<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: sistacaf</div><div class="ubbcode-body">and tuffy when u done with Nylah's conundrum.....
please to come an tell me what yuh think bout UBUNTU LIVE pleez and thanks!
sisC
</div></div><span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">CEW</span> is the resident Linux/Ubantu expert. What I learned that is good about it you can just run it from a CD or Thumb Drive.
I have a ton of Multi-Boot environment but they only involved traditional Linux and then I used it sparingly...I am kinda wedded to Micro-Hard.
Here is an interesting Convo. I have rearranged it in the order that I think is germane. So far the best solution coming out of this one Thread (before I look at others), is what I suspect you want to DL and Virtual Machine and Install on that Machine. Microsoft has even provided you with the Virtual Machi9ne optimized for the Windows environment.
<span style="font-size: 14pt">windows vista and windows xp on the same machine how</span>
I am still looking but I am biased to this because it seems logical and since you are not going to be a hardcore user (maybe I am been sexist here?) of either platform I think if you have the requisite Memory (as this is sure to be a Memory Hog), then surely this must be the one for you?
Question - Post 1 of 5 windows vista and windows xp on the same machine how
I have a few programs rhat will not run on windows vista and I would like to install windows xp on the same pc so I can switch from Vista to XP how can this be accomplished. when I install my XP Disc in does not let me install it.
Posted: 01/22/2008 @ 12:33 PM (PST)
lauxja
Job Role: Executive IS/IT Management (CIO, CTO)
<span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">Easiest fix </span>
Download Microsoft Virtual PC 2007 (free) and install it. Then install Windows Xp on avirtual hard drive. It will walk you through it, and it is fairly straight foward. Then you can open up your Xp "pc" and run aprogram whenever you need it, then shut it down afterwards.
Question - Post 3 of 5 You Could
If you dont have enough room for a XP partition and dont want to get another hard drive you can always use vista's management console to resize your vista partition.
To do this right click on computer>select manage>expand storage>right click on the vista partition>select shrink.
Vista will tell you how much room you can shrink the volume by, this may or may not be enough room for an XP install.
If you cant shrink the volume to allow for a XP install I would just leave it as is and buy another drive.
Also remember that if you do shrink the vista partition to allow for a XP install you are going to loose a significant amount of space from your vista partition.
The other option is to create a virtual machine and install XP on it.
Posted: 01/22/2008 @ 01:17 PM (PST)
Nimmo 24
Job Role: Networking / LAN Administration
Question - Post 2 of 5 Boot from CD
You will have to boot the machine from the XP installation CD to achieve this.
However you will most likely find that the exisitng partition for Vista is almost the full capacity of the hard drive you have fitted.
So unless you want to mess about with partition tragic or something like that you will probably be better off installing a second hard drive.
Posted: 01/22/2008 @ 12:57 PM (PST)
tintoman@... 44
Job Role: Technical/PC Support
Report as spam Question - Post 5 of 5 Some more info please,
The size of your HDD and the amount of RAM will determine best solution!
Posted: 01/22/2008 @ 05:33 PM (PST)
ComputerCookie 50
Job Role: Technical/PC Support
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nanook</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Wow. My head hurts just reading about all this. </div></div>
ya know!!
I tried to lighten the tone, but you see what kind of response I got
pssst... Nylah, c'mere...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Click to reveal.. <input type="button" class="form-button" value="Show me!" onclick="toggle_spoiler(this, 'Yikes, my eyes!', 'Show me!')" /></div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div style="display: none;">take 3 steps away from the computer
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nanook</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Wow. My head hurts just reading about all this. Good luck Nylah! TG, you are very resourceful!
<span style="font-size: 8pt">
<span style="font-style: italic"> to Siscaf, and Bandi... </span> </span> </div></div>...LOL I have permanent headache and I am not even thinking.
Hey N...
I thought of another solution while reading up on this and it relatively easy but it will give you a true, hard-installed copy of XP on a Machine Running Vista an a common area where you can share files.
Keep in mind that the solution that I found and endorsed above is easier.... but this one is brilliant.
Assumptions:
You have Vista?
It is running on your machine properly (or as far as you know)?
You want XP (because you are hard headed or you know more about it than you think you will ever know about Vista)?
You have a Modern Computer with a BIOS that includes is own Multi-Choice Booth Routine (I know you do because you told me so. How you have multiple CDROMs, no Floppy and you are able to Boot from a CDROM).
<span style="text-decoration: underline">You have two physical Hard Drives</span>
Preparatory work <span style="font-style: italic">(very easy part)</span>
Go to you BIOS and setup up you Computer in the Boot Section to BOOT from the Vista Hard Drive.
Boot into VISTA and reapportion and reformat the second Hard Drive this way:
About 15 Gigs as the First Partition will be NTFS (which is Windows XPs and Maybe VISTA native Partition Defaults).
The rest of the Drive (the largest portion remaining) you will Partition and Format as FAT 32 (this is where you will keep files that you want to be common to both systems (bearing in mind that you are going to lose the security and speed that makes NTFS superior to FAT32).
You are now going to go forward to the BIOS and setup the Computer to BOOT from one of the CDROMS.
In that Drive you will put WINDOWS XP Disc and when the menu comes to BOOT from CD press the any-key!
Windows will find the Drive but you want to make sure it is the second drive.... should be D and you want to make sure you tell it to quick format and use the smaller portion of that drive.
The aforementioned 15 Gigs.
Now here is the little trick from the BIOS that will give you the big time assist.
You want to go forward into BIOS before Windows start up the First Time and set your BOOT Order Permanently.
<span style="text-decoration: underline">Set the order:</span>
Windows XP Hard Disk First choice
If not then Windows Vista's Hard Drive.
If not then one of the CDROM
I would not setup anymore, but it most likely you will have choices such as Network, Legacy USB, etc.
So now the WINDOWS XP will BOOT and finish its upgrading.
<span style="text-decoration: underline">The most important part:</span>
You can use the BIOS native Multi-Choice routine by pressing F10 at BOOT my computer is F11, then you are selecting BOOTH Device. Since the two Operating Systems are on separate physical drive all you need to do is to instruct the BIOS which OS you want to BOOT to by selecting which Device you want to BOOT with.
Maybe it not necessary to Format one Portion as FAT32 but it certainly necessary to have at least two Partitions on one of the Drives, so you can write Common Data Files to. That way each Operation System has access to the DATA but not the Operating System's brains.
I have no proof that this will work because I don't have VISTA, but I am almost certain because in the BIOS BOOT up all you are answering a question about is which device to BOOT from.... ala where is the Master Boot Record.
<span style="color: #993399">Oh and another thing you can do to throw up a quick Multi-Boot environment leveraging the BIOS F10/11 Key is to give both drive over to it own OS without any other Partition but be prepared to save all DATA you want to Share to a USA or Firewire External Media.
Again Caveat I do not know if this will work since I don't own a copy of Vista, but I will keep checking into it as I know it will work under any other two OS once they can read and/or write to the same FAT System.</span>
Okay, I am up from my nap and my head is feeling marginally better......
First off let be give TG one of these for all the research he just did for me.
Alright, my understanding is that XP and Vista do share MBR so it is no issue whatsoever for them to exist on the same machine. And yes, you are being sexist but I love you same way
From what I have skimmed thru these two options look like the best for me. I did try the built-in resizing option in Vista - that is what I was doing last night - and all it does is freeze and crash. It will not complete what it starts out to do - shrink my C drive. I have lots of hard drive and tons of memory so none of those things should slow me down.
Let me read thru your post one more time, just to make sure I am on the same page as you and I am not missing anything.
Here is an interesting Convo. I have rearranged it in the order that I think is germane. So far the best solution coming out of this one Thread (before I look at others), is what I suspect you want to DL and Virtual Machine and Install on that Machine. Microsoft has even provided you with the Virtual Machi9ne optimized for the Windows environment.
<span style="font-size: 14pt">windows vista and windows xp on the same machine how</span>
I am still looking but I am biased to this because it seems logical and since you are not going to be a hardcore user (maybe I am been sexist here?) of either platform I think if you have the requisite Memory (as this is sure to be a Memory Hog), then surely this must be the one for you?
Question - Post 1 of 5 windows vista and windows xp on the same machine how
I have a few programs rhat will not run on windows vista and I would like to install windows xp on the same pc so I can switch from Vista to XP how can this be accomplished. when I install my XP Disc in does not let me install it.
Posted: 01/22/2008 @ 12:33 PM (PST)
lauxja
Job Role: Executive IS/IT Management (CIO, CTO)
<span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">Easiest fix </span>
Download Microsoft Virtual PC 2007 (free) and install it. Then install Windows Xp on avirtual hard drive. It will walk you through it, and it is fairly straight foward. Then you can open up your Xp "pc" and run aprogram whenever you need it, then shut it down afterwards.
Yes, I am hard-headed so you best just get use to it
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
You have Vista?
It is running on your machine properly (or as far as you know)?
You want XP (because you are hard headed or you know more about it than you think you will ever know about Vista)?
You have a Modern Computer with a BIOS that includes is own Multi-Choice Booth Routine (I know you do because you told me so. How you have multiple CDROMs, no Floppy and you are able to Boot from a CDROM).
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
<span style="color: #990000"><span style="font-weight: bold">However you will most likely find that the exisitng partition for Vista is almost the full capacity of the hard drive you have fitted.
So unless you want to mess about with partition tragic or something like that you will probably be better off installing a second hard drive.</span> </span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nylah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The virtual machine optimizer option seems the most straightforward and I think addresses my concerns the best.
However, do these two things contradict each other?
<span style="color: #990000"><span style="font-weight: bold">However you will most likely find that the exisitng partition for Vista is almost the full capacity of the hard drive you have fitted.
So unless you want to mess about with partition tragic or something like that you will probably be better off installing a second hard drive.</span> </span>
</div></div> </div></div>
That is why I rearranged the article to put answer 2 lower down in the order. The top option is the answer. The Virtual PC is the Emulator and Windows XP will run in the Virtual Machine.
I've written out what you have posted just to make sure I got the logic straight.
I am backing up my data files again for good measure and then I will do option 1 of the virtual optimizer.
If I feel that it hasnt addressed my needs, I will do the option 2. However, in option 2 you said that I needed 2 seperate physical drives which I dont have. Let me re-visit that post again.
<span style="font-weight: bold">quick question Tuff Gong</span> - VPC 2007 download has two types 32-bit or 64-bit, which one should I choose? How do I determine which one is the right one for me?
I've written out what you have posted just to make sure I got the logic straight.
I am backing up my data files again for good measure and then I will do option 1 of the virtual optimizer.
If I feel that it hasnt addressed my needs, I will do the option 2. However, in option 2 you said that I needed 2 seperate physical drives which I dont have. Let me re-visit that post again. </div></div>LOL...Well from all the stuff you have at home I am sure you can find two or three drives...!
Oh on a point of correction...all or most operating system will boot from a common MBR..that is why it the one and only Master Boot Record.... the problems come in when one OS is merely an upgrade of the others as in Windows 98/95 NT4/XP/Vista.... but that a small matter since Option #1 give you a VM that is developed by MS so you can run in that space with little or no problems.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nylah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
<span style="font-weight: bold">quick question Tuff Gong</span> - VPC 2007 download has two types 32-bit or 64-bit, which one should I choose? How do I determine which one is the right one for me? </div></div>32-Bit!
maybe I do but dont know it! That's why my first instinct is to call my IT guy and let him sort it out but he is too busy for me right now
LOL...Well from all the stuff you have at home I am sure you can find two or three drives...!
Oh on a point of correction...all or most operating system will boot from a common MBR..that is why it the one and only Master Boot Record.... the problems come in when one OS is merely an upgrade of the others as in Windows 98/95 NT4/XP/Vista.... but that a small matter since Option #1 give you a VM that is developed by MS so you can run in that space with little or no problems.
Yes, I do understand this. Thanks for the clarification.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.