Two sides to everything them say and this is it.
Yesterday I was on the train to the poorest provinces with my daughter. We were sitting at the window enjoying the scenery and laughing, when suddenly an old woman(about 55) came over with her hand full of coins.
I did see her sitting opposite us before, I occasionally looked at her features but never saw when she was gathering all those coins. Anyhow, my daughter didn't register what she was supposed to do as it was all odd. I took a quick glance into her hands and saw it was mostly €2 coins, then I looked into her face to decipher how it was meant. Was it an insult or what? She looked really serious and earnest about it.
I told my daughter who was still ignoring her (not on purpose) to say 'thanks' so that she took it.
Afterwards I explained to my daughter why she did that. This was not the first time that women would do such. When my first daughter was a baby a gypsy looking woman came with crackers, mind you they are the beggars around here, she was so persistent that I had to take the cracker and stoned her with it. And everybody around me was looking as if I had insulted her and not the other way around.
The thing is, these people are fed with images of hungry starving Africans on A1 posters all over and here is one of the most famous places known for charity and cheerful given. That plus they claim to be one of the richest. Charity is a big business here so certain beliefs will only intensify.
I explained to my daughter that the woman was being ignorant and which possible assumptions might have led her to do such a thing. The three-figure sum of money I placed in an account which will create some opportunity for my daughter later. It should be a lesson, I will have no control over which.
Just like this woman's stupidity on certain assumptions about black people, many others are even far worst. Probably also just came from church and 'heard help the poor and needy'.
I could tell tales but that is a different chapter "When woman buy man".
Plenty a people even go as far as taking up credit just to prove that they fit in the image of being white and wealthy.
Yesterday I was on the train to the poorest provinces with my daughter. We were sitting at the window enjoying the scenery and laughing, when suddenly an old woman(about 55) came over with her hand full of coins.
I did see her sitting opposite us before, I occasionally looked at her features but never saw when she was gathering all those coins. Anyhow, my daughter didn't register what she was supposed to do as it was all odd. I took a quick glance into her hands and saw it was mostly €2 coins, then I looked into her face to decipher how it was meant. Was it an insult or what? She looked really serious and earnest about it.
I told my daughter who was still ignoring her (not on purpose) to say 'thanks' so that she took it.
Afterwards I explained to my daughter why she did that. This was not the first time that women would do such. When my first daughter was a baby a gypsy looking woman came with crackers, mind you they are the beggars around here, she was so persistent that I had to take the cracker and stoned her with it. And everybody around me was looking as if I had insulted her and not the other way around.
The thing is, these people are fed with images of hungry starving Africans on A1 posters all over and here is one of the most famous places known for charity and cheerful given. That plus they claim to be one of the richest. Charity is a big business here so certain beliefs will only intensify.
I explained to my daughter that the woman was being ignorant and which possible assumptions might have led her to do such a thing. The three-figure sum of money I placed in an account which will create some opportunity for my daughter later. It should be a lesson, I will have no control over which.
Just like this woman's stupidity on certain assumptions about black people, many others are even far worst. Probably also just came from church and 'heard help the poor and needy'.
I could tell tales but that is a different chapter "When woman buy man".
Plenty a people even go as far as taking up credit just to prove that they fit in the image of being white and wealthy.

me never work obeah for nobody yet. but me an a fren wuk obeah pan wan next gyal in primary school
and even younger white folks who carry stereotypes about blacks; this is based on their experiences as well, harbouring false ideas based on what they were taught by racists, be it in the home or otherwise....<span style="font-weight: bold">leopards cannot change their spots</span> and some racists, even if they want to appear as non-racist, deep down are still racist to the core.