Re: Not white enough
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: queenb</div><div class="ubbcode-body">What I don't understand after reading this whole thread, is <span style="font-weight: bold"> <span style="font-style: italic"> <span style="font-size: 14pt"> <span style="color: #FF0000">WHY WOULD YOU ACCEPT ANYTHING FROM A STRANGER, ANYWAY? </span> </span> </span> </span> When my children were small and someone would offer them anything, I would politely tell them "thanks, but no thanks" then explain that I am trying to keep them safe and to not think it is okay to accept gifts of any type from strangers. <span style="font-weight: bold"> STRANGER DANGER</span> Money is just another "gift" and it gives children the wrong idea that it is okay to get something for nothing. </div></div>
Good point you made...and if Sukie were living in America, mebbie that would be my response...not to accept things from strangers..
...well, where I was brought up in Kingston, on a Friday evening when people got paid it was NOT unusual for people to give the children money..."gwaan goh buy a sweetie/candy"...that was a great thrill for us as children, and we gladly took it...and we told our parents as well.
We heard of blackheart men who would lure children with candy to take them away...but it went in one ear and out the other, for looking back I've never heard of any missing children or anyone arrested for such crime...[then it was ignorance is bliss for us children] Kingston was a very civilised place in those days...it is not like now, when we are hearing of all sorts of heinous crimes there...where copy cats are imitating countries where this child 'napping is prevalent and where there are sooooo many mad people...
IMHO if a child accepts a handout from a stranger with the parent PRESENT...there is nothing wrong with that, but that is me, britisha...to each his own...and as you can see MY RESPONSE IS DEPENDENT ON MY LIFE'S EXPERIENCE...'scuse the shouting...
..and this is why mi keep harping on "Jamaica mashup"
edited to say...<span style="font-weight: bold">Isn't trick or treating a custom where children are allowed to accept things from strangers?.OOOOh the irony of it all</span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: queenb</div><div class="ubbcode-body">What I don't understand after reading this whole thread, is <span style="font-weight: bold"> <span style="font-style: italic"> <span style="font-size: 14pt"> <span style="color: #FF0000">WHY WOULD YOU ACCEPT ANYTHING FROM A STRANGER, ANYWAY? </span> </span> </span> </span> When my children were small and someone would offer them anything, I would politely tell them "thanks, but no thanks" then explain that I am trying to keep them safe and to not think it is okay to accept gifts of any type from strangers. <span style="font-weight: bold"> STRANGER DANGER</span> Money is just another "gift" and it gives children the wrong idea that it is okay to get something for nothing. </div></div>
Good point you made...and if Sukie were living in America, mebbie that would be my response...not to accept things from strangers..
...well, where I was brought up in Kingston, on a Friday evening when people got paid it was NOT unusual for people to give the children money..."gwaan goh buy a sweetie/candy"...that was a great thrill for us as children, and we gladly took it...and we told our parents as well.
We heard of blackheart men who would lure children with candy to take them away...but it went in one ear and out the other, for looking back I've never heard of any missing children or anyone arrested for such crime...[then it was ignorance is bliss for us children] Kingston was a very civilised place in those days...it is not like now, when we are hearing of all sorts of heinous crimes there...where copy cats are imitating countries where this child 'napping is prevalent and where there are sooooo many mad people...
IMHO if a child accepts a handout from a stranger with the parent PRESENT...there is nothing wrong with that, but that is me, britisha...to each his own...and as you can see MY RESPONSE IS DEPENDENT ON MY LIFE'S EXPERIENCE...'scuse the shouting...
..and this is why mi keep harping on "Jamaica mashup"
edited to say...<span style="font-weight: bold">Isn't trick or treating a custom where children are allowed to accept things from strangers?.OOOOh the irony of it all</span>
interesting