Originally posted by CEW:
[qb]My reservation with this is the following sentence: "If we believe in Him and receive the gift of the Holy Spirit, we can perform miracles." Are you implying that if someone does not have the gift of the Holy Spirit, God cannot do miracles through them? [/qb]
Hmmmm...God can use anyone and anything for His purpose. My statement was not to debate who can and cannot perform a miracle. I was drawing a contrast between Elijah & Elisha and Christ & His disciples/believers.
Like I said and I will say it again, correct me if I'm wrong. I see this post as a learning tool. I certainly don't know it all, however I am willing and open to learn from whatever tool available. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Originally posted by Queen:
Elisha did more miracles than Elijah. I don't believe we can top what Jesus did while He was in the flesh...just my opinion.
Huh? Didn't He say: "Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that believeth on me, the works that I do shall he do also; and greater works than these shall he do; because I go unto my Father." (John 14:12)?
aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
[qb]My reservation with this is the following sentence: "If we believe in Him and receive the gift of the Holy Spirit, we can perform miracles." Are you implying that if someone does not have the gift of the Holy Spirit, God cannot do miracles through them? [/qb]
Hmmmm...God can use anyone and anything for His purpose. My statement was not to debate who can and cannot perform a miracle. I was drawing a contrast between Elijah & Elisha and Christ & His disciples/believers.
Like I said and I will say it again, correct me if I'm wrong. I see this post as a learning tool. I certainly don't know it all, however I am willing and open to learn from whatever tool available. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] [/qb]
My reservation was regarding a statement you made and which I wanted clarification on. I wasn't aware I was starting a debate.
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
[qb] DWL! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] Then I guess we can do greater works...I just haven't seen it yet. [/qb]
See that is a part of the problem. Why are you waiting to "see it" when you are also a believer, and presumably spirit filled? Shouldn't you be a part of the "doing it" crowd?
[qb] Elisha did more miracles than Elijah. I don't believe we can top what Jesus did while He was in the flesh...just my opinion. [/qb]
Agree, what Jesus did can't be topped. You just gave me another thought.
Elisha received his power from Elijah...Jesus received His from God. Hmmmm
Edited to clarify the first statement: What Jesus did can't be topped by Elijah or Elisha
Compry, run goh change yuh answer quick, quick 'fore mass CEW come in here [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] I was wrong girl, check the above scriptures. Yuh si whe mi get from not reading and studying enough of my Bible...I tend to forget or overlook things.
Like I said and I will say it again, correct me if I'm wrong. I see this post as a learning tool. I certainly don't know it all, however I am willing and open to learn from whatever tool available. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] [/qb]
My reservation was regarding a statement you made and which I wanted clarification on. I wasn't aware I was starting a debate. [/qb]
Besides CEW, it's not enough alone to learn how to walk on water, that's what Jesus did, you have to advance to running a marathon on it...then you'll be doing greater than He did.
Compry, run goh change yuh answer quick, quick 'fore mass CEW come in here [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] I was wrong girl, check the above scriptures. Yuh si whe mi get from not reading and studying enough of my Bible...I tend to forget or overlook things.
I have no idea how you made such a statement, and here I was thinking you guys were ready for some serious Bible Study [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] . Just kidding ... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
Anyway, we have made a mess of DB's thread, and I am just as guilty, so someone had better start a Part II.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.