Re: Non-Black Jamaicans in their Own Words
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: gourmet</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Yes, the political/industrial power structure is overwhelmingly white, I agree, but access to that circle is just as closed to whites who aren't part of the circle as it is to people of colour. We are all ruled over by a rich elite who do not act in our best interests.
There are literally 21 families in Canada who own and run the place. I know that is a saying in Jamaica, but it is equally true of Canada. Maybe it's a pattern in all former British colonies. </div></div> So you really believe that poor blacks, like th eones from places like Jamaica have equal opportunities as poor whites eh?/
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: gourmet</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Yes, the political/industrial power structure is overwhelmingly white, I agree, but access to that circle is just as closed to whites who aren't part of the circle as it is to people of colour. We are all ruled over by a rich elite who do not act in our best interests.
There are literally 21 families in Canada who own and run the place. I know that is a saying in Jamaica, but it is equally true of Canada. Maybe it's a pattern in all former British colonies. </div></div> So you really believe that poor blacks, like th eones from places like Jamaica have equal opportunities as poor whites eh?/
In NO way does it reflect the power elite in Canada.
Spoke too soon.
deh 'bout.