretic View PostI used to hang out in FR&P until the Christians made it abundantly clear that my kind wasn't welcome, and there was a heathen exodus. I must confess, I'm tickled by the state of the exorcised FR&P.
But, I can say that I feel just how you describe, ironically: "abundantly clear that my kind [decent people who happen to be Christian] aren't welcome. IMO, that board still needs to be exorcised - not of 'heathens' but of demons who can't stand anybody's prayer of any kind, ever, at all... of people who insist upon bringing their non-believing ways even to threads requesting simple prayers for someone ill, etc... of persons who force (or try to force) their views that there is no God on the rest of us who do believe in God. My sister-in-law (Mr Witchy's only sibling) is dying, with probably only a few more weeks to live (according to her doctors), of metastasized cancer - yet I don't even feel able to go and ask for ppl's prayers for her. Because I know damned well that ppl will make such arguments filled with vitriol against those of us who believe in God out of such a simple wish posted that I just won't do it. AND, btw, NOBODY bother to "wish positive thoughts"; I would rather cut my own throat than read such b-s drivel. I am not too stupid to know that none of unoo mean it, so save everyone on the board the problem of dealing with flack and just don't post it and don't even think of my beloved sister-in-law. She doesn't need your negativity. And I'm not interested in reading it. So save us all and refrain from posting it. Enough people who mean it will pray for her or send positive thoughts/vibes, etc.
pan the whole of unnoo so-called "heathens" (heretic's word, not mine - I don't actually think that word has ever come out of my mouth unless discussing history)
Yep. And it works quite well, too.Originally posted by LinSkinny View PostSome boards I'm on have a 'war room' where just about anything goes. Some even have a password where a member has to specifically request access. That way the member knows where they are going. I recall one section called the Colosseum. It didn't even show up in the forum listing unless the member was registered, and was granted access. Any whiners were simply asked if they wanted to have their access removed. It was no different than buying a house at the end of an airport runway, then complaining about the noise of the planes.
But that will never ever happen here, LinSkinny.