Re: remember when life used to be nice in Jamaica - part 2
Re sea grapes A/G, ...the last place I saw sea grapes was down at Alligator Pond. From what I can remember,they were about the same size as regular grapes and were green to light green in colour. I never attempted to taste dem 'cos mi fraid mi go pieson mi self. Jimbilin as you all should know is yellow, but laaawd wat a way dem SOWAH!
by di way, dere is two types of jimbilin wey me know about. The "chinese jimbilin", which some people call Star fruit (Carambola) and the regular jimbilin which makes your mouth pucker up just thinking of it! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
What about Coolie Plum?! Coming home from school in Red Hill Road area to home in Barbican, we got off the bus stops out by the Constant Spring rd plaza strip. Just across the road from Brooklyn Supermarket, is a little road (before you reach Kings Plaza). Now that road did have some nice Coolie Plum trees, nuh see if we never used to raid that tree. Full wi school bags with coolie plums, then tek wi time walk up to the 54 bus stop on West Kings House Rd.
There was a #54 bus driver who we used to call "Rip Di Cawna" ~ when that man tek di corners through Drumblair. If yu nuh balance yourself, you end up sprawling all over the other passengers!
mangoskin, tambrin did sour but dere is no way mi woulda put salt pon it and eat it....lawx dat mus double sour!
SandiF, mi nuh memba no odder jimbilin but di regular one wid di three raised areas pon it. Mi well overdue fi a visit home [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
Coolie plum!! now dat was nice when dem ripe..the green ones dem used to burn up mi lips. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
I know the big-size Jimbilin. A Chinese friend introduced it to me from a tree in the yard.
A suuculent fruit. Looks rather artificial with a sheen on the outer skin. It also has many sides like a hexagon.
The jimbilins that "*I* knew" [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] were green in color and bwoouy mi naaah fool yuh, dem did really sour and tart. Tambrin in no way can compare in my estimation, and a nuff tambrin mi used to eat.
Yes, SandiF, mi used to follow my older siblings and their friends to go and look coolie plums ina di simitri. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] I can taste them now.
Anni a oonoo modda used to cook susumba. What a sintin did bitter. Yuh should see my Mom trying to make it palatable with seasoning and codfish and the works, mi juss cut my eye when shi naaah look. She loved it a lot, and she was a good cook, but nothing could ever get me to love the taste of susumba. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Speaking of Sussumba, I can remember being subjected to the occasional servings of that "delight" ...Sometimes mi bex when mi kno sey a dat fi suppa, but mi dare not open mi mout. Dere was no freedom of speech when it came to what mi modda decided on. Mi jus grin an accept it. But a true dat sometimes it no taste too bad when it is well done and is overwhelmed with SAULT FISH an seasonings. DWL
The bitterness is caused from age. Too old when picked and they will be bitter, Younger when picked, less bitter to none. However, whatever I got, I used to lick my chops and be "happy". Dose were de DAYS!
Originally posted by ackeegirl:
[qb] SandiF mi glad seh yuh come pon di verandah come sit wid we yuh see! (((SandiF)) for di wan britisha and mountaingal dem juss gawn leff me wan wid di man dem [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
[/qb]
bwoy ackeegee, de way dem a wuk me is a shame and disgrace. me hardly have time fe read two post before me haffe go do sittn else.
so my reward to myself is to spend the day on the board today, and to come back into this thread, which is so lovely and nostalgic.
quoted by britisha
- a make wi own cloth dollies outah old cloth...hair and all
lawks, me memba when when we use to do dis. me say, me used to LOVE mek dally. applying the skills me learn from sewing class at school. aye sah.
i think i've said before that my kids cannot relate to growing up without television and video games, and all that. they don't know how wondrous it can be, when your imagination just runs wild, especially at evening and night time, which seemed to me, growing up in St. Elizabeth, to be a magical play time.
evening time, before it got dark, we used to play games "chick chick", and "children children", which are games where you chase each other. we used to do high jump wid rope. or tan up pan drum pan and roll it wid we foot.
den wen it get dark, we go inside and tell joke and story or sing song. or we play hand shadows by lamplight. or we draw pickcha pan exercise book paper. we put paper pan comb and say we a play music, and we olda cousin scold de young one dem seh dat it weaken de comb teeth. or we tek chread and button and wind dem up and mek de button spin - de chread so tight pan you finger it out fe cut off you circulation, lawx!
every once in a while me tell me pickney dem seh me sarry dem nain grow a jamaica... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
So that was the secret to the susumba taste heh barosa? Old versus young? Das why mi lub oono suh, mi halways a learn sinting new aawn yah. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Yes, MG sometimes mi fadda wudda bring home some sisal, and wi used it to mek di dolly hair, the fun part was when dis cloth dollie needed a bath...figgah dis wan hout [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
....now, das not to say that mi never hope and pray fi wan walking dollie like the one that this girl's Mom brought her from the States.
- Mi memba when wi used to visit my Mom's birthplace in the country MG, and they used to make banjos out of bamboo. They finished hollowing out the inside, create a hole from the outside, then carved the strings along the outside using a twig to support the strings off the frame; then we all used to sit and sing at nights...some of my cousins were skilled at playing the home made banjo.
- -Mi memba also when we used to attempt to make hats out of straw, and even coconut tree fronds...bwouy we were always busy, creating something or di odda. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.