No the race topics should stay exactly where they are. They are relevant to Jamaicans at home and abroad. Mek de tourists who want to chat bout who dem rooks have dem own private yawd with a warning.
Why Can't This Board Attract New Members....
I second that... but, it's obvious X-man has built an successful web site. To suggest that their is any real problem with the website is just not fair. It's a people problem not a website problem.Originally posted by LinSkinny View PostMotion for a war room section. I will even help write the warnings for anybody that request access. Anybody second and third the motion so X-man can consider it?
Dat way people can talk bout yt man, chiney man, black man, yellowman, all kinda man and ooman and other topics to dem heart's content. Any whiney cry cry who easily offended can stay out of dat section.
You and I both know that certain members (passive agressive) are going to claim foul regardless of topic, because their real objective is to control content and direction of conversations that they involve themselves in. There is no room in their closed minded world for other people's opinion that differ from theirs.
Can you imagine a discussion board where everyone agreed? How boring would that be?
Spicy conversation is like spicy food...some folk have trouble digesting it while others can't get enough.
Glad to see so many of the old boardites here. All suggestions are game and nothing is too radical. I am considering repositioning, removing forums, adding/subtracting mods, renaming forums, topical discussion by day, the war room and a section/new forum for our travelers/tourist/lovers of Jamaica. It makes no sense to have comprehensive travel information with no place for traveler/lovers of Jamaica to interact.
We have been one of the leaders in Caribbean Jamaican forums but it is clear we cannot continue to do what we are doing if we want people to interact. I am in the process of planning out the most effective changes and plan to start in the mid-August.
Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. - Albert EinsteinOut of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
You and I both know that certain members (passive agressive) are going to claim foul regardless of topic, because their real objective is to control content and direction of conversations that they involve themselves in. There is no room in their closed minded world for other people's opinion that differ from theirs.
an my man or ooman type dat wid straight fingers i am sure n dont see di irony ....EVEN DIS PAWTto claim foul regardless of topic, because their real objective is to control content and direction of conversations t.....IRONICAL SINCE THE POSTER'S ONGLE TOPICS OF INTEREST SEEM TO BE WHITE N BLK....n......"
dwl:...dis bit is the real killer... There is no room in their closed minded world for other people's opinion that differ from theirs.
ADDITIONALLY I WOULD LOVE TO KNOW IS WAT HIM N XMAN CHAT SEH Y HIM ADDED You and I both know that certain members'
AND
I think this is on point. At least we past the stage of every solution being a rehash of the Cuban focas.Originally posted by evanovitch View PostYou and I both know that certain members (passive agressive) are going to claim foul regardless of topic, because their real objective is to control content and direction of conversations that they involve themselves in. There is no room in their closed minded world for other people's opinion that differ from theirs.
an my man or ooman type dat wid straight fingers i am sure n dont see di irony ....EVEN DIS PAWTto claim foul regardless of topic, because their real objective is to control content and direction of conversations t.....IRONICAL SINCE THE POSTER'S ONGLE TOPICS OF INTEREST SEEM TO BE WHITE N BLK....n......"
dwl:...dis bit is the real killer... There is no room in their closed minded world for other people's opinion that differ from theirs.
ADDITIONALLY I WOULD LOVE TO KNOW IS WAT HIM N XMAN CHAT SEH Y HIM ADDED You and I both know that certain members'
AND
Not all things are yanki fault, not every thing is about nebulous ethnic differences.
The hardest thing in a tolerant society is andiffereing opinion. Which is y I always like seeing Lonewolfs posts.
It was nice to see the thread on emancipation. Made me think on that issue something I confess I don't do often enough.. But then the obbesives derailedn it. We should think on this and apply more research on it as it is a defining historical event.Last edited by Wahalla; 08-02-2013, 02:11 PM.
Originally posted by Xavier View PostGlad to see so many of the old boardites here. All suggestions are game and nothing is too radical. I am considering repositioning, removing forums, adding/subtracting mods, renaming forums, topical discussion by day, the war room and a section/new forum for our travelers/tourist/lovers of Jamaica. It makes no sense to have comprehensive travel information with no place for traveler/lovers of Jamaica to interact.
We have been one of the leaders in Caribbean Jamaican forums but it is clear we cannot continue to do what we are doing if we want people to interact. I am in the process of planning out the most effective changes and plan to start in the mid-August.
Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. - Albert Einstein
Thank you for this, and for all of your hard work to build and maintain our community, Xavier.
so iff mii a bunn fiyah pon oyinbo racism yuh waan fe mekk dat a war ting? so iff mii waan fe qwestian chin investment inn ja dat a war ting?Originally posted by LinSkinny View PostMotion for a war room section. I will even help write the warnings for anybody that request access. Anybody second and third the motion so X-man can consider it?
Dat way people can talk bout yt man, chiney man, black man, yellowman, all kinda man and ooman and other topics to dem heart's content. Any whiney cry cry who easily offended can stay out of dat section.
dat strange ting iss dat mii woo bunn fiyah pon aneeting git mor respekk fe awl dem addar peeps cah mii defend dem rite fe sey ting dat affend mii.
I think that's the plan being proposed/considered.Originally posted by blugiant View Postso iff mii a bunn fiyah pon oyinbo racism yuh waan fe mekk dat a war ting? so iff mii waan fe qwestian chin investment inn ja dat a war ting.
BUT, blu - everyone will say the same thing! <--- That's the entire point of the controversy. dwl
Tropi will say: "So if I want to post about how stupid dumb yt blonde oomen are, you want to make me do it in a war room?"
Lonewolf may say: 'So if I want to post about black-on-white crime and criminals, you want to make me to that someplace secret called a war room?"
Witchy may say: "So if I want to explain myself fully and completely without needing to leave out any detail, you want to make me do that in a hideaway that isn't accessible to all called a 'war room'?
And so on... and so on... et cetera ad nauseum

The whole point of this is to attempt to make the boards less contentious-looking.
No it isn't meant to be 'war' per se, but a section where...let's see how to word this...controversial topics can be discussed at will. By placing such topics in that particular section where one has to request access, the person's wanting to get in there know what they are getting into. The section will also hide the sniping, (even if it is perceived) from the general public. There, the general public doesn't see the members (us) as a bunch of people who always sniping about something. (example - racism) Like you, I will always defend somebody else opinion, even if I try to point out inconsistencies in their opinion. I even say, we will have to agree to disagree in some cases.Originally posted by blugiant View Postso iff mii a bunn fiyah pon oyinbo racism yuh waan fe mekk dat a war ting? so iff mii waan fe qwestian chin investment inn ja dat a war ting?
dat strange ting iss dat mii woo bunn fiyah pon aneeting git mor respekk fe awl dem addar peeps cah mii defend dem rite fe sey ting dat affend mii.
Aye, witchy beat me to it wid one bolded sentence. Cho.
this kidna sound like it would be ideal, but at the same time is sound like yuh want to tell those participants of said forum dat dem need fi use the 'backdoor' and dem have dem owna drinking fountain out back.....Originally posted by LinSkinny View PostNo it isn't meant to be 'war' per se, but a section where...let's see how to word this...controversial topics can be discussed at will. By placing such topics in that particular section where one has to request access, the person's wanting to get in there know what they are getting into. The section will also hide the sniping, (even if it is perceived) from the general public. There, the general public doesn't see the members (us) as a bunch of people who always sniping about something. (example - racism) Like you, I will always defend somebody else opinion, even if I try to point out inconsistencies in their opinion. I even say, we will have to agree to disagree in some cases.
Aye, witchy beat me to it wid one bolded sentence. Cho.
it sound like hiding the handycap child/ ugly step child no?
Unbelievable that White tourists should think they have the right to dictate what can be discussed and where it should be discussed on a discussion board focusing on a country where the majority of people are Black. They don't want to have any reminders of the fact that Jamaicans at home and abroad face significant challenges. Heaven forbid that this should interfere with their enjoyment of what they apparently view as their personal playground and a place where they can search for wood and watah.
less cantentious. oww? speech ann discussions ar contentious by dem veree natureOriginally posted by WitchyOoman View PostI think that's the plan being proposed/considered.
BUT, blu - everyone will say the same thing! <--- That's the entire point of the controversy. dwl
Tropi will say: "So if I want to post about how stupid dumb yt blonde oomen are, you want to make me do it in a war room?"
Lonewolf may say: 'So if I want to post about black-on-white crime and criminals, you want to make me to that someplace secret called a war room?"
Witchy may say: "So if I want to explain myself fully and completely without needing to leave out any detail, you want to make me do that in a hideaway that isn't accessible to all called a 'war room'?
And so on... and so on... et cetera ad nauseum

The whole point of this is to attempt to make the boards less contentious-looking.
didd yuh realized dat itt wass tropi tredd awl aff a sudden increased viewership pon yah? witchie tink pon diss mii poas ting dat affend sum peeps ann yet sum aff dem same peeps git along fine widd mii
less cantenious argument iss weak cah iff jam.com didd a better jab offerrinn more useful content to help tourism da tourist trakkic on diss board wood increase. imagine peeps widd small inns less xxpensive dat dem hotels doan poas pon yah. da cantentious argument is a distraction cah jam.com does a veree poor jab aff out reach. den need fe studee higglars